We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Motel - Literally....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olympic Holiday Hotel
Ranked #33 of 358 Hotels in Wenzhou
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Before arriving in WenZhou I had looked for reviews on this hotel and the only one I found was on TripAdvisor. With the current economic problems I was like "okay, I will just go with it and see how this hotel really is"... I'm sure my company got a great price on it.... OMG, was this hotel terrible. My first morning staying there I was eating breakfast at the restaurant and there was a bug in my mashed potato-esque dish... We complained to the manager and they sent some free beers and a fruit plate to the room as compensation.. On the 3rd morning that I woke up at this hotel there was a 3" cockroach in my bathroom!!!! At that point I said eff this, I'm getting out of here! My collegue and I changed to the hotel across the street, the Ex Palm D'or Hotel... sooo much better.. A little more expensive, but worth the money..
DO NOT stay at the Olympic Hotel! Especially if you are a Westerner and used to the quality of hotels we have. The staff here was not even helpful when I told them about the cockroach... I went upstairs around noon that day to pack up my stuff and move to the other hotel and the bug was still there... ugh.. sick... I told them about it at 9am!
Do yourself a favor and stay at the other hotel I mentioned.. it is right across the street and a much better experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Olympic Holiday Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2008

Being a seaoned traveller in China, this was our first visit to Wenzhou and so we knew the standard of hotel could range from very poor to great. in this case the former was true. The rooms we had were refurbished but only took them to a level whereby a large hotel chain would have thought it was time to renovate them. New patio doors, both locks broken, paint over frame and glass, Patio terrace outside was terrible, paint drips everywhere and two of the biggest kitchen extractor chimneys every seen within 20 ft. of us! I love chinese food but this has put me off for life. We had to keep all windows and doors closed at all times. Bathroom was very nice and modern but it was a shame that things fell off the wall if you dared to touch them or use them. No cold water as the tap was positioned too close to the tiling not allowing for the lever to be pushed into the cold position. The room itself was of adequate size and a computer (new) was supplied and fitted. Shame it was in Chinese and like many western travellers we had our own laptops to keep in touch but these cannot be used because unlike most hotels no wireless was available.

The lounge / reception area was straight out of what I would think was sixties communist China and the bar area was terrible. The carpet in there was threadbare and would have still been unsightly when it was new in perhaps the sixties. A plastic hedge surround the bar together with a large plastic trough to sit it in. Staff here were the worst I have ever seen, even Chinese people were getting up and leaving because the service was none existant. For every drink (and I needed some!!) we had to go get the staff even though they were doing nothing.

Food. they advertise extensive western menu that turned out to be either Steak or one other dish. we ordered and it came in three separate deliveries, each finished their meal at a different time, the french fries came after we had all finished.

Things I liked most:
Breakfast was okay but finishes at 9.50am (not 10.00am!!) Strange time!
Headboard on the bed was the most amazing thing I have ever seen. It looked like an old mattress from the pre- renovated room had been bolted to the wall. It was probably five ft high and brown and white sploges. ten out of ten for this one!

Things I disliked most:
Old furniture littered outside the hotel all over the place
The bed was harder than a plank of wood, the floor was softer and I am serious.
The pictures of the hotel are nothing like the real thing!

We go to Wenzhou on business and I would think that this is the only reason a westerner would go there. We are not going back until July 2009, Why? Because that's when the Sheraton should be finished and doors open. Near to there is also a Howard Johnsons which looks to be finished around the same time. Business can wait!!

Not a really cheap hotel please be warned. We couldn't wait to leave. A long way behind Beijing / Shanghai and Hangzhou hotels. Have I been to worse? No I don't really think so.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bathroombits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank Guido T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCoraFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 18 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 2 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 29 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wenzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Ex Palm D'or Hotel
Ex Palm D'or Hotel
#4 of 358 in Wenzhou
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wenzhou International Hotel
Wenzhou International Hotel
#118 of 358 in Wenzhou
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Wenzhou Hotel
Sheraton Wenzhou Hotel
#3 of 358 in Wenzhou
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pullman Wenzhou
Pullman Wenzhou
#1 of 358 in Wenzhou
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dynasty Hotel Jin Jiang
Dynasty Hotel Jin Jiang
#5 of 358 in Wenzhou
292 reviews
2.6 mi away
Onehome H.S.Art Hotel Wenzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Holiday Hotel

Address: No.8 Minhang Road, Lucheng District, Wenzhou 325027, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Wenzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 358 Hotels in Wenzhou
Price Range: £47 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olympic Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Olympic Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing