We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanbao Hotel(Chengdu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (2,328)
Filter reviews
2,329 results
Traveller rating
1,501
700
101
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,501
700
101
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe zhorizon clubacross the riverirish barbars and restaurantsriver viewlobby loungeconcierge staffgreat facilitieswonderful hotelroom was spaciouspanda reservefitness centerchinese restaurantspecial thanksbuffet breakfastbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 2,329 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

As usual, you cannot go wrong with Shangri La. Good standard and if you get a view to the river and the temple, all else is as fine, like the restaurants, facilities, the great buffet they offer on 1st floor. Good service, attentative as expected, good english skills at reception. Good sleep guaranteed as they have double windows.
One hour drive from here to see the pandas, also worth the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear RSF 15, nice to hear from you ,and we are glad to know that you enjoyed the intimate contact with those adorable pandas. Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and I live in Shanghai, and decided to spend the weekend in Chengdu since I wanted to go to the Panda Sanctuary. The hotel is large and located in what seemed to be a quieter part of the city. Rooms/bathrooms are a little dated, but clean. I think the the thing that stood out the most to me was the concierge staff. They were extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and willing to arrange a taxi to the best of their ability - during peak traffic hours give yourself a little extra time as getting a taxi can be difficult! They gave us a great hot pot restaurant recommendation as well as advice on a few destinations we had in mind around Chengdu. We did sit in the lobby bar area one evening - atmosphere was excellent, food was okay, martini not very good, and the entertainment was difficult to listen to -- maybe just a piano player instead of singing? Overall, a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Trisha C, thanks for your sharing and we are glad to receive your encouraging comments towards our facilities and team, especially the Concierge team. We will strive to deliver the legendary Shangri-La experience and make sure your next visit remains memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The hotel is large with lovely decorated public areas and rooms. We stayed on one of the horizon club floors which gives you access the the exec lounge for breakfast , soft drinks and tea and coffee throughout the day, afternoon tea ( though we didn't partake in this) and evening cocktails and wine for two hours in the evening, with a lovely selection of nibbles, even jellies and chocolates which our two girls loved. The staff on the exec floor spoke little English but this was not a problem we managed quite well. I would definitely upgrade the the horizon floor. The rooms are clean though the smallest we have stayed in china ( including bejing and shanghai). I would have gave the hotel a five but for the vanity mirror in the bathroom was incorrectly wired which meant when touched ( either switched on or off) you were given an electric shock. I reported this on two occasions before it was fixed. This was dangerous for my two small girls. Also the TV in the bathroom was a standard TV behind glass and the remote control, a standard remote in a plastic case, neither designed for the environment. I had never heard of chengdu before our visit, yet it was one of the best parts of our trip, seeing the pandas and baby pandas was wonderful, we hired a taxi for the day. £90 which was good value that took us the see the giant Buddha , about two hours away, which is one of the most impressive Buddhas I have ever see, though it gets really busy and we didn't go to the bottom to get the best view due to queues. I would suggest going by boat trip. Chengdu has lovely temples, great restaurants and bars as well as shopping. I would recommend chengdu to all and the hotel is in a great location we would stay again. Thank you to the staff for the lovely soft pandas that were given as gifts to the children.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrssjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Mrssjp, thanks for your sharing on Tripadvisor. We strive to deliver the most comfortable facility and service for our guests ,and your satisfaction on horizon rooms & club is indeed motivated to us. On the same time, we also very concerning to learn about the service shortfalls you experienced and a serious action will be taken to avoid its re-happening. We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just like the previous review, there wasn't really anything memorable about this hotel, except maybe for the massage, which was great. Beautiful Spa. We had a nice apartment, with city views. Good food at Chinese restaurant and Mooney' s bar. We loved the Canadian liveband playing here nightly.
Housekeeping was the worst, it seemed that everyday she was avoiding our room, cleaning all the others on our floor. Had to phone the front desk for our room to be serviced.
We actually went to Chengdu for the Panda Sanctuary (which was really nice, they have some sweet baby pandas).
There's nothing much to see in Chengdu, worst of all being the traffic, with the motorbikes driving on the sidewalks (really dangerous thing, they almost hit our kid a few times). This custom of driving on the sidewalks is worst here than anywhere else I have been in China. Also, crossing the street is a difficult task, as cars and scooters do not stop, not even on redlight.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank obsessedbytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear obsessedbytravelling, thanks for your feedback at Shangri-la Chengdu Hotel and glad to know that you are satisfied with our Chi, the Spa, various dining options and panda tour in town. Besides, we also notice your reminding on our Housekeeping shortfalls. The issue has been treated seriously with following –up actions taking on to avoid its re-happening. Thanks again, and look forward to exceeding your expectation during you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Not a bad stay but not memorable either. Mix-up with reservation resolved at check-in with help of interpreter. Lounge service extremely slow, 7 trips to deliver drinks for 4 persons. Room service menu extensive and service good. Lots of breakfast options at a well laid out buffet. Shang Palace dinner excellent and good value. Housekeeping service not consistent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SeaLaVie_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMM_SLCD, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear SeaLaVie_63, thanks for your sharing and pleasant to know that you like our room service, buffet and Chinese restaurant Shang Palace. Meanwhile, we feel the same disappointed on your defective lounge and housekeeping experience. Those issue has been addressed to hotel management & improving actions will be in place immediately. Thanks again and we look forward to exceeding your expectations don the next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews