We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis for Americans in Chengdu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Pug

Lazy Pug
Ranked #3 of 3,107 Restaurants in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An American style restaurant/bar with well poured drinks and a fresh, varied menu. The menu ranges from nightly specials such as basil pesto chicken to thai green curry utilizing only the freshest ingredients available. House favorites, blue cheese burgers, steak fajitas and Buffalo Chicken sandwiches are always on the menu. Thursday night Mexican night with hand-pressed corn tortillas and Patron margaritas, and Sunday brunch with Eggs Benedict, crunchy mango French toast, spicy Bloody Marys, etc...are especially popular with the large expat community in Chengdu.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An oasis for Americans in Chengdu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Love this place... great food and great beer! As soon as I walked through the door, it felt like I was back home in the US of A. After being in Chengdu for a week, that's a great feeling to have! Comfortable, laid back atmosphere... My colleagues and I went two nights in a row. I had the buffalo chicken sandwich with ranch then the pulled pork sandwich. All good, a pleasing relief from the local food. I highly recommend the Pug!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    25
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I just love the staff, food, and atmosphere of this place. They treat you like a member of their family. The food is hot, drinks are ice cold, and music is awesome.
Ricky
from Nola.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hedoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

After searching for this hidden gem, I found it after two unsuccessful attempts. It is tucked away. This is not your normal Western restaurant in China. A week in Xian and I was thrilled to be in Chengdu and find this place. I just wanted a Buffalo Chicken sandwich and blue cheese! Real Buffalo sauce and hand cut fries with the skin on it. The owners chatted with me at the bar and gave me great suggestions as to what to see while in Chengdu. Great place, very welcoming and it cured my lonely blues. The wine list is small, but the house white is enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chengdu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a well setup bar/restaurant. My wife and I had a meal here, and both were cold enough that we had to send them back. Once warmed up, they were delicious. The house red wine was the best house red we've had in Chengdu.
Next time we went back with the family. This time I had the pulled pork, and it was dry. We will go back one day, but we are not rushing back.
There are quiet a few other bars and restaurants in this complex that look worth exploring

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank presentan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana and Danny G, Owner at Lazy Pug, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apologize for the cold food! Completely unacceptable. We will work on making the food more consistent.

Please do return in the near future and happy 2014!

Dans and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

After almost a week solid of Chinese food, we were craving a good western meal. This was it. After reading reviews we were not disappointed and following directions from GlennG G below found it fairly easily. Best way to get there is to take the subway to Tongzinlin Station and walk south as below. Skin on chips, pulled pork and chicken burger went down a treat. Atmosphere was great, prices reasonable and service was good. Although.... we were told that they didn't serve coffee after finishing our meals. Don't think this is true and assume that the staff just didn't understand.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank td08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lazy Pug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing