We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel with the best service so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Ranked #8 of 775 Hotels in Ningbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I don't know where to start since there are plenty good reviews and only one average review about this hotel. I will try to make it simple.

Positives reviews:
1. Arrival
We were welcomed with great smile, they straight away offer you to take your luggage. The difference with others is they do it sincerely, it's not like they expect tips like in any other country or hotel. as soon as you go to the reception, a hot towel and tea are there for you.

2. The room
a. the bed is very comfy and big
b. Internet, we had trouble with the wifi, they straight away send someone and plug in a personal router for your room.
c. The bathroom was very clean and nice.
d. they have a pillow menu
e. 24 hours buttler service (I don't think it's for every room)
f. Housekeeping is spot on

3. The Breakfast
a. service was amazing and i mean it in every way
b. Food was really good in term of quality and variety.

4. The dinner
a. value for money definitely
b. Variety is the best i've seen so far
c. Service again is the best i've ever got in any hotel any restaurant.

5. The lounge, service again is the highlight of this lounge.

The bad (i feel bad writing the bad, as this means nothing compared to all the goods):
1. Deposit
first stay we stayed for 7 nights, it seems like there is not a SOP for deposit. They first asked us for 3000 RMB, which we think is way too much, then they asked for 1000 RMB which we agreed on. (don't worry, i don't think they want to cheat you)

2. Chinese Restaurat
It's not as good as Westin hotel in terms of the rooms and food and price. but still good.

In conclusion, the service of this hotel alone is enough to make me come back there and to recommend anyone who's going to ningbo to stay there.

In fact, it's one of those things which i will talk about for a long time.
Well done HoJo Ningbo, you exceeded every expectation and so far, HoJo is ranked 1 in my world. Thank you.

Room Tip: choose the one with the butler service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarliDaksina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

I am still staying at this hotel while writting this review. No need to see further to write review. I did not think at this large scale of hotel have such an excellent service. Smile faces on every each of the staff, eventhough they cant speak english to well but they try hard to satisfy each customer. Wifi is fast and free, they help install it. There was a bug in the room which was not their fault coz we opened the window when we asked them to help, a few friendly staff came to search the bug, amazing. We asked directions, rent car. They have wide range pillow and mattrasses to choose. They always offer help in carrying stuff, they always wave when leaving. The breakfast also very very nice. This is crazy and unbelievable perfection, i will give not two thumbs up but 3 thumbs up. So many stories to share about this hotel, guys do not hesitate to stay at this hotel, you will be 110% satisfied. I am staying for 7 nights and 2 more nights next week, next time i visit ningbo, this will be definitely my hotel to stay for sure. Excellent, outstanding, unbelievable 

Room Tip: Whichever room, amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

As a regular business traveller to China, this is a stopover I look forward to more than most. Great value, huge rooms and convenient location. The one thing that sets this place apart from most hotels is the level of service. There are staff always on hand and the attention to detail is unbelievable. On arrival your private butler will unpack your case, pour your tea arrange a late night snack, acquire you a specific pillow, run a bath etc etc

Breakfast could do with some work but apart from that very difficult to fault

Room Tip: The corner rooms are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I stayed again at the Howard Johnson Hotel in June of this year. As usual we found the hotel to be absolutely excellent, the rooms are beautifully furnished with a very high standard of cleanliness. The beds are particularly comfortable.The staff were always very helpful and had a smile on their faces at all times. They all had a little English and would attempt to practise a few words with us (they seemed to have more English than we had Chinese!). As westerners we were delighted to make the acquaintance of Mr Andrew Herdman, who is a fountain of knowledge about the hotel in particular and NIngbo in general. If we needed anything at all we were confident that he would be able to help us. A very minor criticism is that we didn't always find the breakfast food to our liking but that is personal taste and not the fault of the hotel. What was also pleasing was that whenever we returned to the hotel we were "welcomed back" by the door staff, who incidentally were very helpful if we needed to find a taxi. All in all we would have no hesitation in recommending the Howard Johnson Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stopped at this hotel a couple of times when visiting friends in Ningbo. Rooms are very comfortable and service excellent. Hotel staff are excellent and there is an English guest relations manager who was particularly helpful.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was excellent can't say about other rooms but have no reason to believe the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed one night. After the chaos in the airport since we arrived on the last flight and everything was closed. It was nice to walk into a hotel of friendly staff. The cold towel and drink upon check in was most welcomed. The rooms were nice and the butler service was much appreciated. Breakfast was a good selection. Upon chek out they ave me a memer card and a small discount.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Madamebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and it is liked being greeted as part of the family each time I return. The Hotel Staff are wonderful, very friendly and extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble. One of the Staff named Blue actually escorted me to a nearby tour office and waited for me to escort me back to the hotel. The Hotel itself is imaculate, the amenities are great, the cafe, dining rooms and bakery are first class. I like the location because I like to walk rather than take taxis to most places. It is across the road from the beautiful Moon Lake, close to some good restaurants and the Tianyi Library, one of the oldest libraries in China. It is also a good walk through local neighbour hoods to Tianyi Square, the main shopping area where you can grab a pair of Gucci Shoes, have a coffee at Starbucks, grab a quick meal at Kung Fung (the chinese equivilant to fast food) then get your groceries at Tesco before heading back to the hotel to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
1.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 775 in Ningbo
628 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#5 of 775 in Ningbo
585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 775 in Ningbo
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
0.7 mi away
Nanyuan Hotel
Nanyuan Hotel
#19 of 775 in Ningbo
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
#3 of 775 in Ningbo
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo

Address: No.230 Liuting Street, Ningbo 315010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ningbo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
Price Range: £57 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo Hotel Ningbo
Howard Johnson Ningbo
Ningbo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing