We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Breakfast in a 6-Day Tour of Jiuzhaigou” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
Ranked #53 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
396 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast in a 6-Day Tour of Jiuzhaigou”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Holiday Inn Hotel at the Century City in Chengdu was our first and last stop in our 6-day tour of China. The 6 day tour was quite hectic and we really didn't have the time to appreciate the hotel. On our last day, we had breakfast at 6:30 a.m. before we depart to the airport for Hongkong. Our group of 8 expected the ordinary breakfast buffet of congee, breads and cheese and fruits. To our surprise, the buffet included a lot of different cuisines and food offerings. We found pine nuts, blueberry/cherries jam, omelets (not found in the other hotels) cooked to perfection; whole bananas, apples, pears; congee with a lot of different toppings and American food of bacon, sausages and hams. All of us had two or more servings and when we checked out we were truly satisfied for a great breakfast.

Room Tip: The only thing about the hotel is that the room smells of cigarettes. For the non-smokers, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMI4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemry Z, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear KIMI4812,
We appreciate for your detailed comments and your kind support to our hotel.We are delighted to hear that you were impressed by our breakfast at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City.Sorry for the smells of cigarettes, we will pay more attention to clean rooms and keep fresh air on the move.We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you are back in Chengdu so that we may continue to extend our sincere hospitality to you.
Jemry Zhao
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    172
    62
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
11
12
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a nice quality hotel and they have a nice room and excellent B/fast Restaurant. If you are on a business trip and convention please use this hotel. The only problem is English speaking hotel staff, the only person who speak English is hotel front desk supervisor, the reception staff is too slow for check-in or check out. They have to improve their service. Nice lobby with high ceiling. No swimming pool or spa................

Room Tip: any where in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemry Z, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Rztravels,
We appreciate for your detailed comment and your kind support to our hotel. As you mentioned, Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City is closed to covention center.Thank you for your recommendation and support.It is pleased to know that you are satisfied with the room and breakfast.Your valuable comments which will improve us to serve guests better.We will enhance the training for staffs to improve the efficiency and English speaking.Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Jemry Zhao
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old and tired, the rooms smell damp and are worn out. The noise from the side that faces the shops can be very noisy if there is a "special" exhibition on. It is a poor location for the city. The bathrooms are disgusting and have been patched up many times over the years.

Do not stay here if you can help it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemry Z, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Wagu,
thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City as your preferred hotel during October 2013.We are very sorry that your recent stay with us left you dissatisfied.We will take action to solve the issues you raised, as the noise,bathroom cleanliness and smelly room,please rest assured that we will spare no efforts to improve the quality of our guests' stay. We would be grateful if you could allow us the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the future.
Jemry Zhao
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

What I liked most was the buffet breakfast - I can find non-Chinese food. Great facilities, hardly English speaking receptionist and other staffs have "Zero" knowledge of English as it is international chain hotel. There is almost nothing to see around, kinda best for business visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagiCrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemry Z, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Selena,
thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City during your business trip.We are glad to know that you are enjoyed the facilities and breakfast that we offered. We will enchance staff training on English speaking. Meanwhile,We will continue to work hard and ensure our guests a comfortable and pleased stay here with us. We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you are back in Chengdu.
Jemry Zhao
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for several nights recently, generally the hotel facilities are nice despite the dirty carpets in hallways. The hotel staff hardly speak English, which made life difficult sometimes. Room service is OK, however, they'd bring beer without beer opener, and pasta without fork... We were awakened by neighbourining room noises - people were talking and we could hear it, not very good sleep quality. Buffet breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe rooms if you're staying for 2 nights and more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeMoe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemry Z, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Moonbabyxox,
thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed feedback at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City during your recent business trip.We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the breakfast that we offered. We are extremely sorry that your stay was not a memorable one.We will enchance staff training on English and service skills constantly. Meanwhile, we also pay more attention to clean rooms and follow up noise renovation project.We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you are back in Chengdu.
Jemry Zhao
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket,
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was my first visit to Chengdu and I stayed at this hotel as recommended by our local chinese colleaque. At first, I thought I would have ploblem concerning service and language like I had it in Kunming sometimes back, it turned out to be great place, felt relax, secure and freindly and English was widely understandable & communicable . The room is a bit small to my expectation but comfy. Location wise was nice..in the centre of everything...shops & public transportations. it was a good choice for a businessperson with conveniency & technology wise(wi-fi & etc). Breakfast was enough and variety. In general, it is highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDAMANPhuket_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemry Z, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear ANDAMAN,
thank you for your recommendation after staying at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City during September 2013.We are glad to know that our service and language ability all were beyond your expectation and you are satisfied with the room,breakfast and location that we offered. We will continue to work hard and ensure our guests a comfortable and pleased stay here with us. We hope that you and your colleague will choose our hotel again when you are back in Chengdu so that we may continue to extend our sincere hospitality to you.
Jemry Zhao
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have a few points to make as part of my review:

1. Huge lobby, almost a waste of space to be honest.
2. Drinks in the downstair bar are very expensive compared to general prices in other parts of Chengdu. A can of coca-cola was 22 Yuan (£2.30) in the hotel, whereas a bottle of the same drink was 4.5 Yuan (46p) around the corner in the shop. I would have understood 8 to 10 Yuan but not that pricey!
3. Laundry was a rip-off. They charges almost 800 Yuan (£80) for 7 shirts, 3 pairs of boxers and a few pairs of socks. This was a disgrace and unacceptable! But i was caught without clean clothes and had no option!
4. Room Service was also a ripoff. A burger and a small salad with 15 french fries was 170 Yuan with a coca cola. This is on a par with Scandinavian prices! Ridiculous!

The hotel room itself was reasonably good, but on a balance, the prices are the reason why i wouldn't recommend this hotel. Services are a rip off in an otherwise affordable country. Management need to get their act together!!

Room Tip: MAke sure you find a local laundry with the help of a local! Avoid Room Service, this is a guarantee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemry Z, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Donal R,
thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City during your business trip.We really appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience.Welcome you to john our IHG Rewards Club to save more and enjoy more.No other hotel loyalty programme does more to help you earn rewards without restrictions.Club membership gives you an advantage at more than 4500 IHG properties worldwide.Redeem points anytime.they will never expire.Hotel rewards have no blackout dates,which gives you even more control over planning the trips you want,when you want.Welcome you back in the near future.
Jemry Zhao
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City-East Tower
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Xindu
Holiday Inn Chengdu Xindu
#208 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
0.6 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#6 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower

Property: Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
Address: 208 West Tower, Century City Boulevard, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 775
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Century City Chengdu is located in the Century City complex in southern Chengdu, which features the New Chengdu International Exhibition & Convention Center and Causeway Bay Shopping Mall.The Hotel has 190 modern and quiet guest rooms including 16 suites and 40 Executive Club rooms with business friendly features. There are 3 various outlets for dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn West Century City Hotel Chengdu
Holiday Inn Chengdu
Chengdu Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing