We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“copthorne qingdao”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Ranked #17 of 1,645 Hotels in Qingdao
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“copthorne qingdao”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

great hotel in central qingdao very close to wusi square a charming place to relax and having good time in enjoying the glittring statue of may 4.. Superb internet connection in room but breakfast could be improved. I wiil definitely come back to stay at ths hotel should having the opportunity to come to qingdao again,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank wanjini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    153
    62
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
25
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

There were a few reviews which were a tax nitpicky so I had concerns beforehand that the property might be disappointing but it isn't. Great location and overall a very clean and well laid out hotel. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Food in each restaurant is decent. At the price you are getting a very good overall package.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPK_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Copthorne Hotel Qingdao from October 10 thru October 15, 2012. We were there with a group of over 200 from the World Airline Road Race. While we had booked through Hotels.com most of our group booked through an agency in Ottawa, Canada who completely messed up the bookings. The hotel staff worked courteously and professionally with those involved and had the majority of the mishandled bookings resolved and refunded before they checked out. The hotel manager Lawrence Ngan and his staff (notably Chef Lee, Felix, and many others who's names I do not remember) were outstanding with their help in coordinating our event on very short notice after the Canadian travel agency dropped the ball. This included arranging a wonderful awards banquet buffet for 226 of our members, providing informational signs in the lobby, providing a room for registration and many more details. Through all the difficulties that we presented them with, they ALWAYS found a solution. The hotel itself was beautiful with a terrific location near the wonderful Qingdao coastline and convenient to restaurants and stores. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful. The rooms were well equiped and comfortable. This years race event was headed toward disaster upon our arrival in Qingdao but was turned into one of our most successful in 30 years thanks to everyone at the Copthorne Hotel Qingdao. Thanks again for everything you did. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

A great shame this hotel is not what it was a few years ago. The location is good for tourists and entertainment, but since being renovated a few years ago it has been neglected. The general apperance of the restaurant and lobby bar is quite shabby. The solo pianist in the lobby bar does not encourage customers, maybe they should have a small band to liven the place up. The room was quite poor, only adequate at best. Service was extreemly poor for an international hotel, very little English spoken in all areas. The staff in the lobby and lobby lounge were very unattentive they should try harder to please the customers. At present I would find it difficult to justify the Copthorne a 3 star rating and needs to improve a great deal to maintain its 4 star position.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UNCLE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Good location, at opposite (able to cross with pedestrian underpass tunnel) a Carrefour, basically can get everything from this shopping. At the left side of the hotel have a luxury retail mall selling most of the international brands. At the opposite, walk further into the street can get many types of local restaurants. Cross the street and walk further to the right will reach AEON Jusco (Japanese retails mart). Doesn't explore much around the city, because most of the day busy in work.
The hotel serving great breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkpoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel in connection with a business meeting. The hotel is good to European standards but you would expect more from a four star international business hotel in China.
The rooms are big, we got a room with a view over the sea - nice, though foggy as always in Qingdao, cannot blaim the hotel for that.
The door to the toilet was a bit difficult to close, had to be slammed to be closed. The amenities in the bath room were good to European standards but not to Chinese, no razor, no shaving cream etc etc.
What annoyed me most was when we went to the Chinese restaurant and they only had a Chinese menu without pictures. When I asked for an English menu they responded in Chinese that I could go and eat western food if I wanted an English menu (I understand some Chinese but cannot read it). Indeed very nice for an international hotel... This is what made me write this review. Without that experience they would have got four out of five instead of three. The Japanese restaurant had menu in Chinese and Japanese only. Why do all Chinese seem to believe that people travel abroad only to eat sub-standard food of their home country?
The location is abit far away if you want to see the interesting parts of Qingdao, i.e. the old town with all of its architecture and its food quarters, beer street etc. You can take a taxi, take 10 to 20 minutes depending on traffic but taxi in Qingdao can be difficult to catch. The drivers often want to got to the airport to make more money...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

this is at best a 3 star hotel with a 4 star tag. the rooms photographs on the internet is very misleading. definitely better hotels to stay in qingdao for the rate on this hotel the buffet is over priced and poor quality and can be best avoided. the location is good but cannot compensate for poor room quality

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trackeritrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
#1 of 1,645 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Qingdao
Crowne Plaza Qingdao
#16 of 1,645 in Qingdao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Westin Qingdao
The Westin Qingdao
#10 of 1,645 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
14.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Qingdao
Wyndham Grand Qingdao
#4 of 1,645 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Qingdao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Qingdao

Property: Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Address: No.28 Hongkong Middle Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Qingdao
#17 Luxury Hotel in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Qingdao 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao is an international deluxe hotel situated in the heart of the city and central business district. This contemporary 455-rooms-and-suite hotel provides an array of facilities and impeccable service to both the business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers a variety of dining experiences including an award-winning Chinese Restaurant, Central Grill which serves international cuisine for casual all-day dining, a spectacular Lobby Lounge and a Japanese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Qingdao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qingdao Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing