We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top class hotel, probably the best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A top class hotel, probably the best in town”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I stayed here briefly on a trip to the coast and have nothing but good words for this hotel. In my experience it is everything you expect of an international luxury hotel chain; I use the word chain merely to differentiate it from a boutique hotel.

The hotel is large and spacious, as are the rooms. The views of the city are not that inspiring (interesting to some degree), but if you want the seaside go to Santa Marta.

I was looked after well every minute of my stay from stepping out of a car to leaving in another. The staff were friendly, but business like. The red tape of booking in and papers was swift and courteous. I was shown to my room pleasantly and without the sometimes lingering threat of a forced tip.

The rooms were well equipped with cleaning products and a well stacked snack/drink area. The beds were large and luxurious and the a/c, if needed, was quiet.

I found service in the poolside/bar area a bit slow but satisfactory, most care seemed to be given in the restaurant where people where there when needed, but also let you linger over a course with no rush to move on. The food was good, especially the ceviche and they mixed a very good Pisco Sour!

Breakfast was more Colombian than international, but frankly I view that as a welcome, refreshing change.

The only negative is that the hotel gives you the normal experience of a luxury hotel with only slight touches of Colombia, I would have liked more of a national feel. Once you retreated within the walls you could have been anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBOD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    98
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
45
13
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Conveniently located in the Alto Prado sector of Barranquilla and accross Carrefour Department store. Beauty salons, banks and other convenience stores are within a short walking distance of the hotel. They have excellent security for their guests and the staff is friendly and efficient. The free wi-fi service is a plus, as I kept connected to my office in Puerto Rico from my room. The rates are very reasonable for a new hotel facility and the premises are very well maintained.

I rented a car to move arround the city and it worked fine for me. This hotel has free parking space for their guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquiles6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Hotel is quite far from teh center of teh city but in a nice commercial area. Clean, well decorated, and offeres good services. Rooms are nice, conevenient, and have all amenities including compliementary wifi. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Only down side is that try cheat you lightly on the bill. by adding some imaginery cahrge. If you pay attention and insist they agree to waive it if you sign a certian form, then give up on the form all togther and waive teh charge. Otherwise a real decent accomodation option at an affordable rate. Romm service is also good, and may comein handy as the hotel restaurant only offers a full buffet dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very well situated. Service is very good and rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is great and well served. Room rates are very reasonable and the location of the hotel is very near of Carrefour store, Country club and shopping center and Las Americas business centers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mau151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a very clean and large modern hotel in Barranquilla. The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful the rooms comfortable.

The restaurant served great breakfasts but dinner was disappointing and over priced.

The room rate was very reasonable and worth checking out!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Google Translation
Buenas Tardes Apreciado Huésped,

Muchas gracias por compartir sus comentarios sobre su experiencia en hotel Estelar Windsor House. Sus comentarios nos ayudan a mantener nuestro nivel de servicio bajo los altos estándares de la cadena Estelar. Apreciamos sus críticas constructivas las cuales enviaremos a nuestro Departamento de Alimentos y Bebidas para ser evaluadas.

Lo invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente para prestarle un excelente servicio.

Cordialmente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We checked in with a senior front desk person whose attitude was terrible for a hotel that talks about providing great service. He wouldnt let the other couple in our party check in because they didnt have papers that no other good hotel requires and treated my wife, who has a different last name, as a girl friend checking in for a few hours.

We tore up our check-in forms and went to Smart Suites Royal, which treated us like customers!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaquinCartagena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dania Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Ok. So I try to be honest and informative as possible so others can learn from either mistakes or gain valuable knowledge to the truth behind a hotel.

This was my first stay at this hotel. My first trip to Barranquilla I stayed at Hotel Sonesta and only stayed 4 nights. This trip I opted for a hotel that offered an "apartment room" since I was staying for 8 nights.

First I would like to start with the reservations.
Easy and simple. I did however request a car service to the airport and I received an e-mail from the hotel two weeks prior to my arrival asking for my flight info which I gave and I received an e-mail reply stating the car would be there. Once I arrived, I waited 1 hour for the car service and it never arrived. I did however not mind waiting because my fiance was not there yet either and I would have needed to wait for her anyways. Point being, if you ask for a car service and the hotel confirms then there should be a car waiting on your arrival. I used a taxi once my fiance arrived. Standard fee for the taxi to the hotel is 25k pesos. That is standard and should NOT be more for those that are not accustomed to the correct amount.

Check-In: Others reported it slow. I would say it was not slow but they enter all your information and passport info. It's expected and the same occurs at Hotel Sonesta so this was not an issue. They do require an ID card of any person staying in the room. My fiance had her ID so not important but for those that are meeting friends etc. Tell them to bring their ID. Same again at Hotel Sonesta.

Lobby: LARGE AND Brightly lit. Small bar seating area that was off to the side.

Elevators: I actually liked this idea. They have two sets. One set is for rooms 1-14. The other set is off to the side and take you to the 15-21 floor. I stayed on level 16. Each set had two elevators working at all times and always fast.

Room: I was thoroughly impressed and very happy that I chose an apartment style. The apartment room on the reservation page stated double bed but mine had a queen. I was worried because Im not a big guy and neither is my fiance but we like space. The kitchen was fantastic with a full size refrigerator with separate freezer. The hotel puts some drinks in the fridge for a cost. Gas stove with 4 burners. microwave. Large sink. Had an island style counter with two chairs. Had a kitchen table with three chairs. Had a leather couch and two small leather chairs. Paintings on the walls in the living room. 1 complaint, NO TV in living room. I don't want to sit in the bedroom on my bed when I'm at the hotel to watch TV. I would have enjoyed sitting on the couch. Easy fix but don't think it will happen. AC worked great in the living room. Each room has its own AC unit with remote. So you can make each room as cold as you like.

Bedroom: Comfortable queen bed. Sheets were nice. Large dresser and work area. Large TV and I used the HDMI to connect to my laptop to watch movies. AC Worked fine. Bathroom large, shower large. Not a fan of the toilets but Hotel Sonesta was the same way. You have to push down to flush it and its annoying.

Room Access Card: This actually pissed me off. I had to get the front desk to put access to my room back on my card 4 times during my stay. Every 2nd evening or afternoon I had to go down to the front desk. ANNOYING. That should not happen. Once I can forgive but 4 times? NEVER

Breakfast: Free. Warm foods were cold. I enjoy my eggs hot. My fiance didn't mind so perhaps its a colombia thing. I'm American and I enjoy hot food hot. lol They offered scrambled eggs, arepas, other spanish items. Fruits, Cereals, Juices, breads. For a free breakfast it was alright. Those that commented saying it was bland is correct. I went to the store and bought my own black pepper to sprinkle on my eggs. I expect better food from a 5 star hotel even if the food is free.

Pool: Didn't use but it was clean and reasonably warm. They also have a hot tub next to the pool.

Overall, Hotel was nice as compared to the other 5 star hotels. The food was the same as Hotel Sonesta. Check in was the same. Atmosphere was the same. Price was better than Sonesta and I had more space. I would stay at this hotel again but in the future I will just stay at the parents of my fiance and save money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BenLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#1 of 58 in Barranquilla
424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
#19 of 58 in Barranquilla
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
GHL Collection Hotel Barranquilla
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Barranquilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel

Property: Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel
Address: Calle 76 No 56-29, Barranquilla, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing