We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slap Slap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 663 Hotels in Urumqi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A trip to the Sheraton is always an highlight for my kids. They love exploring the room, playing with the taps and looking out the window. One of the biggest highlights is the swimming pool for us as a family we like to lounge around the pool. The negative side to this was, our somewhat quiet time at the sheraton was taken over by swimming lessons. The entire pool, surely they consider the guest and have a section earmarked for lessons. This was frustrating. To make matters worse the instructor picks up a rubber pool slippers and hits the kids with it if they do not do what he says correctly. Wow sheraton you need to be careful as to what image you portray. The attendant at the pool needs some instructions as to a two year old boy cannot go to the mens changeroom on his own, he is two for crying out loud. Fix your flaws please, we like this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RacerDarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria l, sales coordinator at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your experience with us. We think very highly of the questions you have asked, we have communicated with related departments about the detils, please believe that we will improve our service according to your suggestions , and we are looking forward to your visit again to witness our improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you're in Urumqi, you want to go with a clean, safe, well-run hotel, and this is the place. The rooms are immaculate, the water is hot, the wi-fi works, and the food is fine. The level of English language proficiency among the staff is very high, so all you queries are answered as well as you could reasonably expect. The bustling, convenient location also is a plus; you don't feel like you're a prisoner of your hotel. The pool and fitness center are flawless, and a welcome sanctuary from the bustle and smog outside the hotel. If you can't be happy here, you can't be happy in Urumqi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Barracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria l, sales coordinator at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

stayed on business. Had the classical experience of very high octane business meetings, late nights and early mornings. Urumqi Sheraton was safe, dependable, but not unflawed. The room airco never worked (common across the whole group of us staying there), so it was actually cooler (in June) when we waited outside the building than in (room or public areas). Bed/ bathroom (especially) were great, gym a little tired, restaurant and bar good although my personal recommendation to them would be to improve their range of malt whisky. Chocolate in the mini bar was very nice(!). Staff extremely willing but rather handicapped by poor grasp of English.

Room Tip: ask for one where the airco works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macnamarajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria l, sales coordinator at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your experience with us. We think very highly of the questions you have asked, we have communicated with related departments about the detils, please believe that we will improve our service according to your suggestions , and we are looking forward to your visit again to witness our improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Urumqi, even under Chinese army guard, was a terrific adventure. The Sheraton was unfortunately nearly empty. The staff were very attentive, professional, and did their best to communicate with us. The morning breakfast buffet was wonderful. Additional amenities were relaxing. It is a bit expensive, but the kingsize room seemed fairly new. We want to return to Urumqi soon and spend more time enjoying the people, fantastic variety of ethnic food, and the country.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria l, sales coordinator at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown. The staff are welcoming, most of them speak the English language. Their internet wifi and service was excellent. Maybe quality and variety of the food needs to be considered, yet, what was offered was of great taste.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria l, sales coordinator at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was my first time staying at this property. The hotel staff's command of English is very good and quite impressive. I called to ask about transportation arrangements and if a package had arrived. The staff answered my questions quickly and were very helpful. Everyone I met was very friendly at this property and I am glad that I stayed here. My friends stayed at a local hotel and they didn't even have wifi service. Compared to their hotel, the Sheraton was a much better option. The breakfast was good and the rooms were spacious and clean. The ambiance of the hotel is reminiscent of an upscale Chinese hotel. The hotel still needs to work on some SPG preferences and making sure to ask quest what platinum gift they would like upon check in. My room also had feather pillows even though it's noted on my account that I am allergic to feather pillows. I had a welcome bowl of fruit and snacks in my room. It was easy to get a taxi and the hotel is conveniently located to major restaurants and shopping areas in Urumiqi. It's also a short 50-60 yuan drive from the airport. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded if possible. Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria l, sales coordinator at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had to travel to Urumqi on business and wasn't sure what would be in-store when I chose a known brand. Was pleasantly surprised at the quite modern exterior. The staff, which is Central Asian, spoke very little English, but were refreshingly friendly and smiling brightly. The check-in process was smooth and the staff was quite helpful pointing out the various things we could do while in Urumqi - tourist attractions and shopping. The room was well furnished and quite spacious. The view was breathtaking - one could look at the snow-clad mountains and vast central asian arid lands in a distance, beyond the city.
The breakfast spread was good, quite a few local dishes which one wouldn't see elsewhere in China. The check-out experience was also good. All through, the people were so friendly, albeit in an understated way. Definitely a place to come back to.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you better views of the expanse beyond the city - the mountains and the plateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sreedhar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria l, sales coordinator at Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Urumqi Hotel, and share your stay experience with us. Thank you for your recognition of hotel services and facilities, sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
4.2 mi away
Hilton Urumqi
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 663 in Urumqi
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
0.8 mi away
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wanda Vista Hotel
Wanda Vista Hotel
#31 of 663 in Urumqi
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jinjiang International Hotel Urumqi
0.1 mi away
Mingyuan New Times Hotel
Mingyuan New Times Hotel
#55 of 663 in Urumqi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Urumqi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Urumqi Hotel

Address: No.669 Youhao North Road, Sayibake District, Urumqi 830000, China
Region: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Urumqi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urumqi
Price Range: £57 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Urumqi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Urumqi is the most premier hotel located in the capital of Xinjiang Region, managed by the famous international Starwood Hotels & Resorts. Hotel offers 398 various choices of guest rooms and suites from 40sqm to 265 sqm. The guest rooms feature well-function bathroom, LCD TVs, high speed internet connection, Rain-forest shower, Ergonomic chair and the famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. You can also enjoy the 3,000 sqm luxurious spa and comprehensive health club. Hotel offers a wide variety of specialty restaurants and comes along with over 1,400 sqm meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Urumqi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Urumqi
Urumqi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing