We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run-down property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
California Garden Hotel
Ranked #751 of 2,747 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a convention (which was held in the same hotel), very long walking distances between different hotel towers, meeting rooms and ballroom, very bad breakfast, terrible service attitude of personnel, carpets dirty. Strangely enough, friendliness and competence of hotel car driver and cleaning staff was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECR1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

Stayed here for a night visiting Chengdu. The breakfast spread was excellent, the rooms were comfortable with tea maker and other facilities. However the rooms that we were given entailed a long trudge through several halls and floors! Location, however was great and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

The location for this hotel was not what i expected, chengdu is a large city, but this location was not central. The hotel was advertised as a four and five star hotel, but would not pass as a 2 star once you get past the lobby, it is too large for its own good and the quality of the building, rooms and location is not what you expect from a 4/5 star hotel. Unfortunately there is no option of a non smoking room in the 4 star side of the hotel and so you need to pay for the five star side for a fresh smelling room. The room was a good size compared to other asian travels ie HK. however getting to the hotel was slightly difficuly by taxi as the Chengdu airport offer no real help to tourists in providing infomation and maps. You will need to book thru an agent website as there is no website dedicated to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank matt1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

I stayed here for a conference that my husband had. We stayed at the VIP tower. That is the 5 star part of the hotel. When I entered to the room I was amazed. The room was big, with a good view of the city, two queen beds, 42 in plasma TV, bathtub and a shower (separately). Because we were staying at the VIP tower we had free breakfast. We pay about $12X , very cheap considering that was a 5 star hotel. It was in a very convenient place, although it was like one hour from the airport. Be prepared, very few staff members know english, that is a challenge. Before you take a cab, be sure that you have write down all the places name in chinese, otherwise you will have a hard time trying to get where you want to go, either your hotel. Go to the Panda Research Center. That was a very good experience. Also, go to the Irrigation Project, but be careful, the bus is not a very good idea.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kariluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAO169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank ねっこん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank めろんちゃん2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,747 in Chengdu
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#7 of 2,747 in Chengdu
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,747 in Chengdu
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,747 in Chengdu
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#34 of 2,747 in Chengdu
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,747 in Chengdu
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Garden Hotel

Address: No.258 Shawan Road, Jinniu District, Chengdu 610031, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #751 of 2,747 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: £158 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — California Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your California Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing