We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for a layover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tianyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tianyuan Hotel
Ranked #40 of 649 Hotels in Urumqi
Beijing
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a layover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Located just opposite Kashi Airport (but still a 10 min drive, as you have to go all the way around several blocks to get there), this is a very convenient hotel for a night stop. Superior Twin Room comes with 2 Queen beds, so big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. We couldn't figure out how to use the TV though and check-in was painfully slow at 10.30 pm. However, rooms are clean and free shuttle bus to/from airport was useful. Breakfast wasn't great - very oily, cold Chinese dishes, stale toast bread and little fruit. All in all, not bad, although nothing special.

Room Tip: Superior Twin rooms big enough to sleep 4. Paid RMB 850 incl. breakfast and taxes etc on Ctrip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamboo401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
4
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
281 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I was overnighting on the way to Kashi and not expecting much - but ended up quite pleased with the hotel. The rooms were well appointed, clean, large and with comfortable beds. When I say comfortable, these were truly above average for Chinese standard, but a ways to go before the Westin Heavenly Bed. The check in staff was a bit disorganized when we got there, but we got in ok eventually. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a Chinese hotel- lots of fruit choices, reasonable Western pastries and breads and plenty of Chinese options. Really quite good. The hotel is a bit pricey for China but not bad overall. You are literally at the airport, just 5 minutes from the terminal which is visible from the hotel. You really can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urumqi, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

this is my second stay here and i will be here for 3 nights this week, instead of going downtown for a hotel, this is the perfect location for the business traveler who requires immediate access to airport travel.
In my particular case i am spending time in the Xinjiang region with flights to Hetian, Akesu, and Kashi, so Urumqi airport is the hub in Xinjiang province to reach these cities by air.
The hotel is actually a stones throw away from the airport terminal # 2, and were it not for all my luggage i would have walked to the hotel instead of the shuttle.
The shuttle actually runs every 15 minutes, and its a few minutes ride.

The rooms are very comfortable, well lit, clean, and amazingly quiet in spite of its proximity to the airport runways. There is no waiting time at the elevators unlike other hotels in China especially during the peak rush hours.

The water in the shower only got lukewarm, and there is no bathtub, which i assume is expected of an airport hotel.

There is no mini bar although there is a mini fridge, which was not working. There is however on the ground floor a small shop which has the basics.

The amenity which i would like to see offered is some english newspaper like the China Daily, and also English TV stations like CNN, and HBO or the like. Perhaps in Xinjiang its not permitted at this time, maybe due to the 2008 riots.

The AC in the room was excellent although a little noisy. The room is well insulated and must have good soundproofing which is helpful and relaxing after a full days work.

The breakfast buffet for a westerner needs some improvement in the area of fresh vegetables, and cold cereal varieties like sugar frosted flakes. Also fresh squeezed orange juice would be better in place of orange flavored drink.

All in all its an excellent hotel for the price, and location for the business traveler who is focused on Urumqi airport to get around and about, and i would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sukyevd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Tianyuan Hotel - Perfect hotel for transfer nights.
We stayed in the Tianyuan Hotel only for one night.
The hotel is the best choice e.g. if you have a transfer night at Urumqi Airport.
The hotel is very close to the airport and offers also an airport pick-up service.
Standard rooms are big and clean.
Internet, TV and a huge shower is available.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beberlin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This new Hotel (has been open one year) is the best choice if staying at Urumqi airport. We acutally stayed at this hotel 3 times instead of staying in the town and were glad we did. The staff are excellent, (some speak English) very helpful and friendly. The restaurant serves excellent breakfast buffet. There are a choice of restaurants for lunch and dinner, with a choice of buffet or al a carte. Rooms very comfortable, top class sevice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
New Urban District
Urumqi Airport Aviation Hotel
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 649 in Urumqi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 649 in Urumqi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tianyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianyuan Hotel

Property: Tianyuan Hotel
Address: No.1341 Yingbin Road, Xinshi District, Urumqi 830026, China
Region: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 649 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tianyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing