We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great room, great location = great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ranked #1 of 754 Hotels in Ningbo
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great staff, great room, great location = great hotel!”
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Last weekend my husband and I went to Ningbo for the weekend and we stayed at this great hotel. Especially the staff is worth mentioning here, they where so friendly and did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
Overall
The hotel is quit new and therefor very well decorated and equipped with all the best electronic equipment. Such as, easy connections in the room for your laptop/camera/dvd-player/i-pod etc. The curtains will open and close electronically, very good water pressure in the shower, heated mirror etc... The restaurants have a really nice atmosphere, especially the open kitchen is great.

Facilities :
There is a nice pool (although not so deep), fitness room, whirlpool (cold and warm), sauna and steam room. Everything is very clean and quite spacious. The only thing that western people should bare in mind (because this is China) : Sauna/Whirlpool are separate for men and women. Chinese people also spit in the swimming pool....
They have a concierge who will help you with every kind of question including some nice trips (some even complimentery!)

Location :
The hotel is convieniently located in the center of Ningbo. If you are looking for some nature, it is only a 30 minutes drive. If you stay at this hotel for leisure purposes I would advice to bring your own car or rent one so you can discover the beautiful surroundings.

Service :
As we stayed at the hotel to celebrate our anniversary, we mentioned this at the reservation form. And we were in for a big surprise! They decorated our room beautifully with rose pedals, towels in the form of swans on our bed and a very delicious chocolate cake! In addition they gave us an upgrade to the executive floor with the benefits that go with it. So this was a really great surprise and service.
The staff in the hotel is very friendly. And the service in the restaurant was great. Compliments! (all the staff speaks good English)

Food :
Breakfast, they buffet is quite extensive. I think that a Chinese guest will love it here. For our taste the bread wasn't great and the orange juice wasn't fresh. (it was at dinner??) So the breakfast wasn't the best we ever had but it will still do, so you won't leave for the day hungry.
Dinner : We enjoyed the dinner buffet. For taste there is a kind of food. From meat (freshly cooked on the BBQ) till seafood, from pasta till noodles. So this is a great value for your money.
The room :
We booked a junior suite. The room was very big and beautifully decorated. It was great! And I think it is worth the extra money compared to the standard room.

Conclusion : Although the weather was terrible, the atmosphere of the hotel, together with the very nice and friendly staff en the spacious and good appointed room made our weekend perfect to celebrate our anniversary.

PS : Only in august you will receive free internet!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edennien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    185
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
27
20
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

I've stayed at many Marriott's, and this one is very nice. Excellent service, good breakfast buffet, most staff speak english. Good location in center of city. Room was nice, comfortable. Outlets are US compatible. One thing is, for a brand new hotel, some of the tile around the shower looked a bit worn and rust stained. Not a big deal, just a little strange for such a new place. Overall cleanliness though was excellent. I got a massage at the spa and was pleased with the service and pricing. The fitness center is good, and the pool looked nice, although I didn't swim.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erock1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

After travelling around the Shanghai area on business and staying at some mediocre hotels, I was deliriously happy to check into the Marriott. Here are the reasons why:

- beautiful, new hotel with a riverside location and also close to city centre

- very well-appointed room (with nice views)

- excellent leisure facility (all fitness equipment have cardiometres and individual tv screen) that is open for 24 hours

- very good spa facility (part of the generous changing room), includes good wet area, with hot and cold jacuzzi, dry/finnish sauna, steam/Turkish bath

- excellent and very big breakfast buffet choice, with sufficient choice for Chinese or International food. Love the healthy options (salad bar), including 5 -6 types of individually bottled, freshly squeezed juice.

All in all, I am glad to have found the hotel - and can only recommend it highly to others!

  • Liked — Gym, Pool, Breakfast Buffet, Bed, Views
  • Disliked — No complaints yet!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PlanetTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Fantastic hotel with great view of the river, should the say the best in Ningbo. The service is excellent as they made my stay really comfortable.

  • Liked — Service and the location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CAASG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 754 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#5 of 754 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Ningbo
The Westin Ningbo
#11 of 754 in Ningbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
#4 of 754 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningbo Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningbo Marriott Hotel

Property: Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Address: No.188 Heyi Road, Haishu District, Ningbo 315000, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
#1 Spa Hotel in Ningbo
#3 Business Hotel in Ningbo
#11 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ningbo Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city and alongside the Yao Jiang River, next to the City Government Office, Zhongshan Park and Tian Yi Square, the largest shopping mall in the city. It is only 20 minutes away by car from Ningbo International Airport. With the Hangzhou Bay Bridge opening, it will take 2.5 hours by car from Ningbo to Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ningbo Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Ningbo
Ningbo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing