We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel with the hardest beds on earth”
Review of Datong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Datong Hotel
Ranked #19 of 169 Hotels in Datong
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We found the Datong Hotel to be well presented on the outside and in the foyer but the rooms were extremely dated and very noisy. We could still hear all the traffic noise even though our room was quite a distance from the street. We travelled through a number of locations in China and understand the beds are usually hard, but the beds in this hotel were unbearable. It would have been more softer and more comfortable sleeping in the bath! The rooms were clean, but they charged for the sachets of instant Coffee, and had no milk available. The menu in the restaurant was only in Chinese with no translation (even though the information in the compendium in the room said Western menu). The breakfast was unappealing with little choice. The worst thing was late in the evening when I was in bed and my children were asleep, I had housekeeping knock on my door to do up our room (which had already been done) and when I ignored them they proceeded to unlock the deadlock (which is only able to be locked from internally) and try and enter my room. Very disturbing!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TP2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2009

I wish this email to be addressed to the marketing department.
I had an enjoyable stay at the hotel but I wish to help.
Some of the information and brochures in the hotel room in the directory were well presented but the English printed in the articles was not always correct in grammar and punctuatuion. I would like to be helpful to the Hotel by assisting in the translation and presentation of the information in English. I am a retired school teacher and wish to help. I would be happy to do it via emails.
Many Thanks
Dianne Cecil

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaisyCanungra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

My first impressions of the hotel were not great ... it is a good distance from the train station and the center of town (and we got ripped off by the taxi driver from the train station), the exterior is very intimidating, and the massive gates were more disturbing than comforting--what exactly were we being protected from? Angry Maoists? Dinosaurs? But the interior is quite nice, the rooms are comfortable, and the restaurant menu is the most hilarious thing I've ever seen (more on that in a minute). The staff could've been a little more helpful and didn't speak very much English, but then again Datong (despite the wonderful sights in and around the city) is not exactly on the beaten tourist path and their English was better than my Chinese. I think we paid a little less than $50/night for our room, so it was a great deal.

I must second m2347m's comment that the menu is the funniest thing I've ever seen. I'll post some pictures below, but search "Datong Hotel" on flickr and you can see more of my pictures. Tears were rolling down my eyes the first time I laid eyes on this thing. I'm glad we were able to take one to our room so we could take pictures. Yes--it's that funny!

So to summarize, bad location (although taxis are always available) but a very nice hotel. Again, I'm a bit surprised by the negative reviews. Datong itself is kind of gritty town (the wave of modernization and prosperity that has hit Beijing, Shanghai, and even Xi'an has not reached here) but has a few interesting temples and a famous dragon wall. Outside of town are the real treasures though--the Yungang Caves and Hanging Temple are some of the best sights in China. Datong makes for a nice stopover between Xi'an and Beijing, so if you have time definitely stop here for a day or two! If you don't mind the location (and really, there's not that much to do in downtown Datong anyway), the Datong Hotel is a great value and the restaurant menu alone makes the stay worthwhile! I hope they never change it ...

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Stayed at the Datong Hotel in May. The hotel is quite a distance from the airport. Most people here do not speak english. The tour CITS office is right outside the hotel but it was closed at 9AM. Check in took a very long time. Only one person works the counter. This hotel is about a 2 star hotel. The lobby looks nice but the rooms are very old. The linens and towels were clean. The beds are hard which is standard for most China hotels. Breakfast at the hotel is good if you go early. We got there sort of late in the morning so almost everything was cold. Rented a taxi for all day to go to the Hanging Temples and Yungang Caves. The costs was $300RMB. The hanging temples are far from the hotel. The caves are in the opposite direction from the temples but closer to hotel. In order to get to the caves you have to drive through town. The town is pretty run down. Not much to do other than see the caves and temples. After returning from being out all day we went to have dinner in the hotel. The dinner menu is a must see. Hilarious!!! We couldnt figure out what to order as the english translation was out of this world. Only regret was that we didnt have our cameras to take photos of it. The next morning we went to look for the menus to take pictures but they were put away. Check out took a very long time. They make sure you didnt take anything from the room and that you pay for any stuff they are selling that is set in the bathroom. The taxi ride to the airport was about $30RMB. No one at the airport spoke english.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m2347m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hay habitaciones con balcón que dan al frente del edificio, yo lo solicitaría.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank 25,662,071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnderSieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Datong hotels
0 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 169 in Datong
440 reviews
0 mi away
Yungang Meigao Hotel
Yungang Meigao Hotel
#5 of 169 in Datong
28 reviews
0 mi away
Datong Great Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
0 mi away
Yunzhong Courtyard
Yunzhong Courtyard
#2 of 169 in Datong
15 reviews
0 mi away
Yungang Jianguo Hotel
Yungang Jianguo Hotel
#18 of 169 in Datong
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Datong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Datong Hotel

Address: No.37 Yingbin West Road, Datong 037008, China (Formerly Holiday Inn Datong City Center)
Region: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 169 Hotels in Datong
Price Range: £16 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Datong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Datong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Tong Datong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing