We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub”

O'Reilly's Irish Pub
Ranked #3 of 936 Restaurants in Ningbo
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: American, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: O'Reilly's Irish Pub has been satisfying both visitors and locals alike from the same location on Caihong Road since it opened its doors in 2006. The old "Irish pub" look has become a true landmark, and inside the pub, the turn-of-the-century Irish Saloon theme adds a welcoming charm not commonly found outside Ireland. An authentic Irish bar, drawing on the long tradition and loyal client base in Ningbo On busy nights, the atmosphere is very alive with locals and expat regulars including a strong following from the Sheraton across the street. True to its roots and still a little rough around the edges, O'Reilly's is the real deal... it's as good as it gets outside of Ireland.
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A typical Irish pub, might be China but seems like others overseas. Friendly, English speaking staff. Good standard western food. Good place for something to eat and a quiet drink and chat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank MarkFNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at O'Reilly's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi Mark, thanks for the good review and yes, sometimes I think I'm back in Ireland myself !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for O'Reilly's Irish Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great pub, with some great staff and great potential, but charging15rmb for a small cup of hot water is a bit over the top. It makes it feel like this place is just out to make money rather than look after the customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at O'Reilly's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi JC, you should not have been charged for tap water! It is not a menu item :) so I apologize for that... I tracked down the waiter and it will not happen again! We do not serve tap water for the obvious health reasons. My name is James and please ask for me the next time you're in O'Reilly's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Chinese owned, but managed by an Irishman, who I personally witnessed educating a bartender on how a correctly poured pint of Guinness should look. The friendly staff all speak English and do a great job of making you feel at ease. The crowd is a nice mix of western and Chinese. The food is better than average for a pub - I was actually pleasantly surprised. Definitely my favorite place in Ningbo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 157Joey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at O'Reilly's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you "157joey" for your comments about O'Reilly's... and that would be me you saw!! Pouring a Guinness is considered an 'art' amongst the Irish so I consider one of my roles at O'Reilly's as a 'protector of the arts' or a 'curator of the pour' if you like! see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A great place to meet other business travelers, good western menu and drinks. Chinese owned and operated but all in all a good Irish bar

Thank deedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at O'Reilly's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thanks "deedwa" and glad you had the opportunity to drop by!
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

according to my american colleagues, foods and atmosphere here are both very genuine. To me, the prices are too high for a restaurant in China.

Thank Jason Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at O'Reilly's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hello Jason Z, and thanks for your positive food and atmosphere comments regarding your recent visit to O'Reilly's. I will look at our prices to see if anything is out of place... although we have always priced our food below the norm for Ningbo, some of the imported drinks such as Guinness draft and Kilkenny draft are more costly than local beverages... also, we do have a generous 'Happy Hour' from 10am to 8pm... so look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Reilly's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to O'Reilly's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing