We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Ranked #33 of 2,790 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay at this hotel. I was booked here by my employer and didn't expect much from a Holiday Inn. I may have to re-visit by prejudices. This, however, was a terrific hotel. I have stayed at lots of hotels in China over the years and this right up near the top. The room was well designed for a business trip (possibly a couple would have been a bit cramped. Aside from the bed -- which was huge -- horizontal spaces were on the small side. There was a coffee table. It was small. There was desk space. It was small. There was a built-in ledge for suitcases. It was small -- too small to open my admittedly large clam-shell suitcase. The bathroom (shower only) was excellent. The bed was comfortable. The room was quiet. The wifi worked (as well as internet connections can work in China) and there was a wired connection if you preferred one. Tissue test? Check. There was a box of tissues. Shaving mirror test? Check. They had one. Plentiful complimentary bottled water? Check. Breakfast was good (full range of Chinese breakfast dishes, of course, but also Japanese and America. Egg station -- good omelet, waffle station -- complete with whipped cream and berries, proper American-style bacon cooked fresh for you if that's what you want. Large selection of breads and pastries that won't threaten bakers in France or Denmark, but were a welcome reprieve from steamed buns and congee). Staff helpful. Check-in and check-out were both quick. Although many staff don't speak English, they would always find one who did. When I asked the concierge for some local directions he came outside with me and literally pointed me on my way. Complaints? So minor as to be irrelevant. Could have used a couple more hangers. When I was there the hotel was hosting lots of kids -- perhaps a school group? --so there were lots of ten year olds in the breakfast room. There were also several families with young children. All were very well-behaved, but it did rather clog the breakfast queue if you were in a hurry. And as others have commented, the room thermostat really doesn't do anything (a common trait in many hotels in China. Perhaps it's government policy?) Would I stay again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Sleepysteve

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future.

Thank you!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March. The room was very nice, modern, clean, all the basics were available and wifi was free of charge in room and lobby. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Staff were all very helpful, especially Mr A. Tian.
The location is good, just a few steps away from the Metro station.
Would definitely stayed here again when I next visit Chengdu.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolukolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Kolukolu

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This fairly new hotel located right on the metro station, there's nothing much to do near the hotel but the transportation nearby is convenient enough(Took metro from Chengdu East Railway station to here and from the hotel to 80% of other touring places). As a platinum member, I got free room upgrade to executive floor with free breakfast. The room is little bit small but it's comfy enough for a couple to stay. All rooms are facing the opposite side of the street so the noise is minimized. It's cold in December in Chengdu, so we had to keep the A/C running during the night. The room air got extremely dry, both of us woke up during sleep and I got nose bleed due to dryness. The hotel doesn't provide humidifier and it'd be really nice to have one during winter. When the A/C's off, there's still air flowing into the room with smoke from other rooms (could be just my room), there's no way to turn the fan completely off even by maintenance staff.
There are huge selections in breakfast but the service needs a lot of improvement. We had lamb chops the last day of breakfast even. Staffs wouldn't provide any coffee/tea without asking and seems they only care of taking finished plates from you.
I'd return to this hotel if it's not winter.

Room Tip: If you like authentic local food, go into the residents area behind the hotel, there's tons of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed three weeks in this hotel for leisure. While we had some complaints at the beginning, hotel staff tried their best to meet our needs and to make our stay nice and pleasant. The hotel is close to the city center and public transport (both bus and subway) is at doorstep. The breakfast is one of the best we have experienced, with so many varieties and high quality. The happy hour at the executive lounge is also great and staff were able to meet our demands to make it better. Hotel staff are very friendly and proud to work in the hotel.
We have enjoyed very much our stay in Holiday Inn Oriental Plaza Chengdu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanbao_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here the last night of a two week winter visit to Chengdu. The hotel is centrally located, clean, and apparently well-maintained. The room was adequate size, heating and hot water were plentiful, the bed was comfortable, and on the 12th floor street noise was minimal. Internet service was fast and reliable, and Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. The room also featured a large flat-screen TV which I did not use. A bakery, a couple of liquor stores, and several mini-marts and convenience stores are located just across the river. Having spent six nights at a monastery prior to my arrival at Holiday Inn, I found the choices at the breakfast buffet somewhat overwhelming. All tastes and interests are seemingly accommodated. Staff was friendly and helpful, except on one occasion. I asked about visiting the nearby Daci temple. I had plotted the route via Google maps but asked for confirmation from the front desk. Of the two women I spoke with, neither could find the hotel on a city map. They had to get out a hotel-printed map in order to do so. They also could not tell me the best walking route to the temple (which requires after exiting the hotel one right and one left turn). And on top of that, a male employee who joined our conversation informed me the temple was closed, which in fact it was not. Parts of it were shuttered for construction, but the temple was quite active. I even had lunch there. It's only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and makes a nice break on the way to shopping arcade.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheloniousRinpoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Room is very new and the communication is very convention,The subway station is right at the door stepthe fd staff is warmth .I am happy with its location. The rooms were very tidy! Breakfast is amazing.I like this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhou I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

the service of this hotel was definitely thoughtful and warm. the room I stayed is also very comfortable, the condition of the room is great, too. the manager is very kind and responsible. i will definitely choose to stay in this hotel while my next trip in Chengdu.

Room Tip: Club Lounge is a good place you can chat with friend, and the staff also is helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#14 of 2,790 in Chengdu
401 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
0.4 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza

Address: No.231 Zhiquanduan,East Avenue | Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610061, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 2,790 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the stylish, contemporary Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza to relaxing and enjoying your lifeConveniently located at Zhiquan Duan, East Avenue, Chengdu Financial Centre and 19 km from Shuangliu International Airport. We are close to Yan Shi Kou Commercial Centre and Chun Xi Lu Shopping Street, within 5 minutes driving. Lai Kwai Fong and Jiu Yan Qiao Street , the city bar street, are 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Commute easily to other parts of the city, such as Wuhou Temple, Kuanzhai Alley and Du Fu Thatched Cottage with the nearby No.2 Metro, which takes only 30 seconds to get there from hotel Porte Cohere or readily available taxis in the district.Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s guestrooms all feature flat-screen televisions, satellite channels, work desks with ergonomic seats and high-speed Internet access. Let our Business Centre support all your secretarial needs with print, fax, copy, email and IT services. With one function room and three meeting rooms, banquets team can customize our facilities to suit your event’s needs, whether it is a boardroom meeting, intimate champagne reception or special wedding dinner.Renew your body with a workout or swim in Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s modern Fitness Centre. Indulge your appetite in our master chef’s finest creations at Jinjiang Chinese Restaurant or in our all-day dining - Cafe C and room service. Treat yourself to an afternoon tea or evening cocktail at hotel lobby lounge.Make Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza your first choice in your next trip to Chengdu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing