We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all for such an old hotel in China” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
Ranked #13 of 749 Hotels in Ningbo
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Not bad at all for such an old hotel in China”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

When I first visited Ningbo more than ten years ago, this hotel was already there in the city centre. The hotel's description is apt, as it is indeed in the centre of Ningbo on Tian Yi Square and that perhaps is its biggest USP. Over the years, I have seen it getting tired and more drab than ever, as I tried other newer hotels in this beautiful sea-side city.

It was thus by sheer luck that I stayed in this hotel; I was attending a conference and was put up there. There was no choice, so to speak. I was given an older room during my week-long stay, and was told that the cost was no more than RMB 500 per night before taxes. This is considered cheap in Ningbo, although corporate rates at the nearby Westin and Shangri-la seem to be able to get even better rates. Never mind that; we know that the charges aren't exorbitant.

So the expectations were not high either. But to my pleasant surprise, the good-sized room was relatively well-maintained and it seems some renovations have been carried out in earlier years to install a tiny, separate shower stall complete with rain shower, and addition of WiFi hotspots and a flat-screen 32" LCD TV set. The carpets must have been changed 1-2 years ago just as they are relatively clean and still look somewhat new. I am pleased indeed, and even though the overall look and feel of the room still seem trapped in the late 1980s or early 1990s style (I can sense the music of Whitney Houston playing in the background and commercial pre-selling the sitcom Growing Pains as I switch on the TV using the antiquated remote control) and that feeling is weird, especially for a middle-age person like me.

I went to have a look at their restaurants, which are nothing to shout about. The conference organisers had several meals at the hotel itself and I must say the cuisine was nothing to write home about. Breakfast was adequate but not particularly tasty, and service is pass-able except for some horrendous internal staff quibbles right before my eyes at the reception desk when I checked out. Anything extra which you require usually draw blanks from the staff from the cafeteria to the concierge and finally to the banquet hall staff. They are trained to be so, and do not stress them out by expecting extras and specials beyond their normal duties and intelligence.

Which is not surprising, at the end of the day. You get what you pay for, and since the amount charged was nowhere near an arm and a leg, let's not try to split hairs here and expect these boys -- and girls -- to go beyond the call of duty. Nice, neat and to the point. No nonsense, no specials and no nothing either. That, in a nutshell, is what you should expect from this lacklustre but still adequate outfit on Ningbo's hospitality map.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal the Fat Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhang J, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking time to write about us, and thank you again for your good comments on our room condition, and in-rooms amenities. The hotel was opened 2001, but our South Tower was opened in 2007. Many of our rooms are facing to the garden view, Tianyi shopping square view; which is liked by many guests. Your comments on buffet food quality and cafe staff service is very much concerned by the hotel management, the improvement measure has been taken action, do hope you will choose our hotel again in your next time to Ningbo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    159
    60
    11
    9
See reviews for
6
9
15
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Spent Saturday 5/25/13 visiting Ningbo. Lots to do, especially in the center of town. This hotel is right across the street from Tianyi square. For those not familiar with Ningbo, Tianyi Square has tons of shopping and restaurants plus a huge Tesco Supermarket with about anything you might need including a whole department store with non-grocery items.
The hotel rooms are very nice and fully appointed. Brunch (not included in my room rate since I was using points) was 98RMB and worth it for the variety of offerings both western and traditional Chinese.

Room Tip: I have not stayed in a bad room on this property. The rooms are spacious and the baths fully equipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPoloStarr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhang J, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your home away from home. The hotel is in the center of the city, with nearby Sanjiangkou River side, Tianyi Shopping Mall, Old Chenghuangmiao food street. It is very good for weekend, family tour. Hope to come to our hotel again when your next trip to Ningbo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Last night I stayed at this hotel for a night. The check in staff was very good and very fast. Gave me a king room as booked on the higer floor. The lotel is very clean and a great location for business travel. For dinner i was first going to call for in my room but then decided to go to the western restaurant. I think I made the right decision. The spread was superb.Did notknow what to eat and what to leave. The Chef from Pakistan was very good as he got me bbq lamb chop which was very good. The only minus point that many of yhe service crew did not speak English. Surely will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel is still in the 80's. all the furniture is old and dated Needs complete refurbishment.
I would never stay in this property again as there are better hotels in the vicinity. Location is the only plus point for the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhang J, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your stay in Ningbo. Yes, our hotel was opened in 2001, and our new South Tower was opened in 2007. It is in the center of NIngbo, most of our rooms facing to the city view, garden view, and Tianyi Shopping Square. Do wish you come again trying a difference experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

After a long journey we finally got to this hotel where we were staying for 3 days. Good service and straight forward checking in process. Rooms a bit small than I am used to but are new moden with everything you need. Breakfast was ok but a disappointing buffet dinner. There are many places to eat near by which are a 5 minutes walk. Bar is excellent, live entertainment by a variety of singers. The staff and singers are very friendly and make you feel welcome in there company. We stayed in the bar in the eevening's as the cocktails were as good as they get worldwide. Would stay here again again when I return to Ningbo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22shak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhang J, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for your valuable comments on our hotel location and good service. Regarding the breakfast ,we have made a very much improvement since our new executive appointed recently. Hopefully you will enjoy our buffet breakfast next time staying in our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. Found the hotel to be impressive and very well placed right in the city and seconds away from the shops and stores. A decent restaurant with a variety of cuisines although fairly basic. The indian chefs made a real effort to ensure we had good food and even cooked us an individual dish which was worth its weight in gold. Live singing is a treat and helps liven the place up. The same girls later sing in beer bar and again try to raise the ceiling. They are not TV stars but give it there very best and make every effort to keep everyone entertained constantly. The rooms where just ok and seem to be getting a little tired. A refurb will be due soon.... but I must say they where clean and well made every morning and the bed was one of the best I ever slept in. The hotel is good value and I have no real complaints. FARE WELL.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kul555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff who are attentive to your needs, standard rooms are modern but on the small side.
Resturant give a wide variety of foods with live cooking stations, Indian chefs are superb and made me the best Lamb Chops ever.
The bar is fun with live entertainment and even better cocktails all very reasonably priced.
If I return to Ningbo I'll be staying here for sure.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#4 of 749 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 749 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 749 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Ningbo
The Westin Ningbo
#10 of 749 in Ningbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citic Ningbo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo

Property: Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
Address: No.129 Yaohang Street, Ningbo 315010, China (Formerly Mirage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
#15 Business Hotel in Ningbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated across from the Cathedral and Tian Yi Square, Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo is located in the city s financial, commercial, cultural and leisure center area, and just walking distance to City God s Temple, Tian Yi Pavilion, and Moon Lake. Being just 2 KM to the Railway Station, 20 KM to Ningbo Airport, and with its two levels of underground parking lot, the hotel can offer convenient transport for travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo Hotel Ningbo
Crowne Plaza Ningbo
Ningbo Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing