We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always been good for me”
Review of Jinli Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jinli Hostel
Ranked #45 of 557 Chengdu B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always been good for me”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I've stayed at Jin Li Hotel a number of times over the years, and have always found it a very comfortable and convenient place to stay. It most definitely is not a hostel, but a hotel. I have stayed in rooms overlooking the courtyard, across the street from the reception, and found these to be of good quality, in a nice authentic style befitting of its location in the old style tourist street that is Jin Li. It can be noisy in the evenings due to the popularity of this area with tourists and locals for a night out, but equally so - is very convenient if you want to partake of the restaurants, bars and clubs on your doorstep here. Starbucks is very nearby, almost next door, which is very convenient for western style breakfast/coffee etc. Most recently my wife and I stayed for one night in April 2013, in one of the rooms on the reception side of the street, and still found it comfortable - though the room here was smaller than the others I have stayed in.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the suites and found these to be very spacious, with room to spread out and make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The name here is misleading - it's a hotel with not large but decent rooms and shower.
It's clean, easy to find at the most touristy street of the newly built JInli Ancient Street.
The breakfast is brought to your rooms in small baskets and has very little value, but don't worry - Starbucks is right next door.
There is no english spoken so don't rely on them. Late at night some rooms are affected to the street noise when the chinese tour groups are having fun.

It's good value for money though.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel, it is not a hostel. The bedroom was not as clean as it should have been. The bathroom was a disgrace. The tiles in the shower were very badly marked and what looked like adhesive was running between them. The shower itself took up to 10 minutes to clear of water.
The hotel itself is located in a very nice pedestrian street. We did not try the breakfast but used Starbucks next door. No evening meals served, but plenty of restaurants around the area some with English menus. Try the Hot Pot speciality which is very spicy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryCDonegal_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, it is ideally located on the popular ancient walking street of Jin Li (but it's not noisy). The street itself is full of life, many food stalls, restaurants and sights along the way. You don't have to leave the street unless you want to as everything that you need is right on your doorstep.

The hotel itself was lovely, we stayed in a beautiful room in the courtyard area and it was really quiet and peaceful. You enter the courtyard through a big authentic gate and then you have a shady area with tables and chairs if you wish to relax away from the street.

The room had air con, a tv, hot water shower etc with complimentary slippers and toiletries. It was really cosy, clean and comfortable. I would say this is a fantastic choice for Chengdu!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I LOVED this hotel!

It's not the best serviced, or cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in, however it's Character and Charm more than makes up for it!

It is a courtyard style hotel, split over 2 sides of a pedestrian street. The aesthetic of the place matches the old world feeling of the Jinli market strrets outside.

Right next door to a temple and smack bang in the middle of a market area selling souvineers and food.

Don't expect more than what it is, a basic charming hotel in a great location - and you will fall in love with it as well.

Also the cleaning ladies are fearless! Ours killed a spider in our room without the bat of an eyelid!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights during my China trip. The room was nice, big and clean with all the mod cons. The hotel had a little courtyard outside the rooms which was really nice, but not as green as some other courtyards I had seen in some hotels but very nice still.

The best thing about the hotel is that it is right on the Ancient Jin Li Walking street which is a lovely pedestrian street with food stalls, bars, entertainment (puppet shows) etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We just came back from China and although Chengdu is really a great city, our stay at the Jinli Hotel (it's not a hostel!) was just one big disappointment. On the outside it looks like a nice authentic courtyard hotel, but in the rooms itself you'll just find cheap, fake wooden furniture, which seems to be rather old and/or broken. This would not have been a problem for us, but the fact that we had to change rooms 2 (TWO!) times, as the rooms were so extremely damp and moldy definitely was! The first room had a lot of mold - esp. in the bathroom- and when we mentioned this at the reception, the receptionist offered us another room, which we happily accepted. However, this room was also very damp, but we thought some fresh air might solve the problem. Wishful thinking! After spending the day in Chengdu and looking forward to a good night's sleep, we found out that the situation had not improved and that even the sheets were moldy and damp. Trying to get some sleep was almost impossible, as inhaling the air simply caused a burning feeling in your throat! I went back to the reception desk, but the girl didn't speak a word of English. The next morning we spoke to one of her colleagues on the phone and we immediately got another room... which was a bit moldy as well, but by far not as bad as the other rooms. Although the hotel is located in a nice area (Jinli old street -nice but very touristy- , Tibetan quarter) I am sure one can easily find better places to stay in Chengdu.

Room Tip: I guess you simply need to be lucky in order to get a decent room straight away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
Taicheng Hotel
#240 of 2,686 in Chengdu
46 reviews
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,686 in Chengdu
313 reviews
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#22 of 2,686 in Chengdu
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Temple House
#1 of 2,686 in Chengdu
462 reviews
Wuhouci
Jinli Home Hotel
Jinli Home Hotel
#24 of 557 in Chengdu
41 reviews
BuddhaZen Hotel
#15 of 2,686 in Chengdu
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinli Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinli Hostel

Property: Jinli Hostel
Address: No.231 Wuhouci Main Street, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Jinli Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing