We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars western/ 4 stars Chinese”
Review of Mirage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mirage Hotel
Ranked #8 of 663 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice on a recent trip.

Neither room had proper air conditioning, which westerners would expect. Our friends, in different rooms, had the same problem. This created very uncomfortable sleeping.

Our room was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and tried to be accommodating, even when language was an issue. Beds very hard, but then, it's China and not a western hotel chain.

Breakfast was adequate and plentiful. Egg station was a treat. Great sesame bread.

Wifi in the lobby was excellent.

Room Tip: Sleep quality was awful because of poor a/c. Make sure to check it before you unpack. 23rd floor h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Totally not 5 star! AC is really weak super hot. The toilet is obviously not clean. There are stains around the toilet bowl and counters were dirty. Totally not what I expected even for 5 star china standard. Service was horrible. The house cleaner were setting up a foldable bed and seems like it was broken. The person asked and she's yelling no its not broken only the thing to hook up the bed together is broken. The only good thing is location other than that I have nothing else good to say.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacam0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel is well located and the service and cleanliness is good for Chinese standards. The only problem is the same old Chinese problem, that you will find nobody who speaks or understands a few words of English or another wetern language. A hotel of this size, rated with five stars should do better!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benquintens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

There is very little positive I can say regarding this hotel. It is quite large and the lobby, which is decorated with a large mural and several large jade pieces, belies the poor quality of the rooms. There are no king size beds available for couples and the double bed is only slightly larger than a twin. The beds are hard and uncomfortable and the room was not cleaned well. There was a condom wrapper left on the floor. The bathroom is small and a bit moldy.

The smell of cigarettes is present everywhere and there is virtually no area of the hotel where it is restricted. I would not recommend this hotel for any foreign tourist to China. It seems more directed to Chinese businessmen and Chinese tourists visiting the markets of Urumji.

The only reason I did not give it a lower score was due to the service both in the restaurant and at the front desk which was pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a nonsmoking floor - if there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My small tour group enjoyed staying here. The rooms are clean, sufficiently spacious, comfortable and has good broadband service. Wifi is available only in the lobby area at the moment. It's walking distance to KFC, Dico and other food outlets. Lots of shops nearby too.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikonwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Having been on tour around China, I knew that star-ratings are unreliable, so with some scepticism I saw that 5* rating for this hotel. Well, upon checking in, my fears fled - the room was mid-sized, but everything was in order and there was free internet in the room! Even though I speak no Chinese, I was able to get ice delivered to my room from the friendly maid who came to turn down the bed. We were asked if we required laundry service, and the Concierge service was great in luggage storage when we had checked out.
Convenient location for shopping, not so far from the Airport.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noyawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Should be rated at a 2.5 or at best 3 star hotel. Physical property poorly maintained. Location, although around the corner from the night market, does not have much going for it. Beds are hard and the bathrooms have mold. Carpets look/are old, worn and dirty.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 663 in Urumqi
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Urban District
Home Inn (Urumqi Xibei Road)
Taxinan Hotel
#43 of 663 in Urumqi
5 reviews
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 663 in Urumqi
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Hotel

Address: No.305 Xinhua North Road, Tianshan District, Urumqi 830002, China
Region: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Urumqi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Urumqi
Price Range: £33 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mirage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Urumqi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing