We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Nanyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nanyuan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 768 Hotels in Ningbo
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days for business. The price was good, good hotel location and friendly staff. bedroom was good too and the bed was comfortable , so this hotel was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Nanyuan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

It is refreshing to see a local operated 5 star hotel living up to expectation, particularly I was able to see something that I don't see very often in China these days - smiles. The hotel staff are well trained. They smiled all the time, courteous, and proactive. For example, they gave late checkout at two without hassle, they offered to buy a pack of smoke and send it to my room, everyone said hi to you, all the little things that will make you feel warm. The room was good and comfortable. I was put in the business wing which was supposed to be the better of all three blocks. I believed it has been renovated so no complain. If you are trying to compare with a western chain I would say this would rank as a 4.5 star international standard. But the business wing is indeed only 100 meters from the rail line FYI. Morning buffets have a lot of variaties, but as they try to include local and provincial Chinese, Japan, and International in the menu, western tourists might find western selection slightly limited. The thing that really blew the trip was the cashier, who was stone faced and insisted that they charged for one of the missing key cards at RMB 30, not a whole lot but I really think this should not be a charged item, considering I was paying for a fairly high price at a fairly high room rate category. Anyway did not win the arguement, winded up paying for it. Still debating if that was the end of my Nanyuan experience.

Room Tip: Hotels have three wings, the North Wing is the oldest, the Main Building, and the Business Wing (new...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mctdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very good hotel if a little expensive for China
Excellent Chinese restaurant, one of the best
All staff were very keen and there are many of them
Room a bit dated, not five star but it was clean and functional
Shopping in the arcade horribly expensive

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

i had been to ningbo from 22 april to 25 april stayed at nanyuan hotel which is superb in all aspect like room service, hospitality ,warm welcome on arrival , rooms are so neat and clean as well as toilet so there no chance of complain. there is one indian food restaurant which provides all indian food with reasonable price and is very near to NANYUAN hotel , breakfast excellant but very less scope for veg food,especially for jain community its very difficult ,nevertheless except food this property is great in all aspect,and i would definitely prefer to stay thereonly. just great

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHAVESHMUMBAI_INDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Super. Had a family suite, excellent.
Clean and large. Breakfast excellent.
Ate a la carte one evening. Superb food.
Excellent staff. Looked after some cases while we went to Beijing for a couple of days.
Shaun the door man, was most helpful, with shopping etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I have stayed at the Nanyuan multiple times while on business in Ningbo (with VIP status) and it seems to have declined from the premier 5 star hotel it once was. The lobby is still grand and there are no major cleanliness issues but it is the service that has declined. With the opening of Western brand hotel chains such as the Shangri-La and Westin in Ningbo, the Nanyuan has steadily become much less Westerner friendly and even less attractive to the Ningbo elite. The fleets of supercars that once filled the valet on a Friday night are no more; the English speaking staff have disappeared and the Western breakfast buffet options are almost all gone. Granted, it is still suitable for a business or leisure stay but there are now better options available.

Room Tip: The wing to the left on entry is much nicer
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed for business at the NanYuan hotel in Ningbo in May 2012 and again in August 2012. Since the last time i visited Ningbo in 2007 the hotel made some changes.
The restaurant looks different, and the food offer especially for breakfast is now more Chinese then western, but tastes great.
The rooms are nice, big enough and clean. The beds in the main building are nice and soft.
The service is good and staff are very friendly and helpful.
The only downside is that the formerly known Piano bar reduced in size, and does not attract any people. In May 2012 the bar (Vikings bar) was still open but hardly any visitors, in August the bar was closed for unknown reason.
For me the Nanyuan is still ok but maybe in future it's worth trying another hotel that maybe offers more entertainment at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 768 in Ningbo
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#4 of 768 in Ningbo
580 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 768 in Ningbo
542 reviews
1.0 mi away
Citic Ningbo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanyuan Hotel

Address: No.2 Lingqiao Road, Haishu District, Ningbo 315010, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
#16 Business Hotel in Ningbo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nanyuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nanyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanyuan Hotel Ningbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing