We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Conveniently located in the Alto Prado sector of Barranquilla and accross Carrefour Department store. Beauty salons, banks and other convenience stores are within a short walking distance of the hotel. They have excellent security for their guests and the staff is friendly and efficient. The free wi-fi service is a plus, as I kept connected to my office in Puerto Rico from my room. The rates are very reasonable for a new hotel facility and the premises are very well maintained.

I rented a car to move arround the city and it worked fine for me. This hotel has free parking space for their guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquiles6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Hotel is quite far from teh center of teh city but in a nice commercial area. Clean, well decorated, and offeres good services. Rooms are nice, conevenient, and have all amenities including compliementary wifi. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Only down side is that try cheat you lightly on the bill. by adding some imaginery cahrge. If you pay attention and insist they agree to waive it if you sign a certian form, then give up on the form all togther and waive teh charge. Otherwise a real decent accomodation option at an affordable rate. Romm service is also good, and may comein handy as the hotel restaurant only offers a full buffet dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very well situated. Service is very good and rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is great and well served. Room rates are very reasonable and the location of the hotel is very near of Carrefour store, Country club and shopping center and Las Americas business centers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mau151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a very clean and large modern hotel in Barranquilla. The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful the rooms comfortable.

The restaurant served great breakfasts but dinner was disappointing and over priced.

The room rate was very reasonable and worth checking out!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank techie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012
Google Translation

Buenas Tardes Apreciado Huésped,

Muchas gracias por compartir sus comentarios sobre su experiencia en hotel Estelar Windsor House. Sus comentarios nos ayudan a mantener nuestro nivel de servicio bajo los altos estándares de la cadena Estelar. Apreciamos sus críticas constructivas las cuales enviaremos a nuestro Departamento de Alimentos y Bebidas para ser evaluadas.

Lo invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente para prestarle un excelente servicio.

Cordialmente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We checked in with a senior front desk person whose attitude was terrible for a hotel that talks about providing great service. He wouldnt let the other couple in our party check in because they didnt have papers that no other good hotel requires and treated my wife, who has a different last name, as a girl friend checking in for a few hours.

We tore up our check-in forms and went to Smart Suites Royal, which treated us like customers!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JoaquinCartagena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Ok. So I try to be honest and informative as possible so others can learn from either mistakes or gain valuable knowledge to the truth behind a hotel.

This was my first stay at this hotel. My first trip to Barranquilla I stayed at Hotel Sonesta and only stayed 4 nights. This trip I opted for a hotel that offered an "apartment room" since I was staying for 8 nights.

First I would like to start with the reservations.
Easy and simple. I did however request a car service to the airport and I received an e-mail from the hotel two weeks prior to my arrival asking for my flight info which I gave and I received an e-mail reply stating the car would be there. Once I arrived, I waited 1 hour for the car service and it never arrived. I did however not mind waiting because my fiance was not there yet either and I would have needed to wait for her anyways. Point being, if you ask for a car service and the hotel confirms then there should be a car waiting on your arrival. I used a taxi once my fiance arrived. Standard fee for the taxi to the hotel is 25k pesos. That is standard and should NOT be more for those that are not accustomed to the correct amount.

Check-In: Others reported it slow. I would say it was not slow but they enter all your information and passport info. It's expected and the same occurs at Hotel Sonesta so this was not an issue. They do require an ID card of any person staying in the room. My fiance had her ID so not important but for those that are meeting friends etc. Tell them to bring their ID. Same again at Hotel Sonesta.

Lobby: LARGE AND Brightly lit. Small bar seating area that was off to the side.

Elevators: I actually liked this idea. They have two sets. One set is for rooms 1-14. The other set is off to the side and take you to the 15-21 floor. I stayed on level 16. Each set had two elevators working at all times and always fast.

Room: I was thoroughly impressed and very happy that I chose an apartment style. The apartment room on the reservation page stated double bed but mine had a queen. I was worried because Im not a big guy and neither is my fiance but we like space. The kitchen was fantastic with a full size refrigerator with separate freezer. The hotel puts some drinks in the fridge for a cost. Gas stove with 4 burners. microwave. Large sink. Had an island style counter with two chairs. Had a kitchen table with three chairs. Had a leather couch and two small leather chairs. Paintings on the walls in the living room. 1 complaint, NO TV in living room. I don't want to sit in the bedroom on my bed when I'm at the hotel to watch TV. I would have enjoyed sitting on the couch. Easy fix but don't think it will happen. AC worked great in the living room. Each room has its own AC unit with remote. So you can make each room as cold as you like.

Bedroom: Comfortable queen bed. Sheets were nice. Large dresser and work area. Large TV and I used the HDMI to connect to my laptop to watch movies. AC Worked fine. Bathroom large, shower large. Not a fan of the toilets but Hotel Sonesta was the same way. You have to push down to flush it and its annoying.

Room Access Card: This actually pissed me off. I had to get the front desk to put access to my room back on my card 4 times during my stay. Every 2nd evening or afternoon I had to go down to the front desk. ANNOYING. That should not happen. Once I can forgive but 4 times? NEVER

Breakfast: Free. Warm foods were cold. I enjoy my eggs hot. My fiance didn't mind so perhaps its a colombia thing. I'm American and I enjoy hot food hot. lol They offered scrambled eggs, arepas, other spanish items. Fruits, Cereals, Juices, breads. For a free breakfast it was alright. Those that commented saying it was bland is correct. I went to the store and bought my own black pepper to sprinkle on my eggs. I expect better food from a 5 star hotel even if the food is free.

Pool: Didn't use but it was clean and reasonably warm. They also have a hot tub next to the pool.

Overall, Hotel was nice as compared to the other 5 star hotels. The food was the same as Hotel Sonesta. Check in was the same. Atmosphere was the same. Price was better than Sonesta and I had more space. I would stay at this hotel again but in the future I will just stay at the parents of my fiance and save money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Hotel and rooms are nicely decorated with nice views. Card key access is required for elevators. The included breakfast was excellent with made to order omelets and numerous selection of hot and clod dishes, fresh fruit and coffee or hot chocolate. The hotel is located in a safe area very close to a supermarket which sells everything from electronics to groceries. There is a small gym and a great pool which you can put your lounger in ankle deep. Nice business center with many computer terminals. Cool lounge bar with live music and tasty tapas. The staff is friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiagoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#2 of 58 in Barranquilla
438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
#19 of 58 in Barranquilla
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Barranquilla
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#4 of 58 in Barranquilla
515 reviews
2.4 mi away
GHL Collection Hotel Barranquilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel

Address: Calle 76 No 56-29, Barranquilla, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range: £58 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing