We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place”
Review of The Bookworm

The Bookworm
Ranked #18 of 3,120 Restaurants in Chengdu
Price range: US$9 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Cash Only, Serves Alcohol
Description: It’s easy to see why The Bookworm is such a hit among both locals and foreigners in Chengdu; where else can you spend savouring fabulous international food, browsing thousands of books, sipping good espresso, being regaled by eminent authors, catching up with friends over your favourite meal, or simply just checking your emails? The spacious, interconnecting rooms with floor-to-ceiling books on every wall are light and airy in summer, yet cosy and snug in winter.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favourite place”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Visiting or living in Chengdu Demands a visit to the Bookworm. It is one of the best places in the world to just sit and relax, meet friends, eat, drink beer, watch live music or even buy books!
In the year I lived in Chengdu I spent a lot of time at the Bookworm. The owners were always great fun to be with, and the staff, once you got to know them, were very helpful. Many of the staff are volunteers looking for work experience and a chance to practice English.
Sometimes I went for coffee, sometimes for beer!
I will never forget the intimacy of the ex-pat community at Bookworm on Chinese New Years Eve - a life event to dine on. I'm looking forward to a return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PPMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    15
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great place to chill out”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I didn't eat here as I thought the food was average and overpriced but never the less a great place to have a quiet drink or coffee/tea etc. Also a great place for music and quizzes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RHStracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A different experience in Chengdu”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Having experienced the spice levels at a local restaurant, for our final evening we went to the Bookworm for a change of scene. The setting is quaint and the string quartet entertainment was a great touch. The service was good, food good and overall the change of pace made for a very enjoyable evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank zathras777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
370 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm within Chengdu - great ambience & comfort food”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The bookworm is an oasis of calm within chengdu. A large area with comfortable seats surrounded by a huge selection of books (for both purchase plus borrowing if you join the bookworm club). A great relaxed ambience with comfort food available if required. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu
1 review
“Nice place to go and read - but best stick to the local food in Chengdu”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Lovely vibe and lots of great books. The food was disappointing especially the hummus and crudités. the veggies were not fresh. The cherry tomatoes were ancient, i asked for fresh ones, but the replacements were just as bad. The olives were straight from a can, and there was only two of them. Hummus was odd tasting. Lasagne and pizza were a hit with the kids, though. Coffee was okay. Expensive. Nice atmosphere, but the chairs were uncomfortable if you sat for too long and couches didnt look very good to sit on either.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bookworm also viewed

 

Been to The Bookworm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing