We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to IHG standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #28 of 2,711 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Upon check in i wasn't recognized as an IHG gold member, rather i was told not to expect much during my stay and even i would have no water in my room in the morning.
Everything in my room felt damp and there was a mould smell throughout. Sure enough i found mould in the bathroom and elsewhere. The ipad menu in the lobby was good, i ordered a turkey sandwich which turned up as a salad toasted sandwich with a sprinkle of fried turkey bits, i got 8 sorry's but nothing else, went back to my damp room hungry. Will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalCD, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear our loyal Gold Member G M,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stayed with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. The matter you have addressed in relation to Gold Member benefit, room quality and service in restaurant have been noted. We will pass it on to the concerned department, and make sure related training and maintenance are in placed.
We hope to see you back in your next stay and you will have a new impression with our hotel.
Felicity Qiu
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I had a very pleasant stay.
Upon checkin I received an upgrade due to my membership privilege.
It has a very unique design and tasteful restaurants. Breakfast has to many various choices and warm atmosphere.
The food is all over delicious.
The staff is so polite and English speaking that I really can relax in the hotel.
Gym is awesome with a lot of machines for different exercises
Hope to arrive there soon again

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalCD, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Daniel H,
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Century City Chengdu and taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are more than delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.
Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Felicity Qiu
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well maintained , Staff are too Polite, easy to access and only one problem , which is "Communication" (English is too difficult). But they employed some foreign staff to help.

Also never avail Airport Pickup and drop off from Hotel as they are charging "Ransom" amount for that , i paid RMB 400/- for pick up (one way) literally if you depend on taxi you have to pay only RMB 38/-

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalCD, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Sumesh K,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay! We are more than pleased to hear that our services leave you with good impressions. Meanwhile we have communicated your feedback with concerned department and relative training will be conducted soon.
We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you are back in Chengdu so that we may continue to extend our sincere hospitality to you.
Felicity Qiu
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Impressive building (though it does look made-up, still tastefully done)
Spacious room, great bathroom
Comfortable bed
Plentiful working space
Great breakfast (a nice selection of fresh fruit, chinese/western food)
Access to the city centre is not bad - there is a subway station nearby

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ht51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalCD, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Waikato,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit to InterContinental Century City Chengdu. We always appreciate hearing from our valued guests.
Our hotel enjoys a convenient transportation and superior geographical location, it is easy for leisure guests to reach attractions such as Chunxi Road, Wide and Narrow Alleys etc. Meantime, our Concierge team will be very pleased to provide you with the map and the exact location; meanwhile we also provide travel car rental service. Moreover, we are more than pleased to hear our good facility and breakfast to meet your expectation.
Many thanks again. We do hope you'll join us in residence again soon.
Felicity Qiu
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Amazing rooms with traditional decor and all amenities. Excellent restaurants. High quality of service from the staff. The gym is a bit under par. Overall a very good experience but the building, the location and the internal set up of the main hall with inside a village reconstructed makes a bit too much Disneyworld for my taste!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelaw513, Manager at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying and sharing your experience with us. When international standard service meets traditional Western China charm, you are experiencing the life of InterContinental in Century City Chengdu. No matter what you are looking for here, just stay and enjoy. It is always our honor to build your beautiful memory with us.
Angela Wen
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is an about 30 to 40 min drive away from the airport and Chengdu East train station. It is located near a conference centre, along with 2 Holiday Inns. Around the hotel a a few nice restaurants and some smaller convenience stores.

Rooms are quite large with all the usual stuff, such as a walk in shower etc. A bit dark for my taste, but that is unfortunately the "intercontinental style". I prefer light rooms.

Beds are reasonable soft and comfortable. Electric plugs are next to the bed and next to the desk. However next to the desk, they are difficult to reach, if your computer (e.g. a Mac) has the power converter right at the plug.

Internet is LAN and WLAN based, but the speed is slow. Skype worked, but FaceTime and the VPN worked only some of the time. Websites opened very slowly and larger downloads ( ≥ 5 mb) took forever. (OK, it felt "forever", but it was slower than through my 3G China Unicom connection)

Breakfast and lunch buffet was good, good choices and nicely prepared. Coffee was a bit difficult to get, but my 3rd request was answered. Overall it is a very good restaurant and food. Coffee shop on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear yogimo ,
Thank you for choosing to stayed with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. We are glad that you like our comfortable bed and delicous buffet.All rooms, as you have noticed, are internet free for both wifi and wired internet access. Sometimes the internet may be slow. It is suggested that you could switch into the alternative model or contact duty manager to arrange IT engineer support.Again, thanks to your comments to share with us your experience. We are looking forward to your next trip to Chengdu.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, great staff, great rooms great stay!
I spent 3 nights here as part of a conference and could not fault the property, every staff member I had interaction with was so helpful, well trained and simply a credit to the hotel.
Food & beverage options were also great and if you feel like something different there a a few places nearby outside of the hotel that also do good food especially if you like hot pot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riding-Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Riding-Giants,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review expressing your satisfaction with us at InterContinental Century City Chengdu. It is delighted to learn that you had an great stay with us. To be a guest loved great hotel is our primary vision to achieve. We will be grateful if you could allow us the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the near future.
Jenny Wei
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Chengdu Global Center
5.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,711 in Chengdu
1,961 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,711 in Chengdu
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#6 of 2,711 in Chengdu
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
0.7 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#8 of 2,711 in Chengdu
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.88 Century City Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 2,711 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: £100 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the best of European tradition and Chinese warmth, the InterContinental Century City Chengdu stands out as an exciting new landmark in the capital of Sichuan province. The hotel offers a full range of guestrooms and suites, an array of excellent restaurant and lounge offerings, a stylish Spa and first-class event and business facilities. Serving as an ideal venue for the business traveller in Chengdu, the hotel is within walking distance of the Chengdu International Exhibition Centre and a 20-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing