We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic hotel in Chengdu”
Review of Sichuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sichuan Hotel
Ranked #138 of 2,730 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed in the West Wing at Shuwa North Street. Have visited many times since 2007 and always a good stay. The best rooms are the those with a Queen bed. Only downside are the heavily stained carpets - the hotel should consider removing these, leaving the tiled floor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AppleAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

The room is small, but for under 200 RMB, it's a good deal. Everything is clean including the bathroom. The bed is soft. The staff was helpful in both English and Chinese. The location is right in the center of town, walking distance to main shopping areas and easily recognized by taxi drivers.It's a little loud at night, but the center of the city is never quiet, so I don't fault the hotel for that. I will come back to Chengdu again and, for the value, I will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

About two weeks into our twenty-eight day tour with Wendy Wu and we were put into the Sichuan Hotel, Chengdu and I believe it was the West Wing, although we didn't have this confirmed until arrival. Perhaps the other wings were better as there appeared to be another entrance to another Sichuan Hotel. Our entrance was on the corner of two busy streets and the location was good, within walking distance of vibrant areas. However, it was the worst hotel of the whole tour, so tired and grubby and our shower overflowed into the bathroom. Another couple also had the same trouble so we were moved to another floor after complaining, and we found ourselves on a floor where smoking is permitted and we were right above the busy corner and lower down. As is very common in China, the beds were very hard. The breakfast was very limited, the usual orange cordial and not juice, some cereal, cold eggs and coffee etc. Staff were not interested and may have cleared the tables eventually.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel is in downtown Chengdu, very close to the action. Short walk to markets, Peoples Park and the big square. The hotel has plenty of 'old world' charm but is looking a bit tired. The bathroom was booged up with loads of sealant and the ceiling was mouldy and water damaged. Place needs a refurbishment to lift standard. On the whole though it was quite clean and well serviced. Downstairs dining room provided adequate breakfast. Stayed in the South Wing and never did find the other wing (where the currency exchange was). Post Office across the street was very handy, although you may need some assistance from a local guide getting served. The men's gaming club (turn left and go down about 10 doors) is worth a look, especially on a weekend. Further on is the land of mobile phone shots.
If you're stuck for a fun activity, find the People's Park and have your ears cleaned by a scary man using a long, sharp probe! The be sure to get a toffee drawn on a stick and watch the men painting the Chinese characters in water on the paving stones.

Room Tip: Side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was the second hotel that I stayed in on a wendy wu tour. The rooms by the main road are VERY noisy. Better pack ear plugs. The rooms on the other side are less noisy. I stayed there twice and both rooms I had had stains on the carpet! Could do with new carpets! Food is a mixture of western and Chinese. The beds are hard ss is normal in China.Shops just out side the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not by the road or if you get a room by the road, prepare for noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dipsygreencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Sichuan Hotel was the first hotel that we had stayed in that was clean, dry and pleasant and we had been in China a week by this time. This hotel is perfect for a trip in China as you spend little time in the room and when you do go back to the hotel, it is clean and dry and comfortable (well as comfy as chinese beds get as they are normally quite hard). A pleasant relief!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeRae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I am staying in the west wing sichuan hotel on 26 Dec 09 - 02 Jan 10. Reception staffs are friendly, rooms are clean, though abit small, but i find it worth the price., It is located not very far from the shopping area, with a few minutes walk to reach the mall..Nearby there are stores similar to 7-eleven, very convenient..Opposite the hotel there is this store selling take away burgers, nuggets etc, called Lepapa..

some bad points:
-rooms facing the street will tend to hear alot of car horns, sometimes might also smell the cigarette smoke..(probably the room we staying are not non-smoking room).
-Breakfast are very oily and salty ,and is almost the same dish everyday.

Overall, i am still very satisfied with this hotel. and will come back again next time i come to chengdu. - yalzhinn

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.0 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#22 of 2,730 in Chengdu
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tibet Hotel
Tibet Hotel
#18 of 2,730 in Chengdu
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#36 of 2,730 in Chengdu
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,730 in Chengdu
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haiyatt Hotel
Haiyatt Hotel
#61 of 2,730 in Chengdu
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yinhe Dynasty Hotel
Yinhe Dynasty Hotel
#52 of 2,730 in Chengdu
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sichuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sichuan Hotel

Address: No.31 Zongfu Street (Main Building), No.47 Bei Xing Street (South Wing), No.89 Shuwa North Second Street (West Wing), Chengdu 610016, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#73 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: £20 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sichuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sichuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sichuan Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing