We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Chengdu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mr.Panda Youth Hostel
Ranked #50 of 419 Speciality Lodging in Chengdu
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The guy known as Mr. Panda is amazing. He helped us out a great deal, but so did all the other staff members! The lounge area has a nice atmosphere, nice to chill out there with other travelers and have a few beers.

Wifi was reliable, rooms were ok, and I'd say that this hostel is great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mikvaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in this hostel and were impressed with how nice and helpful the staff were. They spoke good English and were able to book us a tour to the panda base the next day. Unfortunately the chef was away so that meant we could not eat at the hostel which was a little annoying but it couldn't be helped. The location is good for transportation links with a station nearby. There is also a good convenience store up the road which proved useful. The bed was hard but all beds seem to be in china. It was a good size though. The wifi again is good for hostel standards so that meant we could access the internet in our rooms. The downside was there was a man who was downstairs a lot, I presume the owner, who was constantly trying to sell us stuff. He seemed to think we were oblivious to his indirect offerings of help to book elaborate trips. It was ok at first but it became awkward when he kept doing it. Other than that though it was a good hostel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Easy to find if you follow the instructions, the hostel is well situated, near the subway, not too far from the bus station, you can easily take the bus to Leshan or Eimeishan . The stall is fantastic very helpful and speak good English. One of the staff even use her credit card to facility my transaction with China Airline. There is possibility to get cold beers and cooked food, but I would not recommend it . We had the opportunity to make damping and eat them this was organised for free by the owner. There is a lot of books, TV with movie, but it is quiet after 22 hours. There is few little rooms were you can seat and enjoy the company of people and have a drink cocktail are available for only a couple of Euro. The dormitory has mixed 4 beds, nice sleep, the only problem is that 2 of the 4 lockers were Brocken , so first arrived , first served. The shower and the toilet were clean, and plenty hot water.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gheefrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great location,great service.great atmosphere! Their are many local food at the street . We joined panda breeding base tour , it's awesome ! Also the hostel is nearby the metro station , it's easy to find it , I recommend it to everyone !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff were most helpful and spoke English. The restaurant next door cooks great snacks that look like thick pacakes. We made dumplings for the Friday night special. They organised the Panda Tour which was first class though I didn't see any cubs. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Mr.Panda hostel. The staff helped us a lot, especially considering no one else in chengdu speaks English!
The place had a great atmosphere, and the rooms were nice and comfortable
Everything was clean and well managed
Food was really good, especially the green beans!
They helped us book trains and tours
Nothing bad to say about this place!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Erinlroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed at this hostel for three nights. We booked two family rooms for four adults and four kids. Children aged 7 -13. All of us loved it especially the children. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy.
This is my first time in a hostel but it beat many of the hotels I have stayed in. This hostel has its own bar, which served a good selection of spirits and beer, at very reasonable prices. We also ate in the hostel one night and the food was fantastic.
Could not have asked for better, we will return and recommend to all our friends who will want to visit Chengdu from Shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#14 of 2,790 in Chengdu
401 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#11 of 2,790 in Chengdu
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#1 of 2,790 in Chengdu
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#2 of 2,790 in Chengdu
634 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#12 of 2,790 in Chengdu
2,236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#35 of 2,790 in Chengdu
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr.Panda Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr.Panda Youth Hostel

Address: No.107 Zhengfu Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610000, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 419 Speciality Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range: £10 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mr.Panda Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing