We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent option for Ningbo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Ranked #5 of 753 Hotels in Ningbo
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent option for Ningbo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I've been to this hotel for the first time for two nights. I was surprised by the quality of stay and of the hotel in general. It's a little bit far from downtown but it is well located not far from shopping centers and restaurants.

Rooms are top quality. Fitness centre and swimming pool are very good too. Service is very friendly and efficient. The rates for the rooms is very competitive and it offers an excellent value and a awesome ratio quality/price. Breakfast is also very good and impressive by the options proposed.

As points to improve: room service is ridiculous expensive (one meal I had in room costed me more than one night in the hotel) for a quality not so good. Also, I had reserved a double bed room and when I arrived I was informed that there was only single beds room. Respect to reservation requirements is essential in my point of view, and it was not the case for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugolpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Bonjour!
Greetings from Ningbo.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Wanda Ningbo.
I apologise for the issue you encountered with the room we have allocated you without following your reservation.
Also we'll focus more on the room service food quality.
I'll share your comments with my team and rest reassured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    215
    38
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
17
36
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cjgator
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed here several times while visiting the area for work over the past couple of years. The hotel rooms are starting to feel quite warn with stains on the carpet and general ware and tear although still pretty decent. The highlight is the lobby staff, both at the bar and the check-in are awesome!!! Some of the best I have experienced in China. An added benefit is the hotel is located next to a nice mall that you can walk through in the evenings and has some western chains such as Starbucks, Pizza Hut and KFC. The breakfast if looking for western food is ok, the crepes are the best bet!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Bonjour!
Greetings from Ningbo.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Wanda Ningbo.
Regarding the carpet, I'd like to inform that we have already completed rooms with new carpet and we are still on-going. However I apologise for the room that has been allocated to you.
It is true that Wanda Plaza is located just next to the hotel and it is very convenient for dining or shopping too.
I'll share your valuable comments with my team.
We hope also that your next visit will as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind regards,

Olivier Revy
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Sofitel Wanda Ningbo is a new hotel in a quiet location away from the bustle of the city. I stayed with eight other family members, occupying four rooms. The rooms were cozy with great amenities. We had issues with the air-conditioning (erratic!), but the staff was extremely helpful and attentive in trying to get it resolved. The breakfast spread was great. LOTS of food and variety, but it almost seemed wasteful because my family made up more than half the guests in the room. I'd like to commend the staff, especially the front desk. They were very helpful with all our needs, and had great attitudes and friendly demeanors. I would return if I ever pass through Ningbo again. It looked like some retail was being built around the hotel, so the location should have more conveniences and activities soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Bonjour!
Greetings from Ningbo.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Wanda Ningbo.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I'll share your comments with the team and especially with Front Desk.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind regards,

Olivier Revy
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I spent three nights in this hotel and found it quite pleasant and relatively affordable for business travel. The breakfast buffet is exceptional. I thought it a bit funny that the Chinese customers were seated in one area of the dining area and the non-Chinese customers were seated in another area nearer to the Western style breakfast foods. The only negative was the totally unpredictable air conditioning which made uninterrupted sleep difficult. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vogljg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Sofitel Wanda Ningbo!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are really happy to hear that you like our breakfast and our service.

On the other hand, I have well noted your comments regarding to the A/C problem you experienced during your stay. I'll share your comment with our Engineering team and rest reassured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future!

Olivier Revy
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunshan, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here with my family over a weekend. Check-in took a bit too long, but I would say still in a acceptable time. Room was nice, but it showed it's age already. Breakfast was good of quality but the arrangement is a bit confusing and spread over a wide area. Staff were not up to the guest.
I always had to ask for a coffee. A little bit more pro activity would be appreciated, that's what I would expect from a Sofitel. Overall I would rate it as a standard stay with slight higher price points but the service level was not exactly to that point. Not too critical, but as mentioned, I would expect a little bit more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobtown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Bobtown55,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo.
We regret to hear that your check-in and breakfast experience didn't meet your expectation, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies! Your comments will certainly be looked into for further improvement to ensure that we provide our guest with the best service at all times.
Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future!

Warm regards,

Olivier Revy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Staff were very helpful and accomodating.
Rooms were well serviced.
Concierge did well with our lack of Chinese
Beds were very confortable
Food beautifully presented.
Breakfast Chief was a very happy chap and the head of food service was excellent (Ophelia)



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mr. Chris P,

Bonjour!

On behalf of the whole team at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo, I would like to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor!

It is with great pleasure that we read your wonderful comments about your experience at our hotel. We are inspired to hear that you enjoyed our service and facilities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo in the nearest future!

Warm regards,

Olivier Revy
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
363 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Liked the decor, Le Club Accorhotels Platinum treatment and the fact that the Wanda mall is next door.

But I woke up early in the morning when it was 26 celcius inside. Very uncomfortable. The hotel didn't have AC turned on. The only solution was to get maintenance to open the window that resulted noise from the busy traffic and air pollution. The hotel apparently cannot have both heat and the cool air on at the same time.

The water pressure in the shower is extremely poor.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LoyaltyLobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineforSofitel, Quality Assurance, Marketing & Communications Manager at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear LoyaltyLobby, Bonjour!

Thank you so much staying with us at Sofitel Wanda Ningbo and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are really proud to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our Hotel and that you appreciated the very convenient location of our Hotel right in the heart of Yingzhou.

On the other hand, I have well noted your comments regarding our. Please accept your apologies for the fact that we were not able to turn on the cooling system at this time of the year which is, indeed, due to a technical hardware issue that doesn't allow us to have both heating and cooling functions turned on at the same time. However, what we can do for you next time you stay with us is to allocate a room on the other side of our building according to your preferences. Please feel free to send me your contact details privately so that we can update your guest profile accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Best Regards,

Antoine Brossard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
3.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Ningbo East
Novotel Ningbo East
#9 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
#4 of 753 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Wanda Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Ningbo

Property: Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Address: No.899 Siming Middle Road, Yinzhou District, Ningbo 315192, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 753 Hotels in Ningbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Wanda Ningbo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo is the landmark of Wanda Plaza, which is ideally located in Yinzhou business centre. This international luxury five star hotel reflected the true ‘L’art de recevoir’ in every aspect of its services. The elaborately furnished 290 guestrooms and suites, the versatile grand ballroom and 4 well-equipped meeting & function rooms and the Spa & leisure facilities, extensive array of dining options and friendly hotel staffs makes Sofitel the perfect address for your stay in Ningbo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing