We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Service from Shangr-La”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Ranked #1 of 1,645 Hotels in Qingdao
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Service from Shangr-La”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2007

I have stayed at many Shangri-La's and all have the excellent service any of us that have stayed here love. But I will have to extend my appreciation to the Staff at Qingdao. The attention to detail I mean every little detail was by far the best of any Shangri-La I have ever stayed at. To the point that when I checked into my room the ice bucket was full and not yet begun to melt! My favorite coffee's and a fruit bowl daily. Once this hotel chain gets you into their computer database you get first class rock star treatment. I'll be back...as soon as possible!

  • Liked — Service and attention to details
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDocD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    661
    102
    18
    6
See reviews for
116
71
37
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2006

the Shangri la is a fabulous hotel that met our needs in every way. The room was good, with fridge and kettle, exactly what we needed with a small (newly adopted) baby. It was clean and well located and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaKellyIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2005

Stayed 5 days in June 2005. The city is quite beautiful,clean air,excellent beaches.Travel on local buses very cheap - about $us0.10 from end to end of bus route.Also found the people friendly and approachable - noy the hustle & bustle of eg., Hong Kong.
Shangri La: Very comfortable stay.Staff were excellent & always helpful.Like all of China - insufficient brochures available at the hotel for travellers whose time is limited. If you want quality accomadation without hassles - this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2005

Stayed at the Shrangri-La in late April 2005. It appears be an older property, but it is well maintained & of 5* quality. Very nice room & above average buffet breakfast. There is internet access in the business office (only 1 computer in English). Internet speed ranged from unusable to good. Unlike a lot of cities in China, the air quality in Qingdao is actually good (at least in April) due to being located next to the ocean.

Helpful?
4 Thank avio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2004

The Shanghri-La is on the east side of town, about a 15 minute walk to clean and quiet Beach #3. The facility is a bit dated but well-kept (undergoing renovations during our 3-night stay in September 2004). Service was very efficient and professional - if not as outstanding as other Shangri-La locations it was still better than many hotels. A trip to the main beaches / strolling areas requires a short cab ride (10 minutes / about US$1.50). Walking further east for 5 to 20 minutes, you will pass a number of local restaurants of all types (various Chinese, French, other random Western). As in most places we've visited in China, we never felt unsafe even strolling late at night.

Helpful?
5 Thank Dean and Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
#8 of 1,645 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
14.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Qingdao
Wyndham Grand Qingdao
#4 of 1,645 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Qingdao
The Westin Qingdao
#10 of 1,645 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Qingdao
8.7 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Address: No.9 Xianggang Middle Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Region: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Qingdao
#1 Business Hotel in Qingdao
#1 Spa Hotel in Qingdao
#17 Best Value Hotel in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Qingdao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing