We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best time ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Certificate of Excellence
Aruba
1 review
“The best time ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stay here and this place is the best everything that i wanted service all the way from the frontdesk bell man housekeeping love it will be back for sure safty for sure i see that they are building a new tower that i will be looking forward to be at even the club is right next door mall food amazing just love it

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclonePromotions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haroldwgm, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Kindest regards from the whole SONESTA HOTEL family.

We appreciate the time to make these comments and publicize the findings that occurred during your visit.

Our motivation is to receive comments encourage us to continue to deliver differentiated service to attract and retain the loyalty of our guests and in turn socialize our team.

We hope to have the opportunity for a future visit from now WE ARE WAITING FOR YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    106
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
53
60
13
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Here is a hotel that tries. This is by far the best business hotel at Barranquilla. Good spacious rooms with a distinct-just-washed air with albeit with mild soapy freshness greet you as you get to the floors and into your generously spaced rooms. The check-in process is a lil slow but sure. The team at the front desk do a reasonable job at sending you on the way. The bell-staff is incredibly polite and have a great memory for faces.

The services are good some a little slower but not slow enough to bother you. The laundry service is great but they tend to staple at too many places – that’s like the only bothersome part of my now 5th stay at the same place. The large rooms with two queens are really convenient should you wish like me to scatter or pile up. The single sofa in the room is very comfortably placed for reading and I really like the long table against the wall – lots of work space. The rain shower’s great – highly recommend thinking while under it.
The location is great, next to the largest mall Buena Vista which has great places to eat, movie theatres and the like. A convenient ATM machine is located at the lobby. Breakfast is very good and you can always stack-up fruits and stuff in your room. The Gym and pool on the top floor are very good, a little more maintenance would make them great. Taxi’s are easy to find, just head down and ask for one. The business center is convenient. The wifi is average to good, depending on the time of day.

The staff is very cordial and service oriented, the check-in, bell-hop, to the restaurant and house-keeping. They went out of their way to accommodate some of my mix-n-match food requests. While every staff here may not speak English, they really make a great effort to try and mostly do make your stay a good one. I just was at this hotel till the 8th of Nov'13 in room 909. I Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haroldwgm, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It is for Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla an ongoing commitment to focus on each of the comments from our guests in order to comply with our quality policy which aims to give much more satisfaction but also to create memorable experiences and desires soon return for unique service that makes maintaining the loyalty of our visitors.

We are pleased that you have felt at home in our hotel, it reassures us that we're delivering the best of us and motivates us to continue working with the heart.

Thank you once more with your presence at our hotel and our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel has big rooms, clean and new. Food offered in the restaurant is good. However location it is not the best, even it is kind of central. Walking at nights does not make sense because it is nothing near by walking distance.

People at hotel is friendly. Big windows at room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from construction area in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services.

Our hotel is located in prestigious location of the city that guarantees our guests total tranquility during their stay. Anyhow the reference mall in Barranquilla called Buenavista is only five minutes away from the Sonesta Hotel where you can find a several kinds of fine stores and restaurants. Also you can find pricesmart, homecenter, and we are close to the road to Cartagena.

We hope to have your pleasent visit again shortly.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Another business town hotel targeted at the business traveller. Modern, clean, effecient and well designed.
Rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. Staff need to be better trained. Took nearly an hour to checkin.
The overall facilities are good as is the hotel generally.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We want to offer our most sincere apologies and thanks to your observation we are now taking all the measures needed so this won`t happen again.

We appreciate the time that you have devoted to express your comments, and we`re certain that you will feel the difference in your future stays.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Though my business travel took me through rough-looking neighborhoods and poverty was self-evident, the hotel was clean, spacious, and felt secure. The lobby/reception area was open and gave the impression of grand space. The room was a bit different: ceramic tile floors instead of carpet, clean, white decor instead of the usual muted earth tones. The dining room was large and well appointed, the wait staff a bit over attentive. Breakfast was both English style and Continental. Nice pool for lap swimming-just a bit short.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services, its proof that we are working in pro of our guests.

Best regards,

Quality Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at the Sonesta Hotel in Barranquilla in February 2013... I am happy to say that we had a very nice stay. Everything was very good. The only thing I can think of that needs improvement is the service. It took forever to check in for some unknown reason. I already had reservations, so not sure what was the problem. It took awhile for us to get checked in the hotel. The staff was friendly and very quiet overall. The room walls are thin, so prepare to hear your neighbor next door. Overall, nice hotel..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hot-n-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for the comments of our hotel and we hope your stay was a pleasent one.

We want to offer you our most sincere apologies and we will follow your recommendation to guarantee an exceptional service.

We hope to have your pleasent visit again shortly.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We spent 3 days at this nice hotel in a nice area in Barranquilla. The rooms were your typical 3-4 star hotel room. The bathroom was spacious with a great shower! The hotel is connected to a mall with a few shops and a salon. The overall service/hotel staff was perfection. Overall, a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Good Morning,

In behalf of Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla receive a warm greeting.

We are thankful for your comments regarding our services and we hope to have your pleasent visit again.

Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#5 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#3 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.0 mi away
GHL Collection Hotel Barranquilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
#19 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
1.9 mi away
Hotel Barranquilla Plaza
Hotel Barranquilla Plaza
#16 of 58 in Barranquilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla

Property: Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
Address: Calle 106 # 50-11 | Villa Santos, Barranquilla 080001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Barranquilla is a modern hotel with tasteful accommodations. Facilities include a spa and gym while the rooftop pool and Turkish bath offers panoramic views of the Magdalena River. Rooms at the Sonesta Hotel are spacious, with French windows allowing plenty of natural light. All are equipped with an LCD and cable TV, free Wi-Fi and minibar. Guests at the Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla can enjoy sushi at the lobby bar, or dine at the hotel's restaurant. A daily breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, juices and pastries is available. The hotel offers a convenient location next to the Gran Boulevard; the city's largest shopping center. It is also situated only 9 miles from Ernesto Cortissoz International Airport. Free private parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing