We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Hotel @ Datong”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Datong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Did a driving trip from Beijing to Datong to visit the Yungang Grottoes and Xuankong Hanging Temple. Did a search for a suitable hotel to stay in Datong and Garden Hotel did not disappoint. It was value for money. The hotel has a carpark located behind the hotel and it is free for hotel guests.
Hotel staff is friendly and helpful and really went out of the way to assist me when I needed some assistance with my car. The staff even popped out of the hotel and asked a taxi driver, and called the company for its address and location and even offered to send a staff along to auto-shop.
The rooms are decent with nice touches as such as a humidifier which came in handy for the winter period which could be very dry. Ask for a room overlooking the carpark if noise from the main street bothers you.
Breakfast was decent too with a good spread.
As it was snowing on evening, we decided to eat in the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when the food was served. This is probably the only restaurant where the serving is actually nicer looking and bigger in portion than what is depicted in the menu! Ask about the size of the serving. The Chinese food was very delicious and indeed value for money. That would explain the large number of local with families dining at the restaurant.
The hotel and Datong itself were excellent base for travel to Xuankong Hanging Temple. The hotel is also located near the shopping belt and a newly constructed "ancient cultural street". The new "old city wall" should be completed by now and provided a nice feel to the city itself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Oylin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016


Hello! Thank you for your appreciation, and we were so glad to meet you at DaTong, and as you said, our city will be more beautiful after the renovation and rebuilding. As the better environment and the process we are making, we invite you come here again .
Best wishes!
Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is fantastic...service is the key...staff could not be happier or friendlier if they tried. This hotel has provided the best service in my 8 months in China and did it for a bargain basement price.

The location cannot be beaten...50 metres from the drum tower...400 metres to the city walls...400 metres to the pedestrian street and 500 metres to the main temple.

Everything is fantastic from the cleanliness to the extra touches like the daily fruit platters, turn down service and evening chocolates.

The locals smoke in the restaurants and lobby despite the no smoking signs...but hey...it's China...what can you do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Hello, dear, thank you for you so high praise to our hotel, and it's our pleasure to serve you, we'll make some modifications base on your advice, we hope that you'll be satisfy when you come here next time, best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Really good hotel. We were originally given a room without a bath even though we booked it but it was no problem to change rooms. Only issue with the new room is the air con didn't work... Besides that friendly staff, good breakfast, decent rooms.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Hello, dear, thank you for you so high praise to our hotel, and it's our pleasure to serve you, we'll make some modifications base on your advice, we hope that you'll be satisfy when you come here next time, best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked the hotel after reading many good reviews and I would agree with other reviewers on the good standard and value for money. The staff were very pleasent and spoke English which was helpful. Sheets, towels and room were clean and room was not noisy although facing the main street.

Room Tip: We stayed in a non-smoking room (requested at the time of booking).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Hello!
First,thank you make a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are so glad that we have a good impression for you thank you for your recommendation, and it would be wonderful to see you again.
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Outstanding hotel, indeed.
I am staying at this place at leats 4 times a year - and had never been disappointed. Very friendly and warm attitude, comfortable rooms with quiet ACs, good Internet connection and humidifier in the room, one of the best in-house restaurants in town - with VERY decent prices in the menu, nice locality, decent parking - and THE best breakfast in China I have ever had! That is, nice selection of ready dishes in the buffet, on the top of that you may compose your own bowl of Chinese noodles - and endless supply of outstanding espressos - which is most unusual in Chinese hotels.
Wholeheartedly recommend

Room Tip: street side rooms may be a bit noisy, for quiet nights select the ones facing inner yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Hello,
Thank you very much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are so happy you like our hotel.
It's our pleasure to provide considerate service for you.
Thank you so much again.
Welcome you come our hotel next time.

Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel has comfortable rooms, is very well located ( inside the city walls) , has an excellent breakfast, nice staff. The hotel has two restaurants and both were good. The Latina has good options althiugh I found the price not fair. The chinese restaurant in the second floor is excellent and have very good prices . They could have Diet Coke . Most of the staff did not know the name diet coke. The fresh juices are excellent!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room non smoking but be aware that chinese people do not respect this rule ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Hello, 
Thank you very much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are very glad that you gave us so high praise to our hotel, and it's our pleasure to serve you, we'll make some modifications base on your advice, we hope that you'll be satisfy when you come here next time, best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you come to Datong for a business trip, this hotel is a very good choice. First of all, the price is very reasonable. You pay 2 stars hotel cost, but, you are getting 4-5 stars hotel service. Rooms are very big, up-to-date and clean. Breakfast is rich and you can find lots of western choices. Most staff can speak basic English; so, communication is not a problem. They have some foreign TV channels. The bar is located in the second floor with a live piano performance during the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Hello,
Thank you very much giving us such a high evaluation for our hotel.
We are gald that you spent good time in the hotel.
It's our pleasure to service you .
Our hotel breakfast is special in Datong.
We are so gald you like it.
Thank you very much again.
Hope you come datong next time.

Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Datong hotels
0 mi away
Yunzhong Courtyard
Yunzhong Courtyard
#2 of 169 in Datong
15 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
0 mi away
Yungang Meigao Hotel
Yungang Meigao Hotel
#5 of 169 in Datong
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Datong Great Palace Hotel
0 mi away
Datong Hotel
Datong Hotel
#19 of 169 in Datong
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yungang International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: No.59 Danan Street, Datong 037008, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Datong
Price Range: £31 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Datong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing