We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally fine, as long as you like candles”
Review of Sanfod Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanfod Hotel
Ranked #125 of 1,705 Hotels in Qingdao
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Three of us arrived at Sanfod to be told there were ongoing renovations, and did we like the smell of paint? Two of us didn't and were upgraded to larger rooms with smaller beds. I kept the large bed, and found not the smell of paint but the sound of drilling (only during daylight hours, no problem).

Returning from a visit to some colleagues one afternoon, I found a notice on my table indicating there would be no electricity from 2pm to 5pm. As it was 4.30 pm, and there was electricity, my potential anger at the short notice was allayed. About 15 minutes later, as I was getting ready to go out, the electricity went out. The elevators became non-functional. I'd seen plenty of mistranslations of language in China, but this was the first time it had applied to numerals. Thirty minutes later, the power came back on, and quickly out again. And so on, and on, until daylight had gone, and sitting in a dark room not wanting to get trapped in an elevator or walk down many stairs in a fire exit to find the bottom door locked became ridiculous. No electricity during daylight hours during renovations with a day's notice - ok; no electricity during the dark with no notice - is this a four star hotel???

The other aspects of the hotel are fine. Staff are friendly, breakfast is ok, water is a bit tepid for winter - compared to the hotel I stayed at last, where you could poach an egg in an adjoining room , and location is typical for Qingdao - close to one or two places of interest and far from everywhere else.

Would I stay here again? Is the pope a protestant?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

Recently stayed at Sanfod Hotel in Qingdao, unfortunately I was there for business and was not able to leave earlier. Would have if I could! The overall condition of the hotel is quite dodgy, the rugs felt like if they were damp, the corridors had a weird odor, there are No smoking signs but apparently they are just for show since nobody followed them and of course no staff said anything.

The staff at the lobby tried to be helpful but with their very limited English it was practically impossible to communicate; Would receive calls around 9:30 PM asking if I wanted a massage?? My room was quite disappointing with a 1970's decoration or better said from 1970, the bed was the most uncomfortable one that I have ever slept on I think, the distribution was sad had a large window that faced directly to a wall which gave absolutely no light to the room a window which went completely to waste, the TV (40" flat screen) was angled in manner that it was difficult to watch, didn't really matter since I had 1 channel in English, the furniture in the room went well with the 70's look, the bathroom felt run down & completely of low standard products; the cleanliness was non existent I had never had such a dirty bathroom and specially not at this price range of hotel. The Internet which is provided was probably the worst connection ever, I was not able to access any sites, had to reset my computer like 3 or 4 times until I requested technical help from the hotel which arrived and I shortly after asked them to leave since I noticed that all they were doing was to press the refresh button multiple times..

I was offered complementary breakfast which was pretty good, they had a good variety of Chinese & Western food; didn't have any other meals there since I would avoid to be at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobMena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is one of the most horrible hotels we have ever stayed at, and we have stayed at hotels that are 10USD a night, even those are so much better! It's amazing how dirty this hotel is. They have nasty bathrooms, never washed! (see pictures). I'm pretty sure they have bed bugs because during the night I couldn't stop scratching myself and the next morning I was full of bites.

The price is ridiculous compared to what you get in return. If I would've paid 5USD per night I would've been satisfied.

The beds are so uncomfortable, it's like sleeping on top of a table with really bad linens. They smelled really bad.

The hotel is run down, everything is old and in really bad condition.

The two good things about the hotel: 42 inch LCD TV, location is pretty convenient.

Not recommended for anyone! Go to other hotels, there are many to choose from in this price range and even cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luchy1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Good hotel with friendly service. Directly opposite shopping mall, with loads of restaurants accessible by foot. Rooms were basic but comfy.
Recommended for the average traveller. As on busy main road, only problem is that it wasnt easy to hail a taxi but I suspect this is due to the time of the day rather than juts the hotel. Go on the day trip which can be organised by the concierge.It was worth it to see the sights. Visit Tsingtao beer factory for sampling the free beer at the end of the tour

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froggggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 28 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Meishan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugi077510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
14.2 mi away
Qingdao Kuaitong International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Regency Hotel
Grand Regency Hotel
#24 of 1,705 in Qingdao
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
#20 of 1,705 in Qingdao
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
#2 of 1,705 in Qingdao
1,923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Qingdao Farglory Residence
Qingdao Farglory Residence
#19 of 1,705 in Qingdao
107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanfod Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanfod Hotel

Address: No.96 Xianggang Middle Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Region: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 1,705 Hotels in Qingdao
Price Range: £36 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanfod Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanfod Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing