We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #11 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed here for three nights from June 7 through 9, 2012, for the second straight year. It is a magnificant hotel in a truly lovely city. Stayed on the 34th floor with a wonderful river view and with access to the Executive Lounge on the 36th (top) floor which has a magnificent view of the entire city and where a lovely happy hour is served each night. Definitely worth the extra money for lounge privileges. The room itself, while not overly large, is beautifully furnished in a modern style with very comfortable beds and very fine linens. The bathroom is luxurious and filled with very fine bath amenities. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous and well-trained. The breakfast in the main restaurant is very fine by western standards. The hotel is exceptionally well lcoated along the river in a section where there is much nightlife just one block away. The areaof the hotel is a great walking section of Chengdu. This is a truly high class hotel where you go if you want to be pampered.

Room Tip: Suggest that it is definitely worth splurgign for access to the 36th floor lounge but a great locati...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,970)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Was expecting a lot from this well known chain but was ultimately disappointed.

Arriving at midnight we expected check-in to swift and painless however we were left waiting for 15 minutes whilst staff served other guests when we were finally greeted there was no apology for the delay.

Room was large and clean but not as plush (the furniture and fittings are dated) as I had expected. Bed was relatively comfortable.

Concierge was great, particularly with the assistance they provided prior to arrival (booking transfers, restaurants and day tours).

The buffet breakfast was plentiful with lots of good Eastern & Western choices.

Staff were polite enough but never particularly friendly, perhaps this is to do with the size of the hotel?

At checkout we discovered our pre-paid room was listed on the bill (even though we provided the voucher details at check-in); however this was however quickly rectified.

If I was to return to Chengdu I would definitely stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABfromHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Sorry for any unpleasant experience caused during your previous stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Should you have any question, please contact me at sophie.meng@shangri-la.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I recently spent three weeks in China on business and stayed at several hotel during the trip. I can easily say that my time at the Shangri-La Chengdu was the best experience on the trip, and possibly my nicest hotel stay ever.

The staff at the Shangri-La was outstanding. When our plane arrived more than an hour later than scheduled we were exhausted and arrived at the hotel after midnight. A staff person anticipated our exhaustion and guided us to a lounge upon our arrival, rather than to the check-in counter. She had already prepared keys for us and simply made copies of our passports/credit cards (standard procedure in China) when we arrived and sent our luggage up to our rooms.

Additionally, we were having events at the hotel and the event staff couldn't have been more helpful or attentive. They made sure that our events happened smoothly and that our guests were satisfied. We even had a wonderful dinner for 20+ guests at Shang Palace that went incredibly well.

Our rooms were also great, with large bathtubs and a great turn-down service. We also returned to our rooms each evening to find gifts from the staff: stuffed panda bears, fancy handmade chocolates, traditional Chinese scrolls... they were wonderfully thoughtful touches from a fantastic staff. The hotel also provided excellent transportation service to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosebriar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels to stay during my business trips to China. The staff is wonderful and the hotel is beautiful. I like the layout and decor of the rooms, and the view of the river is very nice. They have a wonderful selection for breakfast at the cafe downstairs. It is probably one of the best breakfast buffets on my trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solegirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

After a month grand and wonderful tour of China, Chengdu was our final stop before flying out. So we upped the ante to what we thought was a top class hotel, even splurged on a club room. We thought we might depart China in style, what a mistake. Sadly the hotel built in 2007 is quite tired and in need of a make over, it is currently hardly 4 star. Our first room on a restricted non smoking floor stank of cigarette smoke. On our first evening we visited the highly ranked (on some Chinese reviews) in-house Shang Palace Restaurant, and contracted a nasty load of gastroenteritis. It was the case that management did take responsibility for the food poisoning, organised a visit to a doctor and overlooked the bill for the offending meal. But it was too late, once contracted, gastro takes its toll and we were only able to participate in a fraction of our planned Chengdu activities. The bottom line is that sometimes unfortunate circumstances happen, but you just don't expect them to happen at purportedly 5 star hotels of the calibre of the Shang. We had the distinct impression that management here was more intent in minimizing the impact on their brand than trying to remedy the disastrous consequences of their dirty kitchens on their guests. Now 2 weeks after the event, management has invited us to somehow morph 8,500 Kms from our home back to Chengdu for 2 days so that they can restore our faith in their brand! Hollow men indeed.

Room Tip: Try one of the other 5 star hotels around town. Don't be surprised if you need to turn down a fe...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie_Meng_SLCD, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. We too are disappointed with your stay experience with us and apologize for this incident. We have reviewed and addressed this issue and have taken the appropriate actions to avoid a reoccurrence.
If I can be of any assistance, do please contact me at sophie.meng@shangri-la.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hotel was aged and tired looking and I wouldn't have stayed here if there were some newer hotels around the vicinity. Concierge was good and helped us to make sure that there was a 'changing face' performance on the night we visited the restaurant. The bar at basement was smoky and horrible. Just wish there are some newer options available next time I visit Chengdu.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSESingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have visited this hotel over 20+ times for business lunch, dinner and going to the gym. I stayed here with my gf for a weekend, we got an offer to upgrade us to the club room for an extra 55 US dollars a night. Which we did, but doesn't offer much extra; the room is not much different than the standard room, so you basically pay extra for the more exclusive breakfast area and checkin and checkout area. The rooms are very dry, comparing to other hotels, which is weird cause Chengdu is very humid.

There are several restaurants in hotel, one that is offers an alright buffet, most of the food is cold food and some of the food that suppose to be warm is cold as well. I find the lobby has better food than the buffet. There is a very good Cantonese restaurant just next to the hote(near starbucks)l, which has excellent food, but isn't cheap.

I found the service not good, most people who are working in the hotel are unfriendly,arrogant and speak very little English(this happens to a lot of hotels in china), but I have been served better in other Shangri-la hotels.

All with all, it's not a bad hotel, but for the price you pay, it's not the 5 star feeling I expected, the service and food need a lot of improvement. The intercontinental is a much better hotel, little far from the city centre, but great food!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littlegerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,714 in Chengdu
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,714 in Chengdu
489 reviews
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,714 in Chengdu
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#8 of 2,714 in Chengdu
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,714 in Chengdu
923 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,714 in Chengdu
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#2 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#8 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#47 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: £110 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri La Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing