We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel, situated on a nice road, is not to big and gives you a little bit of a old China feeling. The small courdyard and the Chinese theme makes it picturesque, The rooms were ok, beds little bit hard like almost everywere in China, room prices were ok. Staff is very helpfull and always there to give you advice or plan short trips in Chengdu area. About 100 meters there is a supermarket and 200 meters the metro. Did not had breakfast, the menu was very good, realy enjoyed some nice outside dinners. There are also some good restaurants in the street. Also very nice are all the lights in the street a night.
Prices ok, very recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hommeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Wenjun Mansion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Qintai Road succeeds in evoking the grandeur of traditional chinese mansion houses in modern day China. The location is superb - close to wonderful gardens and great restaurants. The courtyard is always bustling with activity as helpful and courteous staff ensure tourists make the most of their stay in Chengdu. Trips to the Pandas and Giant Buddha are fantastic and guides from the hotel make these visits wonderful experiences. There is a dedicated travel desk in the foyer - a real bonus with impartial advice. Food is fantastic and rooms have spaces on balconies with tables which overlook the courtyard. Consider upgrading on arrival as some rooms look tired and in need of TLC. Overall a good value hotel in great surroundings with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have TripAdvisor to thank for this hotel :) We were not disappointed! It's in a lovely spot - a beautiful street lined with shops, near a canal, with a gorgeous garden just a few minutes walk from the hotel. This was one of the few places in China that easily accommodated our family of 5 in a single room. The room was clean and comfortable, and it was lovely to sit on the verandah with a cup of tea. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the courtyard a real find. We had room service dinner from the in-hotel restaurant one night, and the food was good. There are also ample restaurants nearby and the front desk staff can recommend suitable options. The only downside - these were the hardest beds we had in China :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LellenAndCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We decided to stay at this place after we reviewed it on tripadvisor :)
We were looking for an affordable place in Chengdu that was close to a metro and some of the must see places of the city.
What we encountered definitely exceeded our expectations. English speaking and extremely friendly and helpful staff (rare in China), huge/spacious & clean rooms and the look and feel of old times China. This was the once place in China that made us feel home and cozy.
The Mansion is located in a refurbished, old stile looking street that offers great places to enjoy a delicious hot pot for dinner. We also booked a tour offered by the hotel to visit the Chengdu Panda Breeding Center - well spent money.
Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Charming hotel, clean large room with balcony overlooking courtyard, picturesque street, friendly staff, close to culture park and baihuatan park and sichuan opera, reasonable breakfast for 25Y
Wifi free and working
No lift but does not bother me
Loved the 4th floor

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gimpytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room , very basic , most definitely need an update on all aspects but do not let this put you off ..... Because it was very inexpensive , very beautiful look from the outside , amazing atmosphere in the courtyard , and English speaking , helpful staff ( it's a luxury in China to find this ). We were in Chengdu for a couple of days to visit the Panda base - this will be reviewed separately - and this charming hotel ( at least most definitely from the outside ) did the job . Located close to a local park where you can go and watch locals doing their morning exercises ( Thai Chi or similar ) this was a highlight ..... Hot pot restaurant and the traditional tea ceremony added to our special stay in this part of the country .... You'll be surprised to see how wealthy people are around here ... Not what we expected at all .... After a 16 hour train journey this place was worth a visit and the super cute pandas ... Aawwwww :)))

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATASERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Chengdu is a huge city... So this was nice, we felt welcome in this cosy, homey atmosphere. The rooms come out to a terrace like corridor. The breakfast was very basic. The hotel organises trips for you if you like and movie nights as well. We went for a walk and found an amazing car free area with lots of restaurants, cafés, and souvenirshops where we spent ours just relaxing and unwinding from the busy Chinese days we already had behind us. Perfect in combination with a visit to a Panda park. But 2 nights in this city definitely was enough for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Antwerpgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.3 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,714 in Chengdu
347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#36 of 2,714 in Chengdu
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tibet Hotel
Tibet Hotel
#18 of 2,714 in Chengdu
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chengdu Panda Apartment
Chengdu Panda Apartment
#15 of 2,714 in Chengdu
193 reviews
1.8 mi away
BuddhaZen Hotel
BuddhaZen Hotel
#13 of 2,714 in Chengdu
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenjun Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenjun Mansion Hotel

Address: No.180 Qintai Road, Chengdu 610041, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: £30 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wenjun Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wenjun Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wenjun Mansion
Wenjun Mansion Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing