We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly Clean and Very Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Ranked #31 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We usually stay at the Holiday Inn at Gulou, but we decided to drop a little more cash and upgrade to the basic suite at the Oriental Plaza. We are glad we did!

Separate bedroom from the living room, walk-thru closet, two bathrooms, tub, separate shower, two t.v.'s, desk, and a couch that isn't a pull out - to our dismay. Except for the couch, everything else was made a delight for our stay.

Good roomservice with a decent amount of choices if you are feeling a bit lazy. Taxi's wait directly out front to take you anywhere you want to battle the nasty traffic.

I will upload a photo of the picture that you should show the cab driver once you arrive at the airport or train/bus station - they should be able to take you directly to the hotel with it. Print it out before you travel.

Cheers-

Room Tip: If you have kids, get a suite. The smaller of the two suites is still gigantic.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happiestbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear guest, welcome to Holiday Inn Oriental Plaza and thank you for your comments. Hope you have a nice stay in our hotel. We'll provide more professional service to all guests. "Stay Real, Stay You! " is highly appreciated in Holiday Inn. Looking forward your next stay in our hotel! And Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Comfortable with reasonable price, customers must use key card in lift. Comfort pillow and bed. breakfast very good. room is clean and good location. Oh..Restroom is see truth mirror. (Good for lover)but quite shame for friends if share room.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anyamagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear guest, welcome to Holiday Inn Oriental Plaza and thank you for your prompt reply. Hope you have a nice stay in Chengdu. We'll provide more professional service to all guests. LStay Real, Stay You! Looking forward your next stay in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Arrived rather late at night to check in the hotel. There were some rate changes which I was too tired to bother to ask the receptionist. Assigned to room #1706 and found out it was just beside the elevator. The room is new and looked pleasant. Room has only one partial window and there is no view except just housings. Bath towel rack and bathroom floor were very dusty throughout my stay! Shower area door unable to keep out water and bathroom floor will always be wet after shower which is annoying. Poor air con ventilation results in warm room despite being the winter season. They have very comfortable pillows, beds and complimentary wifi in the rooms.

I found it strange whereby during breakfast staff doesn't show you to your table after taking your room number. My first day of breakfast ended up that I had too look for an empty table myself. In the end a manager showed me to an unoccupied table. Staffs in Cafe C probably needs to pay more attention to guest as most of them will not spot plates that needed to be cleared. Nice fair spread of buffet breakfast.

The subway is just next to the hotel and this made travelling easier. Taxi ride to Chunxi road is about 5 to 10 mins depending on traffic conditions. You can easily walk down to Chunxi road from the hotel. Overall stay was average but I do hope to see improvements during my next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OriginalAngryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear guest,
We appreciate your time and comments about your stay at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza.
As you have noticed that Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza enjoys good locations, convenient transpotation, confortable pillow, pleasant buffet breakfast and so on, but you may not pleased with the room allocated for you and the service the staffs provided.
To ensure a confortable rest for our distinguished guests, all the rooms are kept below 70 dbs. We apolagize that you have been disturded in the room next to the elevator. Please drop us a note if you ever visit Chengdu again! You will have a silent and comfortable stay and received a guest-forcus servive!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel opened this year and since then I have stayed there at least over twenty time due to business travel. The hotel is nicely decorated and so are the rooms. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Unfortunately, there is no much view from the window due to its location in a CBD. Most of the times, I got upgraded to executive floors and I receive a welcome fruit plate and welcome drink vouchers for the lobby bar due to my membership. The executive rooms are actually same as the superior rooms except the rooms are located at the upper floors and you have access to the executive lounge. The free wifi in the rooms works well and the big LCD TV is a plus. The breakfast buffet has a very good selection and is delicious. The second floor Chinese restaurant is definitely over-priced and not recommended. Most of the times, it is empty. For dinner I can recommend the dinner buffet at the cafeteria with some good Sichuan food or order by the menu. The executive lounge is quite good, with limited but delicious selections at afternoon tea and Happy Hour in the evening. It is quite relaxing up there as there are not so many people using it. The swimming pool and the gym are well equipped and good. They even have free bottled water ready. However, there are some management and service issues, which got improved a bit over the time. One time I found the floor of my bathroom quite dirty despite it being cleaned and checked by a supervisor. Some staff at the cafeteria definitely needs some training about service: for example when I got a table at breakfast, some other guest will occupy it when I left the table for buffet.The location is not that great. In fact nearby there are old buildings, an office tower and a closed furniture mall. The hotel is located 20 minutes by car from Chunxi lu and 15 minutes walking distance to Lan Kwai Fong, a bar and restaurant street next to a river. The biggest issue: it is very difficult to get a taxi. However, there is a metro station nearby. Overall, my stays have been pleasant and I will come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crobbie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here 4 nights with extended family. Comfortable and spotless rooms with really comfortable beds (not rock hard which is often the case in China). Great breakfasts with lots of choice. Also had a snack here in the evening which was good.
Great location near the River restaurant, Shangri La towers offices and restaurants, Lan Kwai Fong bar area and 5-10 minutes drive from shopping streets and Renmin square (easy to get taxis) Right next to metro too.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsiaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My son and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Oriental Plaza. As a platinum redeeming rewards points, we were given an upgraded room on the executive floor (which includes up to RMB50 laundry service; free drinks in the club lounge, and 4pm late check out).
The night before we stayed at the Holiday Inn Century City West. While we had no problems at the Oriental Plaza, the service at Century City was much better. The breakfast buffet was good, but not as full as the Century City. One major advantage of Oriental Plaza is location- it's right by a subway station downtown. Also, it has a heated indoor pool that my son spent most of our stay in. It's 1.4m deep so perfect for him.
One of the few drawbacks was the bathroom- the lock didn't latch and there's a huge window between the shower and main bedroom. You can pull a curtain down on the bedroom side, but if you're in the shower, anyone in the room could just pull up the curtain. Also, the room was warm- no matter how I adjusted the thermostat, it always stayed just too warm.
Overall I'd recommend the hotel, but it took 15,000 points. The Century City is a much better hotel and only takes 10,000.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank js96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Very good location, add the entrance of subway line 2. New hotel, very good breakfast (sushi, noodle station and eggs station, fresh fruits and vegetables, all kinds of bread, good coffee), nicely appointed rooms with modern bathroom.

Nice executive lounge, with choice of snacks (sushi, pasta, spring rolls and pastries) and drinks (beer, wine, softdrinks) in the evening, from 18.30pm to 21pm. Well worth the extra money.

Reception staff could be more client oriented, and availability of maps in English would also be an improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brusselslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center
1.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,714 in Chengdu
346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,714 in Chengdu
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza

Address: No.231 Zhiquanduan,East Avenue | Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610061, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: £52 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the stylish, contemporary Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza to relaxing and enjoying your lifeConveniently located at Zhiquan Duan, East Avenue, Chengdu Financial Centre and 19 km from Shuangliu International Airport. We are close to Yan Shi Kou Commercial Centre and Chun Xi Lu Shopping Street, within 5 minutes driving. Lai Kwai Fong and Jiu Yan Qiao Street , the city bar street, are 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Commute easily to other parts of the city, such as Wuhou Temple, Kuanzhai Alley and Du Fu Thatched Cottage with the nearby No.2 Metro, which takes only 30 seconds to get there from hotel Porte Cohere or readily available taxis in the district.Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s guestrooms all feature flat-screen televisions, satellite channels, work desks with ergonomic seats and high-speed Internet access. Let our Business Centre support all your secretarial needs with print, fax, copy, email and IT services. With one function room and three meeting rooms, banquets team can customize our facilities to suit your event’s needs, whether it is a boardroom meeting, intimate champagne reception or special wedding dinner.Renew your body with a workout or swim in Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s modern Fitness Centre. Indulge your appetite in our master chef’s finest creations at Jinjiang Chinese Restaurant or in our all-day dining - Cafe C and room service. Treat yourself to an afternoon tea or evening cocktail at hotel lobby lounge.Make Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza your first choice in your next trip to Chengdu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing