We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Dann Carlton is one of the best hotels I have visited for business. Staff is always willing to help. We had a meeting in one of the conference rooms of the hotel and it worked well.
The rooms are big with tall ceilings. Couple of times I could sense cigarette smell in the hall of my floor...
It is in front of the biggest mall in Barranquilla. If you are a runner, it is a block away from where a lot of people run early in the morning. I was out at 5:00 am and there were at least 100 people working out. The rotating restaurant is yummy but the mechanism is not working smoothly and it sounds...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dann C, Publicista at Dann Carlton Barranquilla, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Diana

Estamos muy agradecidos por su retroalimentación y gratos comentarios acerca de nuestro hotel y servicio. Es nuestro objetivo satisfacer sus estándares y nos llena de satisfacción el haberlo logrado. Sus comentarios con referente al personal serán transmitidos a los mismos para su reconocimiento. Nuestras habitaciones están diseñadas para su tranquilidad y comodidad y por ley esta prohibido el uso de cigarrillos, si esto vuelve a ocurrir, por favor comuníquele inmediatamente a la recepción o personal del hotel para atender esta situación. Nuestra ubicación estratégica permite la realización de varias actividades cercanas como son la caminata deportiva en el parque y visita al centro comercial Buenavista, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de esta experiencia. Con respecto al Restaurante El Giratorio tomaremos atenta nota de su comentario y haremos los ajustes necesarios.
Deseamos a usted una feliz semana y esperamos que en una próxima oportunidad nos continué eligiendo como su opción #1 de alojamiento.

Cordialmente,
Hotel Dann Carlton Barranquilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    73
    29
    23
    14
See reviews for
51
36
15
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gulfcoast florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

What I really enjoyed about the Dann Carlton was that I KNEW I was in Colombia. The hotel rooms were giant, the public space was generous and lovely. I think I've never seen a more beautiful pool (larger, yes, but not more gorgeous.) My few negatives. We arrived there very late and tired because of airline glitches, and the room was burning up. Air wasn't turned on prior to our arrival. Also, our bed was hard and uncomfortable. Perhaps some rooms have U.S. style mattresses but not ours. Their breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stjoesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

First off, Baranquilla is a lovely tropical city in Colmbia with lovely scenes, museums and a host of cultural spaces to see. Friendly locals and welcoming smiles. This is the home town of Shakira and its a very pulsating place all the time. Everyone walks with purpose and makes it a point to make eye contact and smile.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkij N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Velha, ES
Level Contributor
411 reviews
306 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Since about 4 years I use this hotel when in Barranquilla. In many ways it is the perfect hotel for the business and holiday traveller: Huge rooms, good working a/c, comfy beds, very good breakfast buffett and a nice outdoor pool. The location of the hotel is very good - just across the street is a big shopping mall with supermarket and lots of restaurant and the industrial area on "Via 40" is a 8 min taxi drive away . The pool is in the shadow of the hotel building in the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

This is a 5 star hotel, so there is not too much to say about it. I stayed there for the Carnavales, when every hotel charges 200 or 300% extra. The room was perfect, quiet, beautiful, and the breakfast is ok. Location: ok, facing the Buenavista Mall, where you can find everything.
Nice hotel, but you just have to pay A LOT for it, even in non-Carnavales season (the whole year, except 5 days in February). If your company decided to send you there -as was my case- enjoy it. But you can find better options at 50% the Dann's price, for example the Sonesta or the Estelar Alto Prado.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jamayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have been to the Hotel Dann Carlton in Barranquilla numerous times and always feel at home. Its a safe, smart, and great choice in Barranquilla.

From the second you arrive the bell boys (botones) are very friendly and attentive. They are always willing to go out of their way to arrange a trip to local destinations or just give you advice on where to find something in Barranquilla. The girls in reception are very nice and helpful at getting you acquainted with the hotel and its amenities.

On one trip one of my fellow travelers hurt themselves at a local bar and the staff was immediately offering to help with a doctor, medicine, extra pillows and ice. We ended up needing the help and it was a relief to have people there willing to help, even if it was not there job.

There are plenty of associates that speak great English and can help those whose Spanish is lacking. The reception can also arrange for a translator to travel with you if needed.

The Dann is across the street from the very popular Buenavista shopping mall, which has a movie theater, dining options, supermarket, and tons of stores. It is located in the good side of town that is safe to walk around at all times, and is minutes away from the closest beaches.

I just saw some new pictures online of the hotel and it looks like they have remodeled their guestrooms, lobby, business center, and gym. It has a modern and clean look, while still showing off the bright tropical colors that are synonymous with Colombia.

Finally, I really enjoy a good meal and a few drinks at the top of the hotel in the revolving restaurant(El Giratorio). Nothing like watching the sunset over the Caribbean high above the city.

Room Tip: There are several room options from basic king bedrooms to suites. Ask to see one or two different o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceantravelFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, Brazil
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Nice option but nothing special. Brekfast poor in fruits and low calorie options. Pricey for what it offers. Nice swimming pool, sauna ok and a usable gym. Internet service was usable and free.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenatoFuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#1 of 58 in Barranquilla
406 reviews
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#4 of 58 in Barranquilla
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
GHL Collection Hotel Barranquilla
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
1.7 mi away
Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel
Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel
#8 of 58 in Barranquilla
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dann Carlton Barranquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dann Carlton Barranquilla

Property: Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Address: Carrera 52b - 10, Barranquilla 080005, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barranquilla
#6 Business Hotel in Barranquilla
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barranquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dann Carlton Barranquilla 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dann Carlton Barranquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dann Carlton Barranquilla Hotel Barranquilla
Hotel Dann Barranquilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing