We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Datong
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Short stay for 2 nights during our month vacation, they upgraded us to the club room.Very clean,huge room,the bed extra comfy, breakfast was ok more Asian food than western can't complain.
Not much in the immediate walking area of the city. The main attraction is the Yungang grottoes and the hanging monastery. You definitely need a guide here.The people here very kind.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B2SQUARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    38
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We went to Datong by train after our Beijing tour. Check—in in about 10 pm, was quick. Our room was big and cosy, with nice view of the ancient city walls in lights. Breakfast was fine. The staffs were friendly, but their spoken English were just ok. Over all, it needs some improvements, however, is still a nice choice. Thank you for arrangement by China Odyssey Tours.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel in early August basically to rest!
The hall is very big, very opulent for Chinese standards and the rooms are also very well equipped! We had 2 queen beds along with a very big room and bathroom. Everything was cleaned, except from a bit of sewer smell, which I'll find out it's a common standard in China...but well... I didn't expect to find it in such an hotel.
The staff at the reception speaks a bit of English, but you won't find anybody else who speaks it! We tried to eat at one of their restaurants, but they said it was closed with no apparent reason, so we ended up eating at the lounge bar..good but expensive. It's a nice place for a day, just to relax, but they really should improve their facilities..such a big place must provide food and English speaking staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamAroundtheworld83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel advertises several restaurants, but really there are only 2 with mediocre food (Japanese, Korean, and Chinese dishes only). Very few staff members speak English and it was very hard to communicate. Clogged drain, moldy bathroom, items missing from our rooms, etc. THe rooms are big, and that is the only plus. The hallways are very dark,elevators very slow. Smoking throughout tthe hotel, Can't believe this is advertised as 5 star. No way.

Room Tip: There are only 2 non smoking floors but people smoke in the halls and it seeps up in the elevator. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

It is a hotel of a very international brand, but every detail indicates it is a typical Chinese hotel. It is not strange because Datong itself is not an international city.

We booked a room with two king beds - which was the main reason we chose this hotel. The room is big and clean.

Hotel is not far from railway station, but there are not many restaurants and shopping malls nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatSkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

After driving to Datong on our motorbikes in bad weather condition it was a pleasure to arrive a this hotel. Well managed, clean, frienly, close to the city center, good service and quick something nice to eat and a fresh cold beer.
The restaurants are good, the rooms are nice.

Room Tip: Higher floor as it is quiter, rooms facing the new city wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is from an american chain and is normally very expensive. In daong this is not the case. We booked a for 90eur (3 persons) a business suite, breakfast included.

Big hotel, staff doesn't speak well english. First charged too much, couldn't cancel it, but eventually everything was alright. We had a big room with 2 televisions and 2 big beds (and 1 smaller one) and a nice view.

Breakfast was good, but mostley chinese food. The buffet in the evening is also mostley chinese, but i've eaten better chinese food elsewhere in china.

If you take a taxi to the hanging temple, the taxidriver at the hotel charges too much even when the staff of the hotel "help" you to negotiate.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Datong hotels
1.2 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 162 in Datong
427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
2.5 mi away
Datong Great Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Yungang Meigao Hotel
Yungang Meigao Hotel
#14 of 162 in Datong
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yunzhong Courtyard
Yunzhong Courtyard
#2 of 162 in Datong
9 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yungang International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong

Property: Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong
Address: No.88 Pingcheng Street, Datong 037044, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Datong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing