We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chengdu Garden City Hotel
Ranked #792 of 2,676 Hotels in Chengdu
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very central location.”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This hotel is only a block or two from the central square, and on the southern border of Chengdu's "high-rent" shopping district. On the other hand, a few steps in the other direction places you in traditional markets, including a large wholesale seafood market, and some older neighbourhoods. There are quite a few restaurants and baking shops nearlby, and a Carrefour supermarket right next door.
I believe this hotel opened in the 1990s, and it's had no upgrades since. The woodwork is dated and weathered throughout, and the carpets quite worn and stained. This is a Chinese hotel, and while we were assisted in several respects by a shift manager with good English, one should expect no English from most staff.
The breakfast buffet was Asian, with quite good variety and quality.
This is a modest hotel but very well-located in downtown Chengdu and it was quite adequate for our purposes as general tourists.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick_1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    77
    50
    10
    6
See reviews for
7
20
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I had booked the hotel through Travel China Guide . They were prompt and efficient and responded to queries fast. We were a little apprehensive of the quality of the hotel because it was so inexpensive (RMB 370 dbl room with breakfast) . Our concerns were unfounded because the facilities are very good compared to what we were paying . Rooms had wall to wall carpeting, staff speak English especially Ms Kathy who was exceptionally helpful . The breakfast , though predominantly local, was very good

Unfortunately the travel agency located at the lobby was poorly equipped to handle English Speaking customers ,their service was bad and we were not able to elicit any response for visiting tourist spots or even arrange a vehicle

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiranNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I have to say this hotel is no more than a two star ,the food is bad for western food ,the service is also bad ,we couldn't get a clean table for breakfast they sat us at a dirty table ,,
also the internet stopped working and they advised us that they have no idea whats wrong and it would be fixed the next day ,so if your going to stay at a hotel for buisness than this is not the place to stay ,
its really a shame it has a good location for shopping and a star bucks around the corner
all i can say is don't waste your money at a dump like this

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ntrealtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chengdu hotels

Chengdu
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Price: 4 star quality at 3 star price
Location: (Fortune Plaza) next door to Starbucks, Carrefour, Japanese restaurant, movie theater, hair salon, shopping, Chinese restaurants,10 minute walk to Tianfu Square city center/Mao Zedong statue, 15 minute walk to ChunXi Lu pedestrian street, major bus lines in front, tourist bus hub 10 minutes by bus or taxi, 10 minutes by bus to American Embassy, western restaurants, computer city
Room: more than I expected for the price

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

loved the hotel great safe area close to shopping markets staff great room clean will stay there again

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.1 mi away
Forstar Hotel Chengdu Renmin North Road
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
An-e Hotel Chengdu Dongmapeng
An-e Hotel Chengdu Dongmapeng
#1,208 of 2,676 in Chengdu
38 reviews
3.0 mi away
An-e Hotel Chengdu E Ying
An-e Hotel Chengdu E Ying
#842 of 2,676 in Chengdu
65 reviews
3.4 mi away
An-e Hotel (Chengdu Shuangnan)
An-e Hotel (Chengdu Shuangnan)
#939 of 2,676 in Chengdu
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chengdu Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chengdu Garden City Hotel

Property: Chengdu Garden City Hotel
Address: No.8 Daye Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #792 of 2,676 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chengdu Garden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chengdu Garden City Hotel is a 4-star hotel located at Sichuan, Chengdu, China. It offers air-conditioned accommodation rooms, all of which have television, private bathroom, and telephone. Some of its amenities include night club, fitness center and sauna, and a swimming pool. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Thatched Cottage of Du Fu, Jiuzhaigou Scenic Area, and Huang Long Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chengdu Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huayang Garden City Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing