We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mr.Panda Youth Hostel
Ranked #43 of 338 Speciality Lodging in Chengdu
Duncan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay! ”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Mr.Panda hostel. The staff helped us a lot, especially considering no one else in chengdu speaks English!
The place had a great atmosphere, and the rooms were nice and comfortable
Everything was clean and well managed
Food was really good, especially the green beans!
They helped us book trains and tours
Nothing bad to say about this place!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinlroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    35
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
17
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed at this hostel for three nights. We booked two family rooms for four adults and four kids. Children aged 7 -13. All of us loved it especially the children. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy.
This is my first time in a hostel but it beat many of the hotels I have stayed in. This hostel has its own bar, which served a good selection of spirits and beer, at very reasonable prices. We also ate in the hostel one night and the food was fantastic.
Could not have asked for better, we will return and recommend to all our friends who will want to visit Chengdu from Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed as family for two nights. Room clean tidy and very cheap. Staff really helpful and friendly spoke very good English. This hostel is better than many hotels twice the price. Central location and staff alway able to help organise tours or taxis e.g. To see pandas

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Certainly one of the better hostels I have experienced in China. I stayed in a private single room.

Pros:
• Large bed, very comfortable room.
• Constant hot water
• Wifi was particularly strong (for Chinese standards)
• Hostel food was good
• Fantastic touring information
• I went with the hostels Sichuan opera and Panda Base tours. Perhaps slightly more expensive than elsewhere, but the convenience certainly outweighs that.
• Staff were extremely friendly and super helpful with tips etc.
• Location - very central, close to metro, easy to find.

Cons:
• While I had a private bathroom, sometimes on the ground floor I used the shared bathrooms which were quite filthy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival our twin room, ensuite was damp and smelt mouldy. One bed had a few pubic hair scattered across it. The rooms are very basic and some plug sockets do not work. The showers can be hot or cold depending on how many people are in the hostel. We switched rooms after 2 nights because the stench of damp just wouldn't go away despite different attempts to 'air' the room out. Internet speed varies but mainly it is frustratingly slow.
There weren't too many fellow backpackers in the hostel, so atmosphere was lacking at times. Staff are friendly but they gave us conflicting information on different tours. They weren't overly keen to give us information on public transport to tourist destinations either. The food and drinks are cheap and on Tuesday local hotpot is free. The location is good and it's only 30 yuan to hire a bike for the day which is brilliant as the maps provided gave us clear directions to 'touristy spots' in the city. Overall, it's ok. But we've had better experiences elsewhere.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

very basic but fairly clean for hostel in China. They even provide towels and a hair dryer. You need to bring your own soap though. Staff were great and very helpful. They speak very good English. There is a small bar that offers drinks to good prices. It is a great place for young people

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaSie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This would have been one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in if it would have been cleaner. Due to the humid climate the place is covered in mold. They simply tried to paint over it.
In terms of price and service it's great. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Don't get room 205. It's above the kitchen and gets all the smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerVornehmeHerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.5 mi away
Chengdu Flipflop Lounge Hostel
1.7 mi away
Chengdu Mrs Panda Hostel
Chengdu Mrs Panda Hostel
#1 of 558 in Chengdu
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,701 in Chengdu
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#6 of 2,701 in Chengdu
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,701 in Chengdu
523 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ascott Raffles City Chengdu
Ascott Raffles City Chengdu
#13 of 2,701 in Chengdu
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr.Panda Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr.Panda Youth Hostel

Property: Mr.Panda Youth Hostel
Address: No.107 Zhengfu Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610000, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 338 Speciality Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mr.Panda Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing