We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Traffic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traffic Inn
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was my first time to china so I spoke with the hostel via email a lot before arriving. Prior to arriving and after arriving the staff were amazing, really helpful and approachable. I really appreciate how much help they gave us. Room was adequate and shared bathrooms were good, food was excellent. Good location. Overall I was really impressed, after a month in china this was the best hostel I stayed at.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Traffic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I can't speak highly enough of this hostel. The staff are awesome especially Nicole, she came out with us a few times and was a great guide arund the city, also maing sure we always got home safely. The BBQ lunches were a real treat and a great way of meeting people. The rooms we very comfortable and extremely clean, as were the bathrooms. All "hang out" areas were kept clean and tidy too. The hostel has a warm atmosphere and the staff make you feel very welcome, the energy is great and this shows from how well travellers get on and make friends with one another.Its in a central location and very close to the bus stop. Would recommend everyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Either private rooms or dorm rooms are equally as good. I prefered staying in the building attached...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mika m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After volunteering in Chengdu for a month I spent my last night at the Traffic Inn. The hostel is in a great location right next to Xinnanmen bus station and Chunxi Road is about a 10 minute walk away. There was a problem with my booking but the reception staff were very friendly and it was sorted out straightaway. I stayed in a basic room with 2 single beds but it was very clean. I used the shared toilet facilities (which I normally don't like to do when I travel) but the toilet were clean - there was also 2 western toilets available. I ordered breakfast when I arrived which was tasty and quite cheap. I would definitely recommend staying at the Traffic Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ch1n1ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My family of 4 just returned from a 2 week visit to Chengdu. We stayed a total of 9 nights in 2 twin rooms with private bathrooms @ RMB 160 a room a night.

Rooms were basic but clean and came with usual toiletries ( toothbrush/paste; comb; body soap/shampoo; slippers - which were replenished everyday ). The bed mattress is rather hard though. Reception / service staff were pleasant and helpful.

What is important to us is the location -
(a) about 5 min walk to entrance of Xinanmen Bus station
(b) about 12 min walk to HuaXiBa metro (line 1 - exit C) station
(c) about 20 min walk to Carrefour supermarket (Daye Rd branch @ Fortune Plaza)
(d) about 30 min walk to Tianfu Sq
(e) many eating places in area surrounding hotel - our favorite is the dumplings (jiaozi) at a small eatery "Zhengzong Dongbei Jiaozi Wang" - food is good, cheap and popular with the locals. We ate our dinner here on most nights trying out different dishes each time with the jiaozi being our favorite. Location - from entrance of Traffic Inn, walk left and turn left on first road (@ Linjiang Lu). Walk till end of road and turn right. Walk about 60 m and you should see the shop's signboard (green with white wordings) on the opp side of road.

The reception staff of Traffic Inn assisted with the booking of our bus tickets from Chengdu to Jiuzhaigou (prior to our arrival) and the storing of our big luggage bags for our side trip to Jiuzhaigou.

We had a pleasant stay at Traffic Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple-lallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile


Traffic Inn has a great location on the river in Central Chengdu. They organise every trip within and outside Chengdu (or in Sichuan) imaginable and the prices seem very reasonable.
We booked the panda tour with them and were satisfied.

The staff are friendly but could be more proactive - e.g. You need to ask for maps, a city overview etc. instead of them telling you all of it by themselves when you arrive (like you expect in other hostels).
Compared to a lot of places, they speak good English.
There's a table tennis and pool table in the common area, which they have tried hard to make 'cool' and western - would say they've partly succeeded especially with English songs playing on the radio(?).

Food - they have continental options. We never tried them - when there's the city of Chengdu, food heaven, to explore for food why would you eat anything else.

People's Park, Tibetan Quarter, Jinli street are all 20-40 minutes walking or 10-15 yuan by taxi.

Overall a good vibe and would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chaitdesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a mis-communication with our hostel in Jiuzhaigou about which airport we were supposed to fly into, so we ended up in Chengdu as opposed to Jiuzhaigou. After grabbing a late dinner, my fiancee, her roommate and myself found that we were in a city we were totally unfamiliar with, had no means of getting to the hostel we had booked ourselves into (as it was a 10 hour bus ride away) and sorely in need of a place to stay.

We enlisted the help of a waitress at the place we had grabbed dinner, but each of the places she took us to insisted that I not sleep in the same room as my two female travelling companions, or would simply not permit foreigners to stay there. We ended up finding our way to the hotel that was adjacent to the Taffic Inn Hostel. The hotel charged more for a room that wasn't as nice and didn't have its own bathroom.

At this hostel we received a warm welcome, were permitted to all stay in the same room - one that even included its own shower and bathroom! The following morning we were pleased to find that they offered very tasty American style breakfasts, and the overall feeling of the place was quite comfortable. It was also right next to the bus station so we were able to immediately catch the first bus out the next morning to take us where we needed to go.

The staff were extremely pleasant, the food was good, the beds were comfortable and the shower was nice and hot through all three showers. My only regret is that we only stayed in Chengdu for one night, I would like to visit again, and when I do, the Traffic Inn Hostel will definitely be where I stay. For the price you cannot get better convenience or quality in a hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here and loved it. There is nothing I can complain about. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, staff was extremely friendly and spoke great English. They als had great place to eat and a great place to hang out, have a drink and play some pool. Would definately recommemd.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank TravelinMan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.6 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,714 in Chengdu
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,714 in Chengdu
567 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,714 in Chengdu
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#8 of 2,714 in Chengdu
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
#39 of 2,714 in Chengdu
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traffic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traffic Inn

Address: No.26 Desheng Road, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610041, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 341 Speciality Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range: £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Traffic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traffic Inn moved to a more central, cozier place after running the old one for six years. In this new location, we’d like to provide the best facilities with invariable superior services. All the Traffic Inners hold the motto “be candid group, be helpful guide, be local friends”, and we’d like welcoming all the travelers and backpackers to chillax in our new “home”. You hold the votes for us because we have several highlights:Highlight 1: TransportationWenshu Monastery: within 10 minutes walking. Wenshu Monastery is one of the most famous Buddhist temple in Chengdu, with more than one thousand years’ history. Around this historical spot, a Buddhist cultural pedestrian would be great attraction for most travelers.Tianfu Square is 2 metro stops awayRenmin Park is 3 bus stops awayChunxi Road is 4 bus stops awayGreen Ram Temple is 5 bus stops awayNorth Train Station is 2 metro stops awayEast Train Station is 9 metro stops awayXinnanmen Bus Station is 5 bus stops away, plus we provide free minivan every morning (7:00-7:30) to take you to Xinnanmen Bus StationHighlight 2: Local ServicesBig supermarket within 5 minutes walking (420 meter)Many banks and ATM within 5 minutes walking (260 meter)Famous 24 hours chain stores within 3 minutes walking (180 meter)Traditional prime food court within 10 minutes walking (850 meter)Traditional raw food market within 5 minutes walking (460 meter)Highlight 3: Facilities of Our HostelTraffic Inn is absolutely not a place only provide bed. We hope you feel free, comfortable, and homelike with us, we are eager to let you know us and other travelers from different countries, and we’d like to let all of our “family” members to become close friends.We have large amount of public space, including the roof terrace, relaxed music collection and atmosphere, quite sleeping room, western and eastern food options. Each of our rooms including dorm is with private shower, toilet and air-con. Free lockers provided in dorm and valuable stuff could be put in the lockers at the reception.Highlight 4: Recent FreebiesArriving free drink couponBuy two nights get one night free, will be ended on 31st Dec. 2014Free breakfast from 7:00 to 9:00, will be ended on 31st Dec. 2014Happy hour of free beers (from 20:00-21:00) on Monday, Thursday, FridayFree minivan to Xinnanmen Bus Station every morning (from 7:00-7:30)Buy drinks get free food every Saturday (from 18:00-20:00)Grilling night on a regular scheduleHighlight 5: Our ServicesFree travel info. of Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou, Tibet, etc.Free booking of hostels in other provincesFree WIFIFree HD movies (more than 600 movies for your choice)Free lockersFree pool tableFree table tennis (Ping Pong)Free luggage depositFree Chengdu mapFree libraryFree hair dryerFree clean linenFree electronic blanket provided in winterFree breakfastFree SKYPE international callFree 24-hours hot showerFree hot/cold drinking waterBike rental serviceScooter rental serviceLaundry serviceSichuanese Mahjong courseChinese cuisine courseHighlight 6: Trip OrganizeWE WILL HELP YOU TO JOIN OR FORM AN ITINERARY TO CUT DOWN YOUR TOUR PACKAGE PRICE TO TIBET!7 days Nepal via EBC8 days EBC & return 7 days Nepal overland 4 days Lhasa 698 CNY5 days Namtso 6 days Shigatse ★ Panda tour (98 CNY/person, Private Car)There are more than 20 pandas in Chengdu Panda Breeding Center. Those pandas don’t live in the cages, but are stocked in the mountains like their natural habitat. This price includes round trip transportation and entrance ticket.★ Yangtze River Cruise3 days and 4 days boat itinerary respectively. Definitely the lowest best deal you can find in town.★ Grand BuddhaWalk around this colossal statue from head to toe. Admire in full scale from boat view.★ Jiuzhaigou Valley & Huanglong park4 days by bus, or 3 days by plane. There are few shopping trips but you can't beat the price.★ Songpan Horse TrekIce Mountain woes horse riders with the purest of snows and clearest blue sky.★ Hailuogou GlacierThe youngest glacier in Asia, impressive as it is. Take a hot spring bath in all-nature-surroundings.★ Sichuan OperaSpit long-lasting fire, change face to green, red, and blue in a blink of eyes. Our Regulation:We only provide service to hostel-mania travelers.We only provide service to those eager to meet friends.We only provide service to those with eco-awarenessWe only provide service to those keen on best experience in ChengduP.S.: our check-in time is after 12:00 and check-out time is before 14:00, and our reception is open 24 hours all year round.We won’t emphasize our history in spite that we’ve been running for six years. We won’t emphasize our service in spite that we’ve been igniting our passion all year round. We won’t emphasize our location in spite that our new hostel locates in a marvelous block with gingko trees around. We won’t emphasize our cleanliness in spite that we treat each guest room as our home. We won’t emphasize our activities in spite that every event is full of our elaborate planning and devotion.We just want you to have true chillax in our hostel and have great fun in Chengdu.So we hope to see you soon and with you have a good journey in China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Traffic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing