We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #36 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated smack downtown... So location is ideal for getting around downtown.

The hotel is clean, well appointed and the staff are professional and friendly.

The one big drawback was the AC in the room. It flat out doesn't work. My room was cooking hot at 26.5 degrees and there was nothing I could do about it :(. Front desk said there wasn't any AC in the rooms.

If there had been there would be very little stopping this being a four star stay.

Cheers,
Ben

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank sutch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

We are glad to hear that our staff members' efforts have been recognized and will gladly share your comments with them, which will motivate us to continue striving for excellence.

At the same time we deeply regret that our central air-conditioning system performance was not up to your expectations. We take this very seriously and will share it with the concerned department head.

In order to avoid this kind of situation in the future, please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relations team directly through guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com and we will reserve a room with lower temperature for your next stay.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and for your kind understanding.

We are looking forward to welcoming your back next time.

Best Regards,

Echo Liu
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

The good: The room itself at the Kempinski was comfortable; bed and pillows ok, very clean and spacious bathroom, fairly modern fixtures. The staff is very efficient, friendly and accommodating. They were quick to respond to the one issue we had. The indoor pool was large (if you forget a swim cap they will provide you with one) and there were complimentary refreshments; tea, water, fruit and small cookies.
The bad: Our room was much warmer than we were used to (26 degrees c) and we were told that in November only the heat works and it was not possible to get cool air through the ventilation system (Here is your key that this is a hotel needs updating). To their credit they were quick to bring a fan to the room and we opened the windows. Unfortunately the highway was very noisy and sleep was lost that evening. The next day they switched our room to one that was only 1 degree cooler, but looked out onto a quieter parking lot so the open window and a fan allowed a decent night sleep. As other posts have mentioned, the location is not great (nothing in the area to walk to), lobby and other common areas outdated. We ate at the Paulaner for lack of other options and it was ok.
Breakfast buffet was "ok' as well, but it was the same both mornings. If you prefer a western breakfast you could choose from eggs (any style), small pancakes (that were cold from sitting too long), cereal,oatmeal, fruit, and yogurt. Pastries and breads were not that good. I've had much better breakfast buffets (too bad another option wasn't within walking distance).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time share your feedback. Your compliments on our room and staff are well appreciated, and we will continue to constantly improve our product and service.

Meanwhile, we have taken good note that you were unsatisfied with ventilation system in your room and the Food & Beverage offer in our property. We have discussed your comments with the concerned department heads and will follow up closely on the mentioned issues.

We appreciate your honest and precious feedback, and would like to hear from you more through guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com in order to update your profile and reserve a quiet room with lower temperature for your next stay.

Please trust our determination for excellent service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Echo Liu
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in business trip and I was really disappointed. The hotel seem old and the lobby is not attractive which you make you bored. The room furniture is old too and need major renovation. The view is to the Highway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that you were not able to satisfy your expectations.

We have taken good note of the fact that your were disappointed with the decoration and facilities of our hotel. Our hotel is now open for over 9 years and constant maintenance works allow us to keep the infrastructure on a high level. A full hotel renovation program with new interior design is already in planning and should start very soon.

Our hotel is well located on the avenue leading from the airport to the city center of Chengdu. We would be happy to update your guest profile with and make sure to reserve a quiet room with park view for your next stay with us. Please send us your name and contact details to guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com

Thank you again for your such constructive comments and we hope this disappointing experience has not definitely damaged your trust in us and would be happy to welcome you again to our hotel.

If we can do anything to make your further stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact our guest relations team.

Warm regards,

Echo Liu

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

stay several times for both business and family vacation. easy to take taxi and metro nearby. 10 nights membership made the stay easier. The staff is nice and careful to children. Breakfast is also nice with some typical local food.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your valuable comments.

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us, and you are our GHA member as well. As a GHA platinum tier member staying minimum 10 days per year, you get many benefits such as room free upgrade, late check out, as well as experienceing unique Local Experiences via www.gha.com easily.

Your comments motivate us to strive for excellence and further improve the quality of our services, especially for our junior guests.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you soon again to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future stays, we would be happy to organize everything for you.


Warm regards,


Echo Liu
Assistant Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for nine nights on business in September and found it to be a fairly pleasant experience.

Reception: An efficient service, staff welcoming and friendly. English language understanding OK.

Room: Modern and in good condition, large in size and spacious. Exterior windows not shaded so you can be seen from the outside, consider this when you might want some privacy!! There is a small window that does open so you can get some outside air if you wish. The aircon was ok, but took about three days to get down to the target temperature. In the evening, I found that if I wanted to work, there is no really bright light to make the room light enough to work. Even with a large standard lamp and desk light, it was lacking in good light to work from.

Bathroom: Finished to a high standard with a large bath and large separate shower. There is a big window that faces into the bedroom so you can shower and see right outside. It does have a net curtain though if you prefer a bit of privacy. My shower had a foul smell from the drain for the first couple of days, but this eventually went away. Good quality amenities and towels large and fluffy.

Minibar: Well stocked with plenty of choice of snacks, but most of these tailored to the local market. Complimentary tea and coffee in the room.

WIFI: Free Wi-Fi available in the room and in the public areas of the hotel

Restaurants: Only ate in the German bar, which was very average. This particular bar seemed to attract non-residents and guests who seemed to want to drink lots and lots, resulting in drunks to avoid later in the evening. The breakfast buffet had a large choice of western and local cuisine but on many days coffee served was cold or weak. Egg station, slow, lots of eggs cooked in advance and left under a heat lamp, staff keen on me taking those, but I always insisted on a freshly cooked egg.

Gym and Spa: Modern well equipped gym with running, cross trainers, bikes and loose weights. There is also a large swimming pool and spa but I did not use these.

Staff: Apart from front desk, it was obvious that many of the staff struggled to understand and speak good English. This can lead to frustration, but you just have to deal with it and seek help from the front desk if you need it.

Transport: Limos are available from the hotel to pick you up at the airport. Traffic is quite bad and it can take about 35 mins to get to the hotel from Chengdu airport.

Local Information: A few restaurants around the corner from the hotel and a wo-wo convenience store which is open 24 hours. About 10 mins walk is a large Carrefour supermarket Everything else is a taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Speedbird_238_Heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel. We are obviously very sorry to learn that we were not able to satisfy all of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Please be assured that your remarks regarding the breakfast buffet, room facilities such as room light, shower and air-condition, have been taken very seriously on board and discussed with the relevant department heads and have taken necessary measures to better deal with such situations in the future, below feedback is from our Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage

Minibar
In future we will review our minibar offering to suit the taste of international travellers as well as local guests.

Restaurants
Rest assured we will review and improve the quality of our offering to ensure the freshness and temperature.

Staff
Rest assured we will strengthen our English training program for all front line staffs

We are appreciate such constructive feedback, both positive and negative, which motivate us to strive for excellence and further improve the quality of our services and products.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you soon again to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relations Team via guestrelation.chengdu@kempinski.com directly for your future stays, we would be happy to organize everything for you.

Warm regards,

Echo Liu
Assistant Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Live-able is used to describe for this hotel. I came for business trip and stayed 2 nights. Price is not competative, but still within my budget. I get the room from Frontdesk, which didn't show the attitude as a five star hotel. No smiling, and not polite at all.
Equipment at room is adequate, although I got no shaver at the 1st night.
The poorest is breakfast, though there is fresh juice, the cooking staffs, especially the one that fried eggs (2 days for diff. staff) were very not concentrated and not professional.
Finally, I can only say the location and hardware is acceptable for this 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that you were not fully satisfied.

We have taken good note of the fact that your were not satisfied with the attitude of Front desk staff and unprofessional cooking staff. We have discussed this incident with the concerned department heads and have taken necessary training measures to better deal with such situations in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We hope this disappointing experience has not definitely damaged your trust in us and would be happy to welcome you again to our hotel.


Warm regards,

Echo Liu
Assistant Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Kempinski was fine for an overnight business stay and would also be fine for a few nights on business or short break. It's well located downtown and not more than 20 minutes from the airport. At around £100 gbp, you would normally expect breakfast but it wasn't included.

Checkin was fine, the room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom (no musty smells). It's not a new hotel so things are starting to look their age a little, but overall, it's still ok. Great blackout curtains which meant I could sleep in the afternoon after an overnight flight.

I didn't take breakfast so can't comment on that, but I did use the pool and it's a decent sized pool. The fitness room is also fine.

Complimentary wifi is always important and that was available.

There's an Irish bar (Shamrocks) just a five minute walk down the main road.

One thing to beware, when trying to change money (I try to avoid changing at airports) I had a real hassle getting them to accept English £20 notes. They seemed fine to take tens, but I insisted they call the bank when they refused to take twenties. They did eventually take them after calling the bank, but grudgingly. Strangely, they seemed willing to accept fifties and hundreds (more of a risk if you ask me) but I didn't have any of them with me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echo L, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your valuable comments and feedback reflecting your recent experience whilst staying with us.

We are glad to hear that you had a good rest after an overnight flight and you were satisfied with our pool and gym. We continually strive to exceed our guests’expectations.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback, which plays an essential role in helping us monitor our day-to-day operations and remind us to be more flexible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kempinski Hotel Chengdu soon.


Yours Sincerely,




Echo Liu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,714 in Chengdu
923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,714 in Chengdu
1,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#9 of 2,714 in Chengdu
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,714 in Chengdu
168 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,714 in Chengdu
564 reviews
3.0 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#6 of 2,714 in Chengdu
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.42 4th Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#20 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#37 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: £69 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading the way with remarkable European flair, the luxury Kempinski Hotel Chengdu is located in the "International South Core" of the city near consulates, shopping districts and high level office buildings. Hotel is 50 meters away from the subway station and a 20 minute drive, from Shuangliu International Airport, placing the Kempinski Hotel Chengdu the ultimate destination for your stay in Kempinski Hotel Chengdu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chengdu Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing