We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel in the centre”
Review of The Westin Qingdao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Qingdao
Ranked #3 of 1,698 Hotels in Qingdao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I tried this hotel as it is new. I usually stay at the Shangri-La when in Qingdao. It is very impressive and the rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is amazing and probably one of the best I have experienced anywhere - the choice is breathtaking. All in all it was a very pleasant experience. It will be interesting to see how they maintain the communal areas over time as it looked like the paintwork was already showing signs of use after only a few months in operation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babylon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Z, Manager at The Westin Qingdao, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your pleasant experience at The Westin Qingdao. We are so proud that we leave a deep impression on you.Your kind works of recognition has been shared with the whole team. We will continual to pay attention to your stay. Hope you will stay at The Westin again on your future trips to Qingdao.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

When you have received the very best of hospitality service and your stay has been absolutely pleasant, it is very difficult to find the right words to express your complete satisfaction. My arrival at the hotel was greeted at the door and I was escorted to the front desk. The concierge staff could speak basic English to greet me and escort me to the desk. My check in was smooth (less than three minutes) and I was in my junior suite. I found a real vast and huge junior with absolute dedication to details. Time for shower and change I went for my business dinner. I do not speak Chinese and the concierge helped to get a taxi and talked to the driver to get me to my destination. I came back around midnight and I was little bit hungry and I had to work on my computer for a couple of hours. I ordered room service. The club sandwich was great. Absolutely yummy. The next morning breakfast was just what I needed and just looking at the line I was thinking difficult to get anything better. I wanted to have cappuccino and it was just perfect frothy and hot. I am coffee lover and westin is famous for the quality of the coffee. I had meeting outside and asked for late check out. It all went smooth. Great hotel. Great service and really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfjlawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Z, Manager at The Westin Qingdao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted to hear that you had a great stay which is an inspiration to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another renewal stay.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Not as good location as Intercon for Marina and shopping, but perfect for business in CBD district.
Outside looks a bit of a mess due to the subway construction.

Rooms are very well appointed, nicer than intercon, actually makes Intercon feel worn and tired.
The pool is beautiful, big lap pool.

Breakfast is not as grand as i would expect, but perfect for what i want. Any bigger would be confusing with too many choices.

Dinner was just so-so in the Chinese restaurant.

GM is always around the hotel especially lobby area.
note lobby is on 5th floor.

Overall, wonderful addition to Qingdao hotel choice!
And a perfect execution of a new hotel. Bravo to management

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Z, Manager at The Westin Qingdao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Qingdao. We appreciate your time for giving us your valuable comments and your kind words about the hotel has been shared with the whole team . Your feedback about dinning has also been share with the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another renewal stay.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Newly opened typical Westin. Decent location by a mall and a super good massage salon. (Recommend the reflexology and shoulder massage btw) opposite a Handy Starbucks if that's your thing. Lovely well appointed suite with good views of the city. Public rooms luxurious as usual. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Z, Manager at The Westin Qingdao, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Qingdao. We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and thanks for your positive feedback of our hotel. At Westin, everything is designed with a better you in mind.

We look forward to seeing you again at The Westin Qingdao.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights on 15th floor in Westin Studio room.

The room was huge, effectively a junior suite with separate desk/sofa/TV area, large bedroom with massive bed and another TV, adjoining bathroom with standalone bath, big walk in shower and separate WC. Also large wardrobe area and another toilet in the hall. The bathroom alone is bigger than some rooms I have stayed in and for the money I paid (CNY1130 ++ , possibly a special rate due to conference I was attending) it was phenomenal value.

Even better, the room gave access to the Club Lounge on the top floor with breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail hour,

Broadband (cable and wi-fi) was free. I measured the download speed as 7Mbps. There were some decent, on-demand movies on the TV menu - all free.

The hotel is located in the business district close to May 4th (Wusi) Square and the sea. Opposite is the Shangri-La. Not much to do close by outside the hotel. There is a Starbucks across the road if you need your daily fix otherwise it will be a short cab ride to bars, restaurants etc. You can get quite a long way in a cab for £2 here! The Front Desk does provide a neat map of the sights of Qingdao.

There is a small supermarket in the hotel complex where you can buy supplies if needed.

Service levels are excellent. All staff are friendly, attentive and very keen to help. English levels are very good.

The buffet lunch in the 5th floor restaurant was excellent.

Leaving late Sunday morning, the cab ride to the airport in a local taxi took 45 minutes and cost RMB125

If I should ever be in Qingdao again I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T0ny_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Z, Manager at The Westin Qingdao, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Qingdao. Your comments are well received and we do appreciate your time to place such a detailed review. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience here and your recognition is an encouragement to all of us.

Thank you again for your positive comments. We have shared it with our team.

We look forward to your next stay with us so we could again leave you feeling energized and renewed.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at executive floor. Brand new hotel. Excellent service and facilities. Pool and Spa regrettably not yet open. Lounge very good service staff and good quality food and drinks. Room very good and comfortable. Will definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank whhamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Z, Manager at The Westin Qingdao, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,,

Thank you for taking the time to rate The Westin Qingdao. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay with us and your kind words of our service is an encouragement to all of us. We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
westinQD, 经理 at The Westin Qingdao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
#2 of 1,698 in Qingdao
1,870 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Qingdao
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
10.8 mi away
Hilton Qingdao Golden Beach
Hilton Qingdao Golden Beach
#11 of 1,698 in Qingdao
244 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
#8 of 1,698 in Qingdao
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Qingdao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Qingdao

Address: 8 Hong Kong Middle Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,698 Hotels in Qingdao
Price Range: £105 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Qingdao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Qingdao landmark building is one of the highest in the central business district overlooking the bustling and vibrant cityscape of Qingdao. The hotel’s convenient location ensures easy access to various city attractions and Government City Hall. It is only a short walk within the major corporate offices, the Seashore Sidewalk, various shopping malls and multiple restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Qingdao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing