We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Spot in Chengdu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BuddhaZen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BuddhaZen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 2,651 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Spot in Chengdu”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a budget/affordable hotel in Chengdu. The hotel is located a hutong of chinese stores so it's a bit tucked away and challenging to find(especially at night). The hotel is however very clean and has nice extras like calligraphy in the courtyard, women playing chinese instruments, etc. The rooms are also pretty modern(while still looking antique) and spacious.

The location is a bit far away from the main part of the city, it took us about 20-25 minutes in a cab to get to the bus depot. However, this means its much closer to the Pandas.

The staff is proficient in English and they are about as helpful as they can be. I would definitely stay here again.

Some advice: If arriving by taxi at night, be aware that you won't be able to get dropped off at the hotel and will have to walk about 100 yards to find the hotel, just look for signs. You might want to keep the telephone number of the hotel handy in case your cab driver needs to call for directions. The cab ride from the hotel should cost about 70Y and to see the Pandas, 35Y.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYCHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    254
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
138
250
64
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel interior including room was excellent, tastefully and practically furnished with a lot of character. Location is in a 'recreation zone' geared towards tourists, so lots of small shops and some simple restaurants; it is away from the traffic and quite peaceful at night. Some staff speak English, in general service was good. Breakfast (pretty good selection of Western and Chinese options) seems to be included for everyone, even if you bought a package where it's not! Hotel offers airport transfers for Y180, after some discussion they reluctantly agreed to transfer from railway station for a slightly expensive Y100. Hotel does not seem to arrange tours, they offer car and driver at Y2800 per day.

Room Tip: Room 208 is a deluxe class room, it is larger than average but has no balcony (unlike most other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy_gft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I had never been to CHina and was dreading the state I would be in after the long flight from London and the direct connection to CHengdu. The hotel had emailed that they would send someone to collect me from the airport, but would they? The temperature difference was going to be at least 20 degrees centigrade. I do not speak chinese. I was worried about it all and frankly I do not know why! Yes someone was there with my name in large letters, the reception staff was quick and friendly, they realised I was tired. My room was large, clean and very beautiful in mock authentic ancient chinese style. After a little rest and cleaning up I went in the streets nearby, the hotel is in an old part of town full of little street restaurants. The food was great. Went back to sleep the night and woke up refreshed and almost not jetlagged to a very nice almost continental breakfast.
Just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We really liked the hotel, the location was great in the historic area & the room was comforable & had everything we needed. The bed was one of the most comfortable we experienced in China & the shower large & powerful. Breakfast was decent for the hotel type. Be careful when it comes to dinner, the restaurant closes early on an evening & seemingly even more early if they are short on customers. We managed to miss out on dinner there 2 consecutive nights as a result of this. Our biggest dissapointment however was that we decided to treat ourselves to a chilled evening at the spa, booking a package where we each had the bath, sauna & massage experience. It was a disaster. The staff spoke virtually no English, were able to give us no instructions or direction, there was no actual sauna in the ladies section, & the massages were terrible, my other half is a big guy & his therapist seemed to think a good massage was to beat him to a pulp, despite him asking for less pressure, the therpists talked throughout & watched TV, I asked for the sound to be turned gown on the TV, that lasted for about 5 minutes. The experience certainly was not relaxing, maybe the Chinese spa concept is very different to the western one, but equally we felt as though our therapists though we were entertainment for them. This really marred our view of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRISHDRAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Although the hotel is apparently only 3 years old, it provides all the old world charm of a traditional chinese hotel as opposed to a 5 star chain hotel. We had a suite which was spacious and beautifully furnished. Wifi is free to use in the rooms. The prices for the mini bar, restaurant, and laundrey are sensible, unlike the prices charged in other hotels we stayed in, which were so expensive we simply did not use the facilities. However service in the restaurant can be slow and don't expect all the 5 star touches, as good as the hotel is. A table at breakfast in the air conditioned section can be hard to find; crockery is often chipped; and the air conditioning does struggle a bit in extreme heat. Also be warned there is no elevator (our suite was on the second floor) although a porter is available to carry bags to the rooms. Also cabs cannot draw up directly outside the hotel so you have to carry your own bags or ring the hotel once your have been dropped off. But these are small matters - overall this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolateloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Only got to stay here one night but it was very enjoyable. Very clean, nicely decorated rooms. Bathrooms fully outfitted with a nice shower, toiletries. Comfy large king bed. They had a musician playing in the lobby for most of the evening and you could sit in the lobby and enjoy it and relax. Did not try their food, and actually didn't get to try breakfast either (which is included) since our flight left too early. Front desk staff spoke good English and was very helpful. They helped us book Sichuan teahouse opera tickets, called us a morning cab, provided info as needed on the area. The location is in a pleasant touristy little area of alleys of shops and restaurants, for browsing. We actually ate dinner in the area and it was really good and reasonably priced. We did have some difficulty finding the place initially, which may have just been our cab-driver's fault as he didn't know exactly where the hotel address was and dropped us off in the area to wander a block or two and get people to tell us exactly where to go. The shops in the nearby area did close down by late evening, which actually worked out nicely as it ended up totally quiet and peaceful for sleeping. Overall, would definitely stay here again if we returned to Chengdu.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Buddha zen hotel is in a popular place in Chengdu.
Its hard to find it the first time but after you are in the location you find it easily.
The hotel have wifi only in the 1 floor.
The breakfast is poor.
The staff of the hotel speaks poor english and bad comunication.

But I think is the best option in the city.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerInAsia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,651 in Chengdu
264 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,651 in Chengdu
375 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#23 of 2,651 in Chengdu
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,651 in Chengdu
1,762 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,651 in Chengdu
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuddhaZen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuddhaZen Hotel

Property: BuddhaZen Hotel
Address: B6-6, Wenshufang Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#3 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BuddhaZen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your BuddhaZen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddhazen Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing