We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hakka charm in Luodai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luodai Ancient Town

Luodai Ancient Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.66*
and up
Private Custom Chengdu Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #17 of 340 things to do in Chengdu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luodai is an ancient town just outside Chungdu. The buildings date back to the 1600's. The main street is 1km long with ancient buildings on either side containing shops, craftsmen and restaurants. There are a number of dress and costume shops where people dress up to have their photo taken. It is easy to reach by either bus or taxi from Chengdu. The journey is c. 20km and takes about 45-60 mins. On a Sunday it is busy with local torists. Many of the shops and street vendors are of the native Hakka tribe. Well worth a visit for half a day.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Hakka charm in Luodai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had some time and energy to kill, so we went for a half-day visit to Luodai, 45 minutes east of Chengdu. Easy to get to – frequent buses, leave when they are almost full, fare was 7RMB per person one way from Chengdu Xinnanmen Passenger Station.

The main street of Luodai Ancient Town may have sort of a fun-fair atmosphere. However, what stands out is that Luodai Ancient Town has an impressive collection of Hakka guildhalls with traditional Hakka architecture. My first impression was that these guildhalls (and some of the other structures) are OLD! These beautiful guildhalls looked like they have undergone some maintenance works but their original state has been preserved. They have large courtyards, enormous halls and wonderfully flamboyant arching roofs stretching in layers. Don’t miss visiting the Hubei Hunan (Huguang) Guildhall which houses the Sichuan Hakka Museum (free entry). Randeng Temple in the vicinity is also worth a visit.

Luodai is also known for its Hakka dishes and snacks. There were many food stands that attract customers with various kinds of snacks. We saw farmers from the nearby countryside selling fresh vegetables and fruit in baskets by the road; and street vendors peddling food items and other wares in a traditional manner (balancing two baskets attached to each end of a wooden/bamboo carrying pole on the shoulders).

It is surely interesting to deviate from the main street as you never know what you may see. Wandering and snooping around the back streets and side alleys, we found the local market (though it was closed at the time in the afternoon); teahouses with wicker chairs and wooden tables in Luodai Park where locals were engrossed in their games of Mahjong and cards; and shops that cater to the locals and not tourists. The ‘real’Luodai is a big contrast to the fancy and well-kept ‘touristy’ Luodai!

Personally, we found Luodai with its historical Hakka guildhalls to be more authenthic than Jinli Ancient Street and Kuanzhaixiangzi. It is nearby enough and makes an interesting half-day outing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lunarJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    109
    57
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Tourist trap with 1km of souvenir shops. maybe one square with buildings from 1800 was okay, but I wouldnt really call it ancient.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kattefar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go to the Mini Great Wall before the Luodai Ancient Town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

To go Luodai, take Line 2 subway and get off at Ta Zi Shan Gong Yuan station, take tutu/cab to Wu Gui Qiao bus station (or you can walk if you know the way). Take public bus number 219, ticket is RMB 3 per person and get down at the bus stop just outside Luodai Ancient Town (you won't miss as it is the last stop). Try to get a seat as the journey is about 45 minutes. If you are interested to hike, take a cab to Mini Great Wall first, before you walk around the Luodai Ancient Town as you need more energy to climb those stairs. The entrance fee for Mini Great Wall is RMB5 per person.

You can see that there are lots of tourist at Luodai Ancient town, you can get the chance to taste some local delicacies, silk stalls, souvenirs and the price are reasonable. I also noticed that this Ancient Town got lots of stalls for youngster and teenagers whereby you will see few "fun fair" stalls (where you can try your hand at throwing a ball and winning something), "haunted house", stall where you can rent those ancient clothing to take picture with and other foods & souvenirs stalls. If you are tired of walking, you can hire a "rickshaw" ride.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Wall Hiking - Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

It was nice weekend trip for us along with my local friends and some from other countries too. We went to Luo dai from Chengdu local Bus station. Ticket rate is 7 RMB/person to luodai, Good buses. Reached in around 40 mins.

After that we boarded a taxi to Great Wall officially known as Golden dragon great wall for hiking.
It’s a historical place, ticket price 5 RMB/person. Then we started hiking to great wall, it took us 40 mins to reach on top, 5th stop.
As you go on top of wall, you will enjoy more and more natural beauty. It was awesome experience, to enjoy cool breeze at top.
You can buy souvenirs from local shops at every stop, I preferred to buy at last stop. Then we came back to down in 20 mins.

Then we moved to Luodai Ancient town, it is also very good and historical place. Here you can get good souvenirs in reasonable rate and can taste many variety of local foods.
In evening time we came back to Chengdu.
Overall nice experience for weekend trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank uttamkumar r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,231 reviews
723 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 779 helpful votes
“Fine for silk souvenirs if close but not worth the trip if far”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hotel I was staying at for business is only about 10-15 mins drive so it is fine to come here for some silk scarve souvenirs. Ensure you have enough local currency as you will be stuck to find anyone to exchange your foreign money or even accept credit card.

I would have ended up buying heaps more if they had accepted credit card as wanted to get some silk PJs, tops, slips, scarves etc. The prices I was told are much better and items are cheaper here than in Chengdu city itself.

There are heaps of stalls selling some very unusual food items but I wouldn't end up trying any as there's heaps of flies or bugs. I wanted to take some photos but was told by the local that was with me that "it is against the law", by "law", he means the owner will not permit it. There are heaps of the stalls that sell the same stuff. There are also stalls that look like make-shift ones where you can try your hand at throwing a ball and winning something. There's also stalls where you can "hire" costumes and take photos.

If you are too lazy to walk the length from top to bottom or one end to the other, you can always pay for a "rickshaw" ride.

This place is very touristy (made to look ancient for the tourist) but it is something to do. I wouldn't spend a day coming here if I hadn't stayed at the hotel I was in. It wasn't crowded when I came here and it took me an hour to walk from one end to the other which included me going into 4 shops spending time shopping and buying stuff from these shops as well. Doesn't take much time at all. After a while, there's nothing interesting to see or buy, all the same junk tourists buy except for silk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luodai Ancient Town also viewed

 

Been to Luodai Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing