We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
IPOH
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed a total of 6 nights in Lazybones. Hostel in good location as the Metro station “Luomasi” is across the road from the hostel. Tianfu Square [where the famous Mao statute is and just directly across the Square is the famous Kang Shef’s Beef Noodle Restaurant] is one stop away from Luomasi station. Wenshu Monastery complex is also 1 station stop away. Twin room at hostel was quite spacious. However, the air-con cum heater needs cleaning and servicing. The bathroom cum toilet smells rather musty due to the inefficient sewerage system – tried to use our fragrant room spray but this still did not work. Room floors are not cleaned daily – have to inform the reception if cleaning is required; the cleaners just clear the waste paper baskets and replenish the towels daily. Room 203 has water marks on the wall while in Room 213 the window insect screen was torn. Certainly some upkeep and maintenance are required. If you are using the hostel’s computer to surf the internet, it can quite slow; hostel charges 1RMB per 10 minutes. There is a nice and cosy cafe which serves western and local food; quite crowded late at night with players at the snooker table in the cafe. Did not have the opportunity to try the tours from the hostel as all the tour coach drivers in Chengdu were on strike when we were there. One plus side for the hostel is the availability of free hot or cold water from dispensers placed on certain floors. On the whole the staff at the reception was friendly and can understand or converse in English.

Room Tip: Between a twin room and a double room, choose the twin which much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller007Ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    110
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
65
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at this hostel because of all the great reviews. The location of Lazy Bones is quite good, directly across from the metro. We got a private room for 2 (170rmb) but the room had no internet. The feeling we got from this place is Lazy Bones is more about making money rather than helping with the travelers experience. It seems that there was an extra charge for everything at this place. There are many hotels in the area 3X better for about 10rmb more. I recommend exploring for better options if you are staying for more than a couple of nights.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GetupEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Enjoyed my stay at this hostel very much. Centrally located in Chengdu and across the street from Loumashi metro station exit A. With the metro its easy to get practically anywhere in the city. The hostel is quite nice and staffs are very friendly and spoke English well. Large common area to hang out and meet people if you want; great atmosphere. Rooms are very large and clean and comfortable, even though they are outdated. The food was good and not expensive. From the airport take shuttle bus 2 then metro. Free wifi but the charge for computer, not expensive but VERY slow. Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hostel; comfortable and nice atmosphere. Very friendly and incredibly helpful staff, good food at a reasonable price and clean. Best hostel in China I stayed in by far. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I just returned from staying 2 nights at Lazy Bones Hotel in Chengdu. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay! The staff were all very helpful and spoke English well. They were quick to help with directions to places in Chengdu and offer free tourist maps of the city. All of the rooms were non-smoking, which was VERY nice! They have a designated smoking area that is outside so, in my opinion, none of the rooms reeked of cigarette smoke. The food at the hostel was quite good and well priced. The location is great being directly across the street from the Luo Ma Shi subway station. To get to most of the interesting parts of Chengdu, all you need to do is cross the street and use the subway, which is cheap and easy to use.

I stayed in a private double room which was very clean and well priced. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at Lazy Bones and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I went there with my family of 5. We booked 2 rooms (double and triple). I loved the place and my parents had their backpacker cherry popped when we stayed there in 2011. The location was pretty good, especially with the train station just a couple of steps away. The rooms were comfortable and the people were friendly. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The location of the hostel couldent be any better. It is just a 5 minutes walk from Tianfu Square and directly across from the metro station. The staff were kind and helpful, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. There is a nice patio as well behind the glassed in restaurant. I would recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Chengdu.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy28104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,701 in Chengdu
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,701 in Chengdu
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
#25 of 2,701 in Chengdu
800 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chengdu Lazybones Hostel Templeside Poshpacker (Wenshuyuan)
1.4 mi away
Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel

Property: Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel
Address: No.16 Yangshi Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610015, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 338 Speciality Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally and centrally located across the street to "Luomashi Metro Station" and also 8 minutes walk from city's central square "Tianfu Square" with walking distance to "People's Park", "Wide Lane" and "Wenshu Monastery". Vintage vibe, traveler's lounge, pool table, cultural activities are the highlights of Chengdu Lazybones Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chengdu Lazy Bones Backpackers Boutique Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing