We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celebrity City Hotel
Ranked #64 of 2,730 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Let's take a look at the positive stuff first:
-Clean, spacious, polite staff.
-Many choices at the buffet restaurant on the 2nd floor for every meal during the day.
-The best beds in China!
-Floor to ceiling windows in the rooms.
-Shower with rain heads and bath tub with bath salts provided.
-Window between bathroom and bedroom, allowing for more light.

Now the negatives:
-Nobody at the reception desk speaks english.
-The pool was closed (which was ok after all since it was located at the parking lot!)
-Two of us got food poisoning (we hadn't stepped out of the hotel)
-We had booked in advance for two people to stay for an extra night. When we arrived we found out that the price for that night would be 60% more expensive than what we had been paying for the previous nights. They also charged us a "security deposit" that was the full price of our stay for the extra night plus 50% more! We decided to change the booking and take a double room instead of two singles for that night. Well, it had less space than the single rooms, no bathtub, the fridge was locked, and the air-condition was stuck at 16C so we froze our behinds off.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank KellyMLnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Near to metro station and many food outlets. Also within walking distance to People's Park, Tian Fu Square and Chunxi Road. Beds were comfortable and toilets were spacious and clean with one stand shower and a bathtub. However, can be noisy as it faces the main road so try asking for higher floors. Also would like it better if the lightings are a bit brighter. There's also free wifi in the room. Staff were courteous and able to speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana298313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a trip to Chengdu. The hotel was a great location for walking to food, tourist locations and everything else you could think of. The check-in was smooth, staff struggled a bit with English, but it did not cause issues. The rooms were great, nice views and quiet. The restaurants, bars and in-house locations were all well appointed and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to all as a base of operations for tourists or business people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernMedic06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is the second year I have stayed here while visiting Chengdu. The hotel is in a nice location near city center and is easy to get to. The rooms are nice for the price. I agree that some rooms could use a facelift, but overall the facility is well kept. The restaurants and bar in the hotel are nice, staff understands English requests. I would stay here again if in Chengdu.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARSHALLK608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel was one of many I recently stayed in while on business in China. The hotel itself is perfectly nice. It is a typical high rise city hotel. The lobby was very nice and clean. The problem came when I asked to make sure I had a non-smoking room. The manager told me that I had a smoking room because there were no non-smoking rooms left. I said that wasn't acceptable and it wasn't acceptable to five other people that I was with. He told us he would have the room "sprayed" (whatever that means), but smoke makes me completely ill. We ended up having to have our Chinese host come and argue with the manager about finding us non-smoking rooms. She spent at least 20 minutes arguing with him and then he told us he would put us on an executive floor, but we would need to pay the extra. Our Chinese host told him that was not acceptable and we eventually got our non-smoking rooms. However, I have never been in a hotel where the management has spent so much time arguing and refusing to change guests to a non-smoking room even if it means an upgrade. I ended up with a very nice room on an executive floor, but I did not like the lack of hospitality at the hotel. The hotel was up to date and was clean, but I can't recommend it because of the service.

Room Tip: even though you may have reserved a non-smoking room, be sure to confirm it when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lunamoth2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here in July 2010. Good location and excellent service from the concierge. However the rooms are dated but still comfortable. Could do with a makeover.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank issybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a well-located hotel and boasts nice-looking rooms, a tasteful lobby and great spa facilities. Nonetheless, appearances can be deceiving. On a recent stay, rooms had technical issues with respect to its automated heating/air system and lighting control system. The shower had luke-warm water and the hotel safe did not work. If you are a western traveler, you will also find it next to impossible to find anyone with enough English to help you when needed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldlyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,730 in Chengdu
925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wanda Reign Chengdu
Wanda Reign Chengdu
#21 of 2,730 in Chengdu
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#5 of 2,730 in Chengdu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lyhn International Hotel
Lyhn International Hotel
#151 of 2,730 in Chengdu
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,730 in Chengdu
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Galaxy Minyoun Chengdu Hotel
Galaxy Minyoun Chengdu Hotel
#51 of 2,730 in Chengdu
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity City Hotel

Address: Inside Zhongtie Mingren Plaza, No.122-124, Section 1,Renmin South Road, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610061, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 2,730 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: £55 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Celebrity City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celebrity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing