We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will come back!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Nice hotel and warm staff service. This hotel offers large, clean and comfortable rooms. Swim pool and terrace areas are quite relaxing. Its location is just in the middle of the city, get either north or south city spots are very easy and take only a few minutes by car. Restaurant menu and room service was pretty fast .
Will come back during my next trip!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms in B Tower are pretty much larger than A Tower. Take care when doing your reservation to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo-Versalles, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We're pleased to receive your review, our staff is truly grateful for the comments you wrote in Tripadvisor, it's our main goal to provide the best service in town and help you to fully enjoy your stay in our property.

We hope you'll visit us again, let us remind you Howard Johnson Versalles is your best choice in Barranquilla and we'll do our best to give you the greatest experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    87
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
39
54
20
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here for one day and the room was very clean, Room service was awesome. The room was almost like a suite. It was so nice and luxerious. The only thing I did not like was checking in, We had to wait 2 hours after check in time for them to make the room ready. We were told 20 min but it ended up taking 2hrs. I am pretty much used to Colombian time so it was not angering just annoying as usual. Please be prepared to wait for everything when you come to Colombia. especially the Coastal region. the people are VERY laidf back and do not care about speedy service. I have often called Cartagen the "City Of The Future" BECAUSE EVERYTHING IS MANANA!! jajajajajajajaja... The another good saying among the Coastanians. "Why put off til tomorrow when you could do it the day after tomorrow" :-))

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo-Versalles, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we're very grateful for the time you'd spent sharing your experience to all of our guests, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had during your check in.

We look forward having you once again in our Hotel to give you the best time in Barranquilla,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

It was relatively clean (found chewing gum stuck to door frame in the bathroom) and the staff was helpful. The bed was comfortable. The A/C worked well and the shower has warm water. Only stayed one night but would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BYEPROVIDENCIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo-Versalles, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for the time you spent writing your comments, it's truly important for our Hotel know all the good and the bad during your stay in our property.
We work hard to make your experience unforgettable, and expect to have you soon once again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PC Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The hotel is located in a busy section of Barranquilla. If you are planning a business trip or visiting family or friends in the area this will be a good stay for you. If you are looking for something to do in the immediate area then you may wish to look elsewhere. The rooms was very spacious (single king) for two people with a safe, iron, and hair dryer provided. There was one night when we had to call the front desk because the water was not working and the tub never worked. The a/c turns off automatically when you leave the room but cools within a few minutes when you return. The halls and lobby can get warm. Very nice pool area and the restaurant food was very good. Complimentary breakfast was just as good and filling. A good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

this hotel is a nice hotel, I stayed here 2 times, first was on a tour had a great room (suite with 2 balancies), big bathroom. second time had a smaller room but it was good too. would stay here again, but I have relatives that live there so I can stay with them, I stayed in November the second time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo-Versalles, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of our Howard Johnson family I'd like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments, it's highly appreciated that you've enjoyed your stay in our property.

We hope to have the pleasure to service you once again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Very nice Hotel and wonderful helpful staff. Had a great room for $110 with a big King size suite. Seperate living room off of the bedroom with a big screen TV. Very Very clean and a big bathroom. The lobby and restaurant were very nice. Good food for the money in the Resturant with a very good staff. The staff at the desk were very very helpful as were the door man and the bellboys. NIce outdoor pool upstairs. The city is not much to look at. The street are bad and the place is pretty dirty certainly compared to Medellin which is great. I took a 1 hour ride around town just to see it. Was 20,000 Pesos ( About $12 US ). Everyone seems very nice. More of a industriail town and not a tourist town.

Room Tip: I had the King Suite and paid US $110 including tax a night. Very quiet. Great room ( 308 ) except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horses3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

If you are shopping for a decent hotel with a spa sauna and a swimming pool and a huge size room at a budget price this is the place for you. The breakfeast buffet is very good with local cuisine offerings and fresh tropical fruit unique to the area. Colombian coffee and an AREPA (corn griddle cakes) can really fill you up for an active day about town. The best time to travel to Barranquilla is in February when the local CARNIVAL is in full swing. I was really impressed by the spacious room size for the price. Normally such a room would cost twice as much almost anywhere else. But this is Colombia and you can extend your vacation stay by finding a good bargain and have money left over to do other things like go shopping or eating out at fancy restaurants it go SALSA DANCING! The staff was most courteous and helpful and even the taxi drivers were very nice to me, even returning me back to the hotel to pick up my suit that I inadvertently left in the room closet when the bell hop checked my room and radioed the taxi after I left. I was never in any danger of being robbed and they went out if their way to insure my security of my person and personal belongings. But that is not to say that something bad can't happen to you! As in any big city there are dangers but if you are reasonably cautious and have a guide that you pay to take care of you while about town, you will be just fine. Usually you can ask the front desk clerk for a recommended guide or just ask a taxi driver to show you about all the local attractions in town. Speaking Spanish is a must though but there are hand held translator computers available that can prove usefull if you do not speak Spanish. Don't forget to pack sunblock as the tropical sun will give you a nice tan or sunburn if you are unprotected. Have fun and enjoy your stay and try some of the seafood dinner plates at the hotel, fish with a nice glass of white wine and bread always goes well together. I especially recommended the ALMOHABANAS soft cheese bread puffs and the PAN DE BONO bread rings with your morning cup of Colombian coffee. Try new things and experiment a little, you simply don't know what you are missing until you try something new that you have never experienced before, and you may just love it! This is Shakira's hometown and you might just get a chance to see her in person while in Barranquilla, Colombia!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Premanandaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#4 of 58 in Barranquilla
496 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
#19 of 58 in Barranquilla
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Barranquilla
Wyndham Garden Barranquilla
#5 of 58 in Barranquilla
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#1 of 58 in Barranquilla
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#26 of 58 in Barranquilla
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#3 of 58 in Barranquilla
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
Address: Carrera 48 70 188, Barranquilla 083001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing