We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcome, food excellent, room a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel
Ranked #182 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a nice tibet welcome at this hotel which is located on a busy intersection, but easy to walk to shops, markets etc. If your not a shopper like me, then it is nice to walk out of the hotel turn left and into the residential area, we came across a exercise street, where lots of people were doing their daily exercises old and young together. As we walked we also came across, what I would describe as a fete. Music, a childrens performance, local stalls, it was a great find, we just sat and did some people watching.

Back to the hotel itself - I think we were unlucky with the room, as when we went in I could not understand why the curtains were closed, I did when I opened the . We overlooked the dinning room, where a wedding was taking place, a noisy wedding, so with no natural light and a lot of noise we went out. The air conditioning was poor, in fact one couple had a bucket of ice sent to there room to help with the heat! luckily i like heat! Apart from that the room was fine, and I think if you have a room on the otherwise of the corridor people were quiet happy. We did think the breakfast noise would wake us, it did not.

The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and a good mixture of western and chinese. We also had dinner here, and it was very good, one of the best hotel meals on the trip. The bar area was nice as had been refurbished, small but not crowded.

All in all not too bad, but try and get a room on the exterior wall of the hotel, we never opened the curtains, and if a wedding is going on you knew about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the exterior wall of the hotel to avoid looking out over the dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed on during our trip. The hotel is well located for walking to quality stores and pedestrian areas.
When we arrived we received an amazing Tibetan reception with gifts and poems/songs. The staff are exceptionally helpful, the rooms are beautifully appointed and very clean, although there was no bath.- only a shower.
Food was very good, although the huge mural of the Potala is a bit overpowering in the dining room.
Would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights;Rooms small but all facilities of a good 4 star is available except for any TV channel from a non chinese source.A great inadequecy.High class breakfact to suit western palate but breakfast room a hot house due to lack of ventilation.Bed ideal for a long snooze.Room internet responds to touch.

Staff very responsive to attend to request made via telephone in English.They were attended speedily a feature alien in china.

Room Tip: Test whether air con works to satisfaction on entering room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruvinivavuniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Dinner here was the best on Tour.. very varied and good variety.Buffet breakfast with western and chinese dishes. Rooms comfortable, tastefully furnsihed. On headboard are various switches one of which indicates on a panel outside the door... do not disturb good idea to check its not on by accident otherwise the room will not be cleaned !!. beds hard but same as other hotels seems to be the norm.Safety deposit boxes next to Reception free of charge, mini bars in rooms. Very good, clean standard throughout , can even borrow an unbrella if its rainig ! Hotel was opposite small supermarket and Pharmacy, out of Hotel right down the road a large supermarket open till approx 10pm.Look forward to staying there again !!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bluenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of a Travelsphere tour, highlights of China. Average tourist type hotel and fine for a couple of nights stay as part of the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Johnboyholidaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I only stayed in Chengdu for 2 nights to visit the Panda Breeding Center, but was quite impressed by the rooms at this hotel. The hotel is centrally located, the rooms were spacious and offered fine amenities, my favorite being the rainforest shower. They also offer robes, in-room safes, room service and climate control. The beds were hard but the comforter was cozy. The breakfast buffet offered a lot of items both for either a Western style or Chinese style breakfast and it dining area was lovely.

My only complaint is that the staff did not really speak English, and this is supposed to be a "tourist class" hotel. Luckily I had a private guide to help me translate, otherwise there may have been some problems with communication.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ling1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

It rates itself 4-star but is definitely a 3. With this understood then this is a small, comfortable hotel with a Tibetan flavour, which I like. There is only one restaurant on the second floor, but it is spacious, serves good food at a reasonable price (by hotel standard) and has a 2-storey, 3-D mockup of the Potala Palace. It is impressive to look at and to take pictures in front of. Unless, of course, you have seen the real thing. And I have. The hotel is frequented by visitors from Tibet and this gives it a good flavour.

The negatives are: no pool; gym is too small and ill-equipped to be of use; so-so location. The staff were friendly but I suspect their English language skill is limited or none. I was OK because I speak the language.

Everything inside the room worked and I had a non-smoking room that did not smell of cigarette, which is often not the case with 3-star hotels in China. And I had heat on a cold day, something that was missing in my 5-star hotel (Howard Johnson) stay in Chongqing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
2.0 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#7 of 2,748 in Chengdu
509 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,748 in Chengdu
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,748 in Chengdu
629 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,748 in Chengdu
521 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#34 of 2,748 in Chengdu
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel

Address: No.88 Xiaojiahe North Street, South Fourth Section of First Ring Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: £42 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing