We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
Ranked #3 of 2,694 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel sits on top of a shopping centre. It is the cleanest hotel we stayed at in China. Everything is what you expect from the brand. Didn't rate 5 star because it's a Ritz-Carlton and staff on the ground floor doesn't help with luggage, we walked past 3 staff standing at the bell desk who saw but ignored us while we entered the hotel lugging our suitcases. It was around 11pm at night.
Room: clean, everything works, nespresso coffee machine, slippers and bathrobe provided,turn down service, free shoe shine service etc everything to the standard expected of a excellent 5 star.
Bathroom: all marble, very clean, separate bath and shower, Japanese toilet with lots of features, Lanvin amenities.
Breakfast: great selection of Western, Chinese, Japanese items. Food is of high quality.
Service: reception and concierge staff are fluent in English and very helpful. Door staff on the ground floor tend to slack off at night but are very helpful during the day.
Location: reasonable location, most places in the city are not too far in a taxi. We've found that most drivers doesn't know the hotel location ( we said the hotel's name in Mandarin). The street it's located on is known by all the taxi drivers we came across. The address on cards given out are too small for taxi drivers to read in poor light so if you can't speak mandarin ask staff to write the address in large characters on a piece of paper to give to the drivers.

Room Tip: No point in a high floor because of the smog, you won't see very far so the lower rooms probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    55
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
106
121
34
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Albeit a short stay, I absolutely loved my experience at the Ritz Carlton Chengdu. The staff were extremely attentive, smiley, and possessed a fairly proficient English.

The room was very well appointed and very well maintained, living up to the Ritz standards. I hosted a meeting at the hotel and the conference facilities and staff were top notch.

I'll be back soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JYG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Although we have stayed in many five star hotels in the past years, we had never been in a Ritz Carlton before this stay. We are now officially converted! The Ritz Carlton in Chengdu is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It is modern and new and exceptionally clean.
We stayed on the club floor and all the staff were brilliant, especially in the club lounge and gym. They were always willing to help with suggestions on where to visit and where to eat. The service was outstanding and their English very good. They could not do enough for us.
Our room was excellent, with a very comfortable bed, marble bathroom with plenty of room and very fancy toilet with controls that were quite complicated!
The location is really central so it is not too far to any of the attractions. The gym is really well equipped including lots of treadmills and steppers and also weights machines so there is no worry about having to wait for a treadmill or anything like is often the case in hotel gyms.
The club lounge serves food and drinks throughout the day, not just at night time so it is really worth spending the extra for a club room. It's just nice to have somewhere to go and talk throughout the day.
If you are looking for a luxury hotel at a great rate with excellent service then you could not go past the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Go for the club floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Consistent Ritz stndard - excellent service, well decorated room. The breakfast is great - particular the noodle and the pastry. The check-in, check-out is quick and staff are very friendly. The only things that don't make it to perfect - one side of the hotel is too close to the apartment next door, basically you can't open the curtain. Also I couldn't find the buttons to switch off the night light in the toilet and the dressing room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights as part of a 2-location panda adventure. Our thanks to Ryan, Club Manager, for helping to arrange a volunteer day on short notice at the Ya'an Panda Base, and a visit to the Chengdu Research Base with reservations to get photos holding a panda. We are still smiling. Ryan (and probably some helpers!) also went beyond the expected to make our anniversary trip special at the hotel as well. We loved it. Thanks to Fisher for stepping in during our stay as it overlapped with Ryan's days off. We enjoyed the suite & the club lounge. Didn't' get to use the other facilities much b/c this was all about pandas *_*. If I return to Chengdu, I'll return to the Ritz and enjoy the overall facilities and city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From beginning to end we had a fantastic stay at the Ritz Carlton Chengdu. At check-in our daughter was ushered aside to the "Kids Check-in" by the Front Desk Manager Julianna. She received a Ritz Kids packet with activities and was even treated to ice cream when she completed her packet.

The breakfast buffet was endless and the food all top notch and fresh each morning. In fact, we could almost complain of having too many choices - including cronuts!!!

The concierge (Luke) had already reserved a spot to hold a panda at the local Panda Base for my wife and daughter. He had even arranged a private guide in the park. This helped us make the most of our time there.

With every interaction we were greeted warmly by the staff and made very much to feel at home. When I went swimming with my daughter at the pool one of the staff escorted her to the locker room to make sure she was okay and see if there was anything she needed. This truly made me feel at ease.

When we wanted a break from Chinese food and have pizza one day, the concierge gave us two choices and wrote out the directions in Chinese. At first I thought this was overkill, but when our first choice was closed due to a power outage I was so thankful that she had taken the time to provide a second option.

Thanks to the Ritz, Chengdu is on our list of places to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I travelled across 9 cities in China on this trip and having been to China regularly and stayed in many hotels - I felt compelled to share this experience. The staff at all levels and in all areas were quite simply the best. They organised a cultural show for us (by going over and above) with very short notice. From the DJ, Shane was a professional representation of this hotel, to the head butler - very friendly and helpful, all the way up to meeting Chris, the GM, who was also humble, friendly, very professional and has clearly done a great job with his staff.
This was the best experience of staying in a hotel during this and many other trips. If you are going to Chengdu (also a highlight), this hotel is definitely worth paying that bit more. Great job Chris and all the staff there!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zguv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.2 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,694 in Chengdu
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#5 of 2,694 in Chengdu
312 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,694 in Chengdu
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#4 of 2,694 in Chengdu
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,694 in Chengdu
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#9 of 2,694 in Chengdu
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
Address: No.269 Shuncheng Main Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 116017, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 2,694 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu IntroductionOverlooking the city's central Tianfu Square, The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu offers travelers an ideal base from which to explore Chengdu's cultural and culinary wealth as well as the vast, emerging potential of Western China's dynamic economies. With guest rooms from the 28th to the 41st floor, this 353-room luxury hotel features unmatched views of downtown Chengdu paired with the comfort, privacy and personalized service offered by Ritz-Carlton hotels the world over. Guest rooms include walk-in closets, 5-fixture bathroom's featuring paired sinks, a bathtub, an enclosed shower, and a TOTO intelligent toilet. 113 Ritz-Carlton Club Level rooms and 55 suites feature 800-thread-count linens, personal Butler service and a host of thoughtful accoutrements. The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu has recently upgraded the "Ritz-Kids" program. From the moment they arrive at The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu, we welcome kids by encouraging them to explore the sights and sounds of the hotel and its environment on their own or with their family. From the check-in at our special Kids' Corner to the in-room camping and treasure hunt, every experience is a moment to treasure. Also, let us turn your kids into little chefs in our kids' cooking class. Finally, indulge in the Sunday Family Brunch or the lively Canton Kids menu at Li Xuan. The luxury Chengdu hotel offers memorable and diverse dining opportunities at each of its four restaurants and bars. Its Li Xuan Chinese Restaurant specializes in Cantonese and local Sichuanese creations; SPICES, an all-day dining restaurant, features classics of the Italian, Japanese, Southeast Asian and Chinese cuisines prepared at live cooking stations; The Lobby Lounge hosts a traditional English Afternoon Tea in addition to a sophisticated menu of classic cocktails while the stylish FLAIR lounge serves fresh sushi and Asian-inspired tapas indoors and on an outdoor patio to the accompaniment of a live DJ. Meeting spaces include a Grand Ballroom, Junior Ballroom and seven additional meeting rooms totaling 1,700 square meters of function space. Guests will find relaxation and wellness on the 23rd floor with the full-floor luxury Ritz-Carlton SPA, an indoor swimming pool with underwater music and Fitness Center with state-of-the-art Technogym equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing