We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced dinner buffet for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Ranked #2 of 768 Hotels in Ningbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Another visit to Shangri-la, but this time for the dinner buffet.
When you compare the extensive offer available in Ningbo, and the quality of the food, Sahngri-La is really over-priced, for half the price you have the HOJO (Riviera), where the quality and variety of food, and the staff attitude (even when crowded) is much better than Shangri-La .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

I travel in China extensively and have stayed at most of the 5 star hotels in Ningbo. This is definitely my favourite , simply because the staff , especially at Breakfast are so friendly. This is the second time I have stayed in his hole in the last year and if anything it was better than my first stay. Book a room overlooking the river on high floor and the night time view is great.
You can walk into downtown Ningbo in 10 minutes and also 10 minutes to the Bund, where a whole host of western style bars and restaurants are located. Executive rooms are excellent and my experience is the staff cannot do enough for you. Very good.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank LuluNorthYorks_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

If you re thinking to book in this hotel , please make sure there is no group seminar at the same time . I stayed this Shangri La 2 nights this week and there were about 400 people from Shell oil cie at the same time !!! Hotel was in absolute chaos ! coming back from working day you dont expect to wait 20 minutes waiting for an elevator in the middle of 50 or 100 shell people also waiting ; no hotel staff , no managers , nobody to assist !!! this happened the 2 days in a row . As there was still no elevator available after 30 minutes I had to find a manager and ask for the staff elevator ... there were about 6 to 8 absolutely free but nobody would think to use them !!!
Same problems to get taxis in the morning or evening
Nothing was planned or organised for other guests during the stay of this huge group. For an hotel of reputation of Shangri La and price asked for , I think this is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank caluire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLNB_JS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very disappointed that we do not meet your expectations on the elevator traffic control and taxi service during your stay in our hotel.

We have taken note of your comments. It is indeed not the Shangri-La hospitality that you have come to expect. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience encountered as specified. Actions will be taken to rectify the situation as soon as impossible.

Would you please provide us more details via E-mail to Jacqueline.shen@shangri-la.com, so we may investigate and take necessary action to improve our service if needed. We sincerely look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

As usual in most of Shangri-La properties, this one has a very good service from all the staff I encounter during my stay, especially in the main restaurant where they have two ladies (Tiny and Sunny) that can go the extra mile to make sure the guest is well attended and showed a very good initiative to solve some issues that I raised during my stay.

The hotel is well located in the city and the trip to airport will take around 30 minutes and will cost you around 40 to 45 RMB. The Ningbo train station is 20 minutes by taxi and a maximum of 15 RMB.

Room was spacious and with very good lighting. Internet speed was better than in many other hotels in China. Maybe the restaurants are not as good as other Shangri-La properties in China like for example in Qingdao, but the excellent service attitude I encounter compensated that by far.

This is an excellent choice in Ningbo and I will stay again in future if I have to come back to this city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The problem of this large 5 star hotel chain is that their outlets all seem too large and too perfect to be real. At least the recent constructions all seem to be the same wherever you go, and they are all somehow perfect, but therefore boring. The franchise in Ningbo is a case in point. When you are in it, there is no reason to complain about anything, but you will not really know where you are. The hotel is indistinguishable from its sisters elsewhere.
In other words, it is hard to find a thing to complain about. Maybe that the spa is outrageously expensive? The lobby bar is utterly boring, despite the coquettish staff? See, just trifles.

Room Tip: Get a river view. I don't mean to say the spa is bad, it is just overpriced.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

After a 14 hours of flying time and another 3 hrs on the road, it was a refreshing first stop in a short week in China. The hotel staff warmly greeted us at 10:00 at night, and the hotel was very clean. Rooms were excellent, well appointed, clean, and beds were very comfortable. Pillows were firm, not the crappy down stuffed type, but very nice.
The morning buffet was excellent. Many food choices, and they understood when I asked for just egg whites only for my eggs. Not very common in China.
The staff was very attentive, and addressed all our concerns. English was not an issue. Future stays will be booked at this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quite. No real issues.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I travel to Ningbo several times each year, yet this time I thought I would give the Shangri-La a try.
I was impressed with the service, the cleanliness of the rooms and facilities available.
The Free Shuttle to Shanghai was a blessing.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
0.9 mi away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 768 in Ningbo
541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#4 of 768 in Ningbo
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
#3 of 768 in Ningbo
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Ningbo
The Westin Ningbo
#11 of 768 in Ningbo
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo

Address: No.88 Yuyuan Road, Ningbo 315040, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 768 Hotels in Ningbo
Price Range: £84 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo 5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ningbo’s leading commercial district, the Shangri-La Hotel, Ningbo is the city’s newest and most luxurious hotel. Overlooking the confluence of the city’s three rivers, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Ningbo’s largest shopping area, Tianyi Square, and near to all major tourist attractions. Ningbo Lishe International Airport is just 20 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing