We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old charm for better or worse but fine overall..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shaoxing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shaoxing Hotel (Huanshan Road)
Ranked #5 of 186 Hotels in Shaoxing
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old charm for better or worse but fine overall..”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We just had a good visit here. Got a fair price from Ctrip and a very comfortable room. A large diverse breakfast provided every morning enhanced the experience. Three major drawbacks were i) people still smoking in their rooms, leaving the doors open intentionally for "air" and the smoke permeating the halls and into the other "non-smoking" rooms; ii) no wireless in the room, iii) the sauna, jacuzzi and pools were for males only. How old school can you get? So my wife and I never used them. Still a little questionable but woulld stay here again as the beds were comfy and large and you can see at one point it was a 4 star place, now nostalgia looms large so that adds some charm I suppose.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    51
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
6
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Excellent hotel! Well located and set in an interesting complex of traditional buildings, the hotel provides great accommodation, fast free wired internet, and an excellent restaurant.

I stayed here with family, as our roots are from a nearby village and the hotel was extremely comfortable. We had a Deluxe Standard room in Building 6, and each of the rooms comes with everything you'd expect from a 4-5* hotel in this part of the world. The bathrooms were beautifully clean, and all of the fixtures were of a high standard. Like much of China though, the beds were hard by European standards. The breakfast was a mixture of Chinese and Western food, though the Chinese food was considerably better than the Western offerings. We ate a couple of times for other meals in the restaurant and were very impressed by the authentic cuisine on offer, and at a very reasonable price!

The internet in the room was included, fast and allowed VPN connections. Linking a MacBook Pro to it, we could create our own wireless network for tablet and phones alike.

We will certainly stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkqd1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I really liked the hotel itself and its superb location. The hotel is located in road to mountain park. In mornings they are many people going to exercise this area. Since the location in near mountain it is a cool place. The hotel is decorated like traditional palaces and in consists of multiple 3-5 story buildings. It has ponds with a plenty of goldfish with Chinese, western restaurants. The room was comfortable and big enough with a nice bathroom. If you are in area, it worths to stay there 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stood at the Shaoxing Hotel for two night in February 2012. The rooms are simple and practical but need a facelift. Not the cleanest anymore either. The building itself is nice but not nice enough. It still feels more like an ordinary chinese 5-star hotel than an ancient retreat. Breakfast is of very low standard and comparable to cheap 3-star hotels. Anyway, location is perfect right at the mountain and in walking distance to the beautiful old town. On my next stay in Shaoxing I will choose a different hotel.

Not so nice experience is that the breakfast room at night turns to a wedding hall. The effect for the attached restrooms is that they are vomited all over after 21:00 and still smelly at the next morning.

Note: The is a construction site right nixt to the hotel which just picked up operation. They work until 3:00 in the morning. Be aware when you pick a room to the back of Building 8.

Room Tip: Never stay in Building 8, avoid streetside and first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CYTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai&NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My husband son and I stayed at this charming hotel for just one night on a recent weekend trip to Shaoxing. It is a group of low rise traditional looking Chinese structures set among gardens and pools filled with goldfish. There are six buildings with various levels of accommodations and the rates vary accordingly. Buildings 5 and 6 are the most upscale. We had a suite on the third floor of building 6 which consisted of a king bedroom of average size, a bathroom with separate shower stall and toilet enclosure, a walk in closet, a comfortable sitting room with an alcove for a rollaway bed, and an additional 1/2 bath. The rooms were extremely clean and well furnished. We paid about US $200, but there are manly less expensive rooms. The view from the bedroom looked over a garden to a wooded hillside at the top of which was a pagoda. The view from the sitting room and entry was of one of the ponds and looked out over the other buildings. I would rate this hotel upper four star, at least regarding the common areas and the rooms in building 6. I did not view rooms in the other buildings.

We did not see any other western people in the hotel. Some of the staff seemed to speak only adequate English, but our son speaks Chinese so we did not need them to produce their best English speaking staff members. The were very helpful and capable in assisting us with ongoing travel reservations.

The Chinese restaurant was good and very reasonable. It was local, not western Chinese food. The dining room was attractive, again surrounded by pools and gardens. We only visited one of the hotel's restaurants. The breakfast was mainly a Asian, but had some western items including an egg cooking station.The breakfast was included in the room price.

I highly recommend this lovely peaceful hotel in central Shaoxing.

  • Liked — Chinese charm
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghai_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

I usually stay at another hotel in Shaoxing, but my local friend convinced me to try this hotel on my current trip...I was quite impressed.

The hotel is set up more like a resort, with several low buildings [3-4 floors each] gathered together to create interior courtyards with gardens and a large fish pond.

This hotel would be a great place for an out-of-the-way group meeting and was a very comfortable place to stay for just me. The standard rooms I stayed in [actually checked in twice on the same trip, about a week apart] were both a good size [about as big as a typical up-scale room in USA] but the decor was well above average. [see photos]. There was a sliding wall between the bath and the bed areas if you wanted to open the space up a bit more..

I would not call this a luxury property, but definitely very comfortable, clean and peaceful. I've stayed in 100+ hotels in China.
.. This one is in my top 5 and the rate was less than US $100 per night.

The only slight negative was the buffet breakfast...It was not bad, just not up to par with the quality of the hotel. 4.5 out of 5 overall.

  • Liked — Peaceful, Comfortable, Clean
  • Disliked — Buffet breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramblin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

If you are ever in this part of the worlds this is a beautiful Chinese hotel.

For $150 i had a suite with 2 bathrooms, living room, dressing room, foyer, and desk with computer and monitor. The bathroom was average size, but had glass shower stall with rainfall head, wand and a separate bathtub with sliding doors that opened up to the bedroom to add light. Seperate drinking water tap, all the amenities, robes, slippers, safe, tea, coffee, RF ID security encoded door keys.

For those saving money, there are also smaller and cheaper rooms. Breakfast included and included American food. About 40 minutes outside Hangzhou.

According to the words on the back of the front sign, this used to be an adjunct to the imperial palace where one of the sons stayed for about 25 years.

Unfortunately I had only 1 night stay here, but wish I had stayed here longer and was able to enjoy the hilly and lush area around the property.

Highly recommend this clean and beautiful property.

  • Liked — The Chinese architecture and theme. Far different than the chain hotels
  • Disliked — 40 minutes outside Hanzhou!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Howardru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shaoxing hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Shaoxing
Holiday Inn Shaoxing
#2 of 186 in Shaoxing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shaoxing Xianheng Grand Hotel
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Shaoxing
Crowne Plaza Shaoxing
#1 of 186 in Shaoxing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Business Club Hotel Shaoxing
0.9 mi away
Old Xianheng Hotel
Old Xianheng Hotel
#4 of 186 in Shaoxing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shaoxing International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaoxing Hotel (Huanshan Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaoxing Hotel (Huanshan Road)

Property: Shaoxing Hotel (Huanshan Road)
Address: No.8 Huanshan Road | Yuecheng District, Shaoxing 312000, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Shaoxing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 186 Hotels in Shaoxing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 268
Also Known As:
Fandian Hotel Shaoxing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing