We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very international”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haohai International Hotel
Ranked #53 of 167 Hotels in Datong
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not very international”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The check in took ages. The staff did not speak english, which normally I accept when I go travelling, however if you are an 'international' hotel, it would be assumed the staff would speak english.
They also did not know what to make of my booking reference. When they finally found the room, they wanted to charge me again.
The room itself was very nice and was very clean. The breakfast was also good. It was a buffet that inlcuded western foods as well as local food.
The only issue we had was the room was roasting and as there was no window we couldn't let in any fresh air.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    44
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The check-in was terrible: it took forever for them to find our booking, even though we were showing them our Agoda booking confirmation and reservation number. I think three or four people were involved. Finally, we were given a key card. We had booked a king bed room with a window, and first were given a room with no window and two single beds. We went back downstairs, showed them our reservation again, they smiled a knowing smile, apologised, and sent us to another room. This time we found ourselves in a windowless room with a king bed. Progress, but we weren't there yet. Back to reception, more toing and froing, another room key. This time we got what we wanted, although we had asked for a non-smoking room, and there were two ashtrays in the room with complimentary matches. At that point we had given up and stayed in that room, especially that it didn't really smell like smoke at all, thankfully.

After this awkward introduction to the hotel, things went smoothly, and our stay was actually quite comfortable. The room was big, the bed comfortable, and there were buses outside the hotel that went to the old town. From the train station you can take bus 30 to get to the hotel. It takes about half an hour, but it's easy and only one yuan per person.

I'm not sure if I'd stay there again. The immediate neighbourhood of the hotel was very uninspiring, it was far away from where we wanted to go (the buses helped, but were very slow) and the lobby was full of cigarette smoke. People even smoked in the lifts!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abere8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Even they speak little English, but they are ready to help!
We forget a IPhone in the bus from Beijing, they were there to contact the bus station for us.
A lot of thanks to them.
We're very satisfait of our stay.
Rooms very clean.

Room Tip: We didn't use spa there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. There was one person who could speak a little bit English by checking-in. None of the other staff could speak English, not a word. We got a room without window (Which we knew) but it was very nice. The room was big, 2 big beds and a minibar (which wasn't filled when we had some drinks, but okay). The bathroom looked nice at first sight, but the shower was leeking. Towels were changed every day, and we got a newspaper every day, but it was Chinese so we couldn't read it. There's a internetpossibility in the hotel, which we used but we couldn't reach much websites we wanted to visit, like Facebook. it's probably bloced.

The information about the hotel was inaccurate. When I booked the hotel (4 months ago) there were pictures and information about a swimmingpool, when we got there, one member of the staff told us that the swimmingpool does not exist anymore since last year(!) the shop does also not exist anymore, even though the information book about the hotel in your room also says there is a pool and shop.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caressa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This hotel is pretty posh & the rooms are lovely, with robes/toiletries/etc. Very good value for money. Note however that it does not have many facilities listed on booking website- no gym, pool, bar. It does have an excellent restaurant. Fantastic food for very good prices. Probably the best food experience for us across China. Our only real complaint here was the service & staff. When we entered the lobby nobody offered to serve us & everybody-about 10 staff in total just openmouth stared at us. When ordering dinner we had EIGHT staff leaning on our table staring intently. Several remained & observed us eat. It was very unnerving &, having been travelling asia for over 10months we are used to staring etc, so it has to be incredibly intense to bother us. It was unpleasant to the extreme. At one stage a staff member was leaning her elbows on our table & picking her teeth whilst we ate. English skills are also quite poor overall- staff were even using phone dictionary to find 'yes' & 'no'. Quite difficult as 'whities' here, but if you aren't at all self conscious I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Datong
0.0 mi away
Datong Great Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 167 in Datong
429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yitel Hotel Taiyuan Fudong Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pingyao Huiguan
Pingyao Huiguan
#32 of 122 in Pingyao County
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
0.0 mi away
Fly by Knight Datong Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haohai International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haohai International Hotel

Property: Haohai International Hotel
Address: No.46 Nanhuan Road Crossing, Weidu Avenue, Datong 037008, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 167 Hotels in Datong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haohai International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haohai International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing