We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louzy filipino band”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
Ranked #16 of 757 Hotels in Ningbo
Shenzhen, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Louzy filipino band”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Hotel is good but entertainement is funny. The filipino band is amazing , the guitarist makes dummy play, he just use a sound generator.

Except that, hotel is very well located in the center of the city close to pedestrian area and easy for business.

Western restaurant is OK, service good

Room Tip: Choose North building, western style. The south building rooms are Chinese style. Avoid the bar, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPT1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    164
    61
    11
    10
See reviews for
7
9
16
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The hotel is old but some of the rooms are refurbished, unfortunately i only knew that while i was checking out, otherwise i would have asked to change my room to a newer one.

The hotel is ok in general, i would give it 3* nothing more. the location is excellent and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a new refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel and I wasn't disappointed. As a Priority Club member I stay in a lot of IHG hotels around the world and this is one of the better ones. The service and facilities are excellent and the room very confortable. Nice friendly bar which is important if you're travelling alone on business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazShawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

excecutive lounge on whole floor。south floor rooms more old then north floor rooms to know if you check in!sauna costs extra。hotel already older

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for one night while on business travel in Ningbo and was pleased with this relatively new hotel. it has all the standards of a Crowne Plaza - rooms are nicely designed with a modern feel, good service and spacious lobby. I am constantly amazed at the good value for money the Chinese hotels provide and this is no exception. My room provides a good view of the surrounding city center but it was unfortunate I did not get the opportunity to explore the shops.

Overall a great stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhimLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a Superior Room in the south wing. The location is great, across the street from Tian Yi Square, right in the middle of the old town Ningbo where you have great access to all the shopping and dining options. The hotel is branded as a five-star, but i don’t see anything that comes even close. For one, the service is kind of cold and certainly not what you expect from a real five-star hotel. One time when I needed a cab, the lead bellman said OK and then turned around to a younger bellman “asking” (not in a polite way) him to go and get a cab - it is ok if you delegate but not in front of a guest and especially not in that impolite manner. I did encounter a few staff members that were nice but most others seem to not care much.

The lobby has a faux-european look and is pretty interesting, but i just wish the lighting could be brighter. Leaving the lobby, taking the elevator to your floor, you immediately know this is a old hotel. The room is said to be newly renovated - the carpet is clean and the bed is fairly comfortable. However, this is where the good things stop. The bedroom is pretty tight and the furniture is worn. The bathroom is like from 80s and never properly renovated. No separate shower and tub. The water pressure is pretty weak. There are many signs here and there throughout the room suggesting it is old. The room looks better in my pictures than in the real world. I think the hotel has an image problem. As the oldest five-star hotel in the city, it has never received proper renovations to keep up with the competition. I know that its rate is much lower than other five-star hotels in the city, but if you boast yourself as five-star, you’d better offer both great hardware and service to back it up. Unfortunately it has got neither. If it is rated as four-star, i think most people will be fine with it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sander9t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

On paper, the Crowne Plaza Ningbo City Center looks like a prime 5 star hotel - a superb location across from a sprawling shopping mall and a vast array of shopping, dining, and entertainment nearby, an impressively lofty lobby, a good selection of restaurants and recreation options, and the promise of a Western brand name.

However, after checking in, you discover that your room is cramped, with an even smaller bathroom and a tiny work desk barely large enough for the average laptop computer. The poorly soundproofed windows means that the roar of outside traffic (even on the 18th floor) is present at all hours of the night. The swimming pool is under renovation and the fitness center features a creaky weight machine with plastic plugs and other debris raining down on you during use.

Good points: an excellent breakfast buffet and fine service in the restaurants and front desk.

Overall, the Crowne Plaza is a reasonable 4-star hotel, but the 5-star signs prominently displayed on the building and the lobby raise expectations that are generally not met. On the next trip to Ningbo, I would check out the Westin down the street before booking the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: book an even numbered room - the view won't be as nice but it is quieter as it doesn't face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwwyjjliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 757 in Ningbo
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 757 in Ningbo
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#4 of 757 in Ningbo
568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
#3 of 757 in Ningbo
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citic Ningbo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo

Property: Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
Address: No.129 Yaohang Street, Ningbo 315010, China (Formerly Mirage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
#15 Business Hotel in Ningbo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated across from the Cathedral and Tian Yi Square, Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo is located in the city s financial, commercial, cultural and leisure center area, and just walking distance to City God s Temple, Tian Yi Pavilion, and Moon Lake. Being just 2 KM to the Railway Station, 20 KM to Ningbo Airport, and with its two levels of underground parking lot, the hotel can offer convenient transport for travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo Hotel Ningbo
Crowne Plaza Ningbo
Ningbo Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing