We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanwide Elite Hotel
Ranked #112 of 1,654 Hotels in Qingdao
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Don’t be put off by the slight smell of fish as you enter the Reception area. Agreed, not a good start, but it gets better.

We had booked late for a weekend in Qingdao and accepted the only available room, regular twin bedded, city view, on the sixth floor.

Our flight was delayed and we arrived well after midnight. The receptionist spoke English and check-in was quick and efficient. Our room was small and looked a little cramped as it contained every conceivable extra; desk, easy chair, foot stall, coffee table etc. even a fax machine. The bathroom likewise, however, this did have a bath and separate shower. The room had internet, and the flat screen TV showed some English, a French and an Italian channel. The wardrobe was very small, but adequate for our two night stay.

Our room was very quiet, as the main road runs on the seafront, at the front of the hotel, and our room was at the back.

There were some nice touches, as well as complementary China Daily and fruit in our room, there were bowls of sweets and other delicacies on each landing, for guests. The cleaners even left rose petals floating in the loo after cleaning.

Food was good, with a large buffet breakfast and dishes to suit all tastes. We ate alfresco at the Coastal Bar, which has a small selection of Chinese and western food available. There is also a SPR coffee franchise just off the reception, for coffee and drinks.

We thought the Oceanwide Elite hotel to be a very good choice. It is ideally located, being very close to the Zhanqiao Pier, in Qingdao Bay (though a taxi drive away from the Olympic site which is in Fushan bay). The staff were helpful and friendly and we thought it excellent value at 610RMB inclusive, per night, with perhaps our only criticism being the rock hard beds; but this is China.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard Chinese beds
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chinarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    89
    15
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
7
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

Our family (2 adults and two small children) had a wonderful relaxing weekend at this hotel. It is ideally located across from the pier, historic buildings and, the highlight for us...the rocky beach across the street. Yes, thats right, the rocky beach! At low tide you can walk out very far...all around you are tide pools with all manner of creatures caught by the low tide.... me and our children (age 9 and 3) joined the other locals in walking out and turning over rocks and looking for sea creatures...we found crabs, small fish, hermit crabs, snails and starfish! What fun. In the morning you can also see seniors doing group excersises.

The hotel is very very nice. The staff were friendly and eager to please, but not invasive. The rooms are large (especially by Asian standards) and well done, very comfortable. The beds are rock hard, but that is the norm in all the hotels. We had a sea view....definately worth the extra few bucks....we had a clear view of the pier, beach, boardwalk, ships and small boats in the harbour. Lovely.

The room included breakfast which was very nice. Eggs to order, noodles and fried rice, cheese and breads, fruit and yogart, juices, ham, sausage, congee, fresh vegies.....more than one could sample!

We were there in November. It was cool and windy. Sweater and jacket weather. Leaves are changing and a nip in the air. Very nice. There were very few people, relatively speaking!

We spent one night here, then went to the Sophia (recommended by a friend). We were to spend two nights, but after just a few hours and enough pushy rude uncomfortable behavior from staff (4 different staff in 4 different areas,), we decided just one night and back to Elite we went! The Sophia is not within walking distance of anything and is across from a big construction lot, then beyond the water...a very long way off. So, inaddition to rude staff, the hotel in not well located for our family who likes to walk and explore.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chinamom_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
düsseldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2007

five weeks learning Chinese, my wife and me lived in this hotel. Very good accommodation, friendly servants, good food and restaurants, I personally loved the sweets on the desks before the lift! Eckhard Kreier

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank qingdaoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Nebraska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Beautiful view of the ocean, Huilan Pavilion, and the lighthouse on Qingdao Bay. The perfect location for sightseeing: 100m to the west is the pier, directly south are the churches and old European buildings, and about 1.5km to the west along the seaside walk is the aquarium and underwater world. There's also upscale shopping nearby on Zhongshan Lu (3 blocks away), and the underground market for clothes and souveniers (go to the Protestant Church, then the park and look for the sign diagonally across the street). If you're coming for the beach, you might want to look for a hotel further east. There is a small area directly across from the hotel, but it's mostly gravel and rocks, and not suitable for swimming. There's also a beach around the pier, but it's also small and I didn't see anyone swimming there. There's no swimming pool, though there is a billiard room and gym.
I stayed in a sea-view executive room, which was a large well-furnished room, with windows that open to let in a nice ocean breeze. The room had a computer and fax, and a nice bathroom with both shower stall and shower in the tub. TV has HBO and BBC, and China Daily is available for reading. The bed was typical for 4 star hotels in China, i.e., hard, and no springs. The staff speaks adequate English.
The hotel offers a big Western and Chinese breakfast buffet. Eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage, potatoes, French toast; two kinds of dumplings, baozi, congee. steamed vegetables. Also a nice selection of fresh fruit, salad, and pastry.
One caveat: The hotel is directly across from a major bus stop; nice for travel if you want to take the bus, but starting at 6 a.m. you get some street noise. I'm a light sleeper, and it woke me up, but it wasn't enough to keep me awake, either after going back to sleep in the a.m. or at night.
I'd definitely recommend the hotel for a first-time visit to Qingdao.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2006

I stayed at the Oceanwide Elite Hotel for the last weekend of the Annnual Beer Festival. The rooms were large and clean, and the staff was very friendly on check-in. The rooms had mainly Chinese language channels, but did have HBO english, and the bathrooms had 2 showers, which was very nice. The beds were rock hard, but that's pretty common in China. The hotel is conveniently located across from the ocean and the seaside rooms have beautiful views. The hotel is also conveniently located for exploring a lot of the main sites and the included breakfast had a nice variety of western and chinese foods.

The main problem we encountered was when we asked for a late checkout. The manager had to be called, and we had to discuss this with 4 different people. Finally, they agreed to give us late check-out, but when we came back to our room after 12, the rooms were locked with our things in there, and they had shut off the tv. We finally got back in, and fortunately, all of our things were still there, but it was a bit annoying since we had already gone through a lot of trouble to get approval. The concierge was very friendly, but was unable to give us any restaurant suggestions.

  • Liked — The large rooms.
  • Disliked — The hassle for late check-out.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffanytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel
#31 of 1,654 in Qingdao
248 reviews
The Castle Hotel
#27 of 1,654 in Qingdao
100 reviews
Seaview Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,654 in Qingdao
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Railway Station
Qingdao Huaneng Hotel
Qingdao Huaneng Hotel
#411 of 1,654 in Qingdao
49 reviews
Wyndham Grand Qingdao
#4 of 1,654 in Qingdao
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanwide Elite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanwide Elite Hotel

Property: Oceanwide Elite Hotel
Address: No.29 Taiping Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266001, China
Region: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Qingdao
#50 Best Value Hotel in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanwide Elite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oceanwide Elite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanwide Elite Qingdao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing